Search billions of records on Ancestry.com

CEMETERIES

of

Gallatin County, Illinois

&

A History of the County

 

Volume 2

 

INTENDED FOR PERSONAL GENEALOGY AID

NOT FOR COMMERCIAL USE

Thanks to the Miner family for making them available on line.

by

Glen Miner

 

First Printed 1979

Second Printing with

some corrections

 and additions 1984

 

 

UNOFFICIAL CONTENTS

(Not in printed book)

 

Part 1

Introduction and Explanation               page   0

Cemetery Inscriptions                      pages  1 – 36

Markers found since publication of

 Vol. 2 in 1979, not in index              page   36B

SURNAME Index of pages 1 – 36 of this book pages 110 - 113

 

Part 2

Gallatin Co. Court Proceedings, Shawneetown

 Illinois Territory General Order Book

 1813 – 1818                               pages 37 – 39

A little history from Glen                 pages 40 – 46

Actions taken by Governing body of Gallatin

 from 1813 – 1820                          pages 47 – 61

 

Part 3

Records from Gallatin Co. Commissioners

 Record Book of 1850’s                     pages 62 – 70

Village of Equality Minute Book 1831–1853  pages 71 – 76

Towns, Postoffices and other places with

 names in Gallatin Co.                     pages 77 – 78

Businesses, Ads, and Newspapers of

 early Gallatin Co.                        pages 79 – 109

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PART 2 OF 3 PARTS

 

37

 

      SOME PROCEEDINGS OF THE GALLATIN COUNTY COURT, HELD AT SHAWNEETOWN IN ILLINOIS TERRITORY AS RECORDED IN THE GENERAL ORDER BOOK OF 1813 to 1818.

 

      About all of Southern Illinois East of present Jackson and Perry counties including Hardin and South Part of Jefferson Counties (all or parts of 9 present counties) was taken from Randolph County in Sept. of 1812, and called Gallatin County with the seat of government at Shawneetown.

 

      It kept these borders until 1815 when White County was formed and included the territory North of Gallatin and West to Perry. Other counties were soon taken from these two but Hardin was a part of Gallatin until 1839 and Saline until 1847.

 

      There were a great many disputes and suits brought to court in this large and rapidly growing area. Records of these are contained in an old 560 page book which is yellowed, dim and becoming illegible in many places. I made several trips to Shawneetown, beginning in 1971, in copying these names with details in only a few cases. Most were in the county at the time and many were active in business, etc. Judges, qualifying and presiding at the court of common pleas in 1813 were; The Honorable John C. Slocumb, Leonard White and Gabriel Greathouse. They met first at house of Great­house in Shawneetown but held court at house of Thomas Dorris also at Shawneetown. Those producing licenses, signed by 2 Judges of the general court, authorizing them to practice law there were; Joseph Conway, Jephtha Hardin, Russell E. Heacock, Thomas C. Brown and William Grundy. Members of July jury were; foreman, Benjamin R. Smith, members; Moses Garrett, William Maxwell, Francis Jourdan, Thompson Harris, Elias Jourdan, Strangeman Maudglin, Abram Womack, Ezekiel McCoy, Jeter Baker, William Jourdan, John Craw, Hankerson Rude, John Murphy, William Small and Cornelius Lafferty. This completes the grand jury on page one, dated July 1813. Later Richard Henderson, Thomas Towles and Samuel Posey qualified as attorneys on July 26‑1813 with 1 Judges signature with the right to practice law in this court.

 

      Those following may be plaintiffs, defendants, witnesses or others whose names are mentioned as appearing in court, such as bondsmen. Stephen Ludlow & Isaac Dunn of Ludlow & Co., Benjamin Chambers, John Craw, John W. Buckner, Cornelius Lafferty, Peter Wilkerson, Joel Watson, John Goodwin, Willis Hargrave, Samuel Earle, James Weir, Alexander Wilson, John Ormsby, Nathaniel Anderson, Edward A. Keeling, Thomas E. Craig, Samuel Simp­son, Christopher Robertson, Nathan Clampert, James McFarlane, Dickerson and Moses Garrett, Thomas Morrow, Andrew Arnett, John and Rufus Inman, John Pearson, Hazle Moreland, George Lamb, The? Laine, Fulton & Nancy Price, William Moore, John Fraizer, Josiah Jackson, Peter Hammond, John Blue, Isaac Morgan, Thomas Dawson, John Grimes, John Woods, Conrad Will, William Morse, John Donahue, Joab Watson, Bazel Dodge, John Lucas, John Barker, Jeremiah Dawson, George Heads, Samuel Aldridge, Harrod Wilson, Peter D. or Seaton, William Cayton, John Carter, William & Page Cheek, Henry Marsh, Sina Smith, John Campbell, John Davis, William Small, James Kelly, Benjamin Talbott, Stephen Stanley by next friend Dempsey Stanley, Samuel Brotton, Joseph M. Street ck of court, Joseph Owen, William Chenoweth, William R. Ashby, Benjamin White, William Cheek, Amos Edwards, John Collins, Bela Downing, William Speed, some names are mentioned more than once.

 

Grand jury for next court on 3‑22‑1814 as follows.

Michael Sprinkle foreman, James or Joseph Houston, James Willis, Hazle More­land, William Ellis, Samuel White, Thomas Mays, Archibald Roberts, William Willis, James Dillard, Samuel Craig, William Akers, Boston Daimwood, Isaac Morgan and Samuel Clark. Those who follow are named in 1814 court cases, plaintiffs etc. Boston Daimwood assignee of John D., William Forrester, John Hutchcraft, Aaron Webb, John McLaughlin, Richard Jones, Alexander Wilson, William Gile, Hugh Johnson by Thomas A?very his next friend, H'y Sparkman, H’y Oldham.

begin Wednesday March 28‑1814

Elias K. Kane now qualified to practice law.

 

 

 

 

 

38

 

NAMES APPEARING IN COURT RECORDS OF GALLATIN COUNTY GEN. ORDER BOOK 1814.

3‑28‑1814 continued page 41

 

Wilson Dameron, Jane Miller, U.S.A., William McGehee, next jury as follows

William ?Sitton, John Frazer, William Rowark, Lemuel Ant??, William Do??, Isaac Dorris, Jeremiah Vincent, William Caton, Peter ?Seaton, Holmes Sharp, Moses Rawlings

and John D. Daimwood. Next are names of complainants etc. Henry Marsh, Cornelius Taylor, Sinah Smith, James Birney, Timothy Guard & John Carter, Adam Crouch, William McCoy & Page Cheek then a new jury follows.

      Isaac Dorris, William Small, John Leech, Moses Rawlings, John Gillison, Peter Kuykendal, Frederick Buck, William Rowark and Thomas Hatfield plus duplicate names. Then come more plaintiffs, defendants etc. John Ormsby, Dennis Clay, John Davis, Francis Leach & John Marshall executors of Isaac White est., Page Cheek, Wilkins Tannehill, Thomes Dawaon, William Ingram, George Robertson, John Forrester and Henry Jones. On page 63 another jury as follows; Thomas Randolph foreman, Isham Clay, Balaam May, Daniel Vineyard, George Vineyard, James Hull, Elias Jordan, Jeremiah Odle, William Jackson, David Stanley, John Morris, George Raglin, Aaron Williams, Peter Kuykendall, John Gillerson, Humphries Leech and Robert Testerson. Then Guy W. Smith as adm. July 14‑1814 Term of court.

      Then come more court cases with plaintiffs and defendants etc. one of whom surrenders his body for prison. Archibald Roberts, Lemuel Cornick, William Thomason, William Brockett, William Cockill, William Kelly, James McClelland. Next a jury of William Cayton, Boston Daimwood, Henry Kenyon, Adam Crouch, Peter Wilkerson, George Clift, William & Thomas Akers, William Hardin and Irvin Wilson and Stephen Hogg. Following are others, plaintiffs, etc. John & Jeremiah Edmunds, John E. Louden, Michael Jones and others, Harrison & Elender Wilson adm., Joseph M. Street, Benoney Lee, M? McFarland & Rice Downey, George Knott & Polly Lisenbee, Brice Hanna for assault against body of William Clayton, James Young & Polly Young, Charles Meeks & Susannah Simmons, John Pierson & Hazle Moreland. U.S. in many suits for illegal timber cutting etc.

      Joshua Sexton, Isaac Sibley, William Huston, James McLaughlin, William Wood.

A new jury and new names follow Page 85

Charles Thompson, William Willis, Abraham McCool, Elias Hubbard, John Cook, Davis Talley, Enoch Wood, Herrad Wilson, Jonathan Hampton, William Nash, Enoch Bram?‑, Samuel Green or Greer, John G. Wilson and Thomas Cox, Moses Lamb Page 92, Peter & Noah Kuykendall, John Crafford, Westley G. Martin, John Campbell, Samuel Clark and Robert R. Gaston, completes jury.

Other, John Reed, William Thornberry, Ambrose Whitlock, Philip Henson, Tim Guard, William Dobbins, Marvel & Achilles McFarland and James Zachariah Canty, Samuel Timberly, Joseph Huston, William C. Lane, Samuel Hill, John Lucas, William Ashby, William Vaughn, Robert Watson, David Lash, Achilles Roberts, William A. Hardy, John C. Wood, Samuel Omelvany, John G. Wilson, Bazle Lee, Lemuel Clark, Stephen Boutwell guardian of Alexander K., father of A. K., Begin page 115 Nov. 21, 1814 Ralph Berkshire, Francis Leech, George W. Frazer, Thomas Cox, James Ford vs Thomas & Robert Cox, John E. Louden vs Michael J- and 4 others trespass, Josiah Westbrook vs John Forrester trespass & assault & battery, George Isham, Benjamin Cummins, John Crawford, Benjamin Walden, Gabriel Greathouse, Adam Rankin, James Cain, Rawleigh Colston, Joseph Owen & James Morrison, Graham Clements and George Williams. Page 129 Jonathan Taylor, Charles Wilkins, James Morrison and Anthony Butler are referred to as surviving partners of Isaac White deceased. (case referred to arbitration by Robert Alexander, Daniel Wessiger and John Hannah.) James Dorrity vs George Peirce. Absolem Wilson, Sinai Kelly; Westley G. Martin, Zacheriah Wood, John Campbell, Absolem Heir, Willis Hargraves, Benjamin Rodgers, Philip Buckner and John Golson. The last 8 were jurymen. Most cases were for either trespass or debt. Page 131; Jason & Mary Cloud vs William Kelly, Page 134; James Weir, Jesse B. Thomas, William Russell & others of Vincennes, Indiana Territory, David Sash, Zachariah Candy, Allen & William Vaughn, John Gilbert, John Murphy, John Walls, William Woods, Nathaniel Dickerson, John Grimsby, Page 144; jury of George Cleft, William McCoy, Charles Cawthorn, Arnold Atkins and others previously named. William Thomason, William Brockett, Benjamin Brockett, Jonathan Ramsey, Lewis Parris, Taylor Maulding, John Shearer, David Mitchell, Samuel Curnick and Francis Farley. Ends 1814.

 

 

39

 

GALLATIN COUNTY COURT ORDER BOOK, CONTINUED. COURT HELD AT HOUSE OF

Joseph M. Street, beginning on Mar. 3, 1815, Present and presiding The Hon.

Stanley Griswold.

 

Page 151 Jury of Michael Sprinkle foreman, James Cain, Charles Thompson, Vincent

Moreland, John G. Damewood, H. Leech, Samuel & William Clark, William McCoy, Thomas

Brinkley, Thomas M. Dorris, Abram McCool, Houston Fletcher, Benjamin Jolly, James Dillard, Stephen Fields and Benjamin Moseby.

      Other from pages 152 to 163 with an effort at prevention of duplications. William Edwards Sr, Daniel Bridgeman, Mathew West, George W. Ward, Joseph Owen, Daniel McKinney, Soloman Blue of Union County Ky. witness, John Palmer, Joshua L?acey, Price Hannah, Samuel S. White, Elihu Howard, Thomas Ferguson, Gersham Clemens, John Swan, Thompson F??nklin, James Ford, Thomas Cox, Wyatt Atkins, George Codd, Samuel Bratton, Thomas Hardy, Elisha Hall, William Wheeler, John Black, Joseph McCool. Page 164 to 173 William Gill, Elijah Griffiths, July 15‑1815 William R. Asher, Jarrett Trammel, Mary Gatlin, Lewis Paris, White Guard vs Joab Davis, John Frazer, Haley Raglin, Rachel McGehee, Joseph Houston, John Perry, Samuel Davidson, John O??aley, Ennis Frazer some of jury. Alfred Woods, James Fields, John Dykes, James Brook. Page 173, July 16, 1815 other; Thomas C. Browne, David Collins, Isaiah Potts, Thomas E. Craig. Skip to page 234 Ezekiel Hide, Stephen Farmer, Archey B. Hart, William Sutton, Edward Rumsey, James Trousdale, John Hay, John Flint. Page 242 New names in jury. John Reid, Claiborne Wright, James Ratcliff, Isham Harrison. Page 244 John Bate, Joseph Ficklin, Isaac Going. Page 247 Jacob Self, Wiley Roberts, Samuel Settle. Page 256 John & Abraham Stovall. Begln new Jury Houston Fletcher, Thomas Johnson, Joseph McCool, William Daniel, George R. Logan, John Blakely, Daniel Dillard, John Sharpe, Lewis Boatright, Perry Brook, William Sutton and Zephaniah Johnson and Hubbard Quarles, William Dobson Page 262 Page Cheek vs James Birdwhistle, Joseph M. Street vs Boston Daimwood. Page 268 Next court on July 5, 1816. Page 173 to 234 skipped. David Barnett vs Daniel Bridgeman, Hon. Thomas Towles presiding. William Grundy, Stephen Easley, James Hull, Jonas H. Suttles, John Waggoner and David Sibley, Page 285 on. William C. Vaught, James Crosswhite, Philip Barbour, Willis Hargrave vs Elizabeth Craw & Abraham Crenshaw adm. of William Craw dec. Rowland Allen, Davis Embree, James S. Pitts,

      The next jury in part.

William & Jamess Hale, Henry Row, James Byrd, John Williams, John Rohrer, James Melton, Abraham Granger, Merrill Willis, Brice Hanna, William Sutton. end jury.

Nov., 1816 others mentioned Page 290 William Kincheloe vs John Carter, Miller Hubbard allowed $5. for furnishing water for this court.

      3rd circuit court held at house of Thomas M. Dorris Nov. 4, 1816; New members of jury, James M. Pettigrew foreman, David Barnett, John Gillison, Neal Thompson, Moses Blazer, John Duvall, Isaac Riley, Josiah Carter, Ezakiel Frazer, Elisha Hall, Thomes Akers and Notley Duvall, William F?rench and Jamess Bur?uchell among 4 let off for excuses, Emanuel Ensminger, William McMahan, Meredith W. Fisher, John Murphy, Abraham Crenshaw & Samuel Taylor. Next are Witnesses, Plaintiffs etc. Most are new names. Page 296

      Andrew Slack, William McCary, Frederick Shipley, William Atkinson, James Ratliff, Robert D. Cates, David Sash, Stephen Sudlow and John W. Buckner, William McNabb, Jacob Phillips, Thomas Bryant, Weir & VanLandingham, Silas McBee, Abraham Evans. Page 270‑85  Enoch Wilcox, Arthur Vinson dec’d, Squire Young, John Dick, David S. Slocumb dec'd Stephen Beck adm.

      New names on jury panel during bal. of 1816. Pages 324 to 365 Jehu Baker, Thomas Barlow, Moses Hutson, William Wheeler Jr., Dudley & Jess Williams, Bazel Dodge, Drury Farley, Andrew Barnes, Jeremiah Vincent, Robert M. Tarlton, William Whitin?, Robert Wilson, Isaac Hogan and Christopher H. Sharp. End jury. Other; James Barnett, William Mitchell, Jonathan Ramsey assignee of Jacob McD­onald, Samuel Bourland, Thomas & William C. Anderson, Griffin Yeatman, Thomas Terry asign of Robert Nugent vs William & John Dalton, Ebenezer Ingram, William Powell, Alexander Brousler?, William C. Vaught & Philip Barbour mchts of Sh-. also William C. Vaught & William R. Ashby mchts. of Sh. trading as Ashby‑Vaught & Co.

Ends 1816.

 

 

 

 

40

 

THE ANIMAL PATHS AND INDIAN TRAILS,THAT LED TO THE SALT SPRING AND LICKS IN THE 1700's WERE OFTEN THE MAIN ROADS IN THE 1800's. RIVER BOTTOMS ONCE HOME OF MANY FAMILIES AND NOW OF FEW IF ANY.

 

The first traveled routes in Gallatin County were the paths or trails made by the wild hoofed animals, as they regularly sought the salt on the Saline River, near present day Equality. These started, perhaps 100 mi. away and often became sunken or deep cut as they croseed hills. Going different directions from the salt springs, it was only natural that the Indians and later the Whites, use them as they sought their own aupply of salt. They usually were on the most direct and best drained route to the best stream crossings or fords. Some may have been in use for cent­uries. I remember when thousands of acres or most (now the largest part in cultivation) of the Wabash and Ohio River Bottom Land was in timber. There were many cleared fields then of from a few to a few hundred acres. These fields usually took the names of the family which lived on or cleared them. Early names were Mason Slough, Millspaugh, Wilkes, Doherty, Scudamore and Logsdon fields. There were several others in the area. The houses on these farms were usually of frame construction, covered with clapboards or boxing, they were usually on posts or stilts and a few feet off the ground. Many of the houses had a second story and an earthen mound for the barn, because the backwater came once or' twice most years.

 

I was a small boy in 1912 to 1914, when my father Leo, and his partner and brother Andrew Miner began taking cattle to the summer woods pasture of J.H. Henn. It was located about 7 mi. East of our home or near Hulda Lake. The cattle were branded with letter M, then moved, collected and returned at the end of the season by riders on horseback. They paid 50¢ or perhaps 75¢ per mo. per head. Soon afterward they bought 40 acres about 1 mi. North of the bridge over the slough, draining Hulda lake. This lake was formerly called Honeymore Pond, for the Hanmore family who lived near lts head. The crossing was Sandy Ford and it kept this name for years after the bridge was built in 1910 or soon thereafter. Another uncle Geo. Glass moved into the house on the 40 acres and took care of the stock in addition to farming. The frame house was about 4 or 5 rt. above the ground, had 2 lower rooms with a dog trot between, and 1 room on 2nd floor. They leased a barb wire enclosed, wooded pasture of over 100 acres which joined on the East. The wooded 7 acres of the 40 was a hog pasture. Hogs were identically marked with a hole in one ear and a split in the other. After the harvest all livestock except milk cows and needed teams were turned loose to fatten on the nuts in woods and the corn left in the fields. Every thing worked fine until the floods came usually in rough winter weather, then the animals had to be found, sorted and moved back home. Besides the disagreeable work, the profits were often missing when one or two head of stock were lost during the season. This venture was short lived. I spent several days there with my cousins during summers, besides 2 or 3 weekends hauling hogs and driving cattle to miss the flood, during the school term.

 

A county map of the 1870's shows the Wabash School as located on the Shawneetown ‑ New Haven River Road in North Central part of Sec. 26 T8 R10 and near the Wabash River. Sometime later the road was changed to leave the river and run Weet 3/4 mi. on the line dividing Sections 22 and 27. Here it Joined the Sandy Ford Road and there stood the Wabash School that I remember. Charles and wife Mattie Pearson Johnson had bought and moved on the S 1/2 of Sec 22 in 1909 and raised their family a short distance North of school. She taught at this school as did their son Harlis b. 1902. There were as many as 40 pupils attending, with the district boundaries extending South 2 mi. to second or upper bottom at Calapoosie and about same distance in other directions. I remember a small store operating for a short time at Calapoosie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

41

 

The soil in the river bottoms was usually easily worked, fertile and productive, It was not as dark in color or as sticky when wet as the black soil or gumbo of my home area. After a few yards of walking through this heavy soil, ones feet became almost too heavy to lift. At this time a kick and a quick Jerk of the foot would send most of the mud flying. This may now be a lost art since the roads are surfaced and the corn is harvested by machine. The backwater at times compensated for some of the problems it caused the lowland dwellers, by leaving a coat of rich silt on the land, as it receded. The higher fields might erode a bit, if the soil was loose and the current swift, but usually as the muddy water backed out over the lowlands, the current slowed and the sediment settled. An illustration of this occured many years ago. J. L. Day and I were duck hunting after a flood in which the Ohio River was much higher than the Wabash. We were hunting near the latter, about 2 1/2 mi. West of its Junction with the Ohio. The rivers, barely back within their banks, had left a coat of sediment on the fields, but in a slough with a thick stand of large maples the new mud was near knee deep. Nature added fertility and leveled the land at the same time, as it added to the topsoil.

 

During the last 60 years or so there has been much more change in the lower bottoms, than in other farming areas of Gallatin County. At that time, most of the bottom land was in timber and undrained, much of it in swamps and covered by water much of the year. Ditches have drained most of the swamps and eliminated most of the mosquitos while bulldozers have, during the last 20 years eliminated most of the timbered land. The names. Willow Bend, Willow Pond, Dudley Pond, Dudley Knoll, Hampton and Mill Slough are not often heard and are now parts of large grain fields.

 

Though it was not easy, many families made their living in that area some 60 years ago. Many farmed, cut timber or worked at the sawmills, some worked in season at all three jobs. In the abandoned fields there were lots of ripe blackberries in the summer, in the fall on the wooded ridges, there were usually bushels of large hickory nuts to be picked up and hulled or left to waste. My parents tried to can at lesat 25 gallons of wild blackberries each year. This meant two early morning trips, of 6 or 7 miles to the banks of Willow Slough, in the surrey. The berries were picked by noon and canned by bedtime. This family effort came after wheat cutting and before threshing. I remember 3 or 4 wagons of men relatives picking up hickory nuts in the area East of Round Pond Schoolhouse. It must have been in Sections 2 and 3 of Shawnee Townshlp. We camped in a grove near the home of an old colored gentleman. I believe his name was Aaron Wilson. On one trip Dads uncle, Bill Miner of Eldorado with his sons and a wagon, joined our group. His knowledge of the terrain, in this large tract of timber, leads me to believe that the family had gathered nuts there many years earlier. In our case the nuts were hulled, then dried and later cracked, a pan full at a time usually for an after supper treat. By alternating with popcorn both lasted through the long winter.

 

There were many native pecan trees in the lower bottoms. At one time they bore heavy crops and unlike other nuts, there was always a good market for pecans. They were an important money crop for those who had an orchard. They required lots of work in clearing weeds and brush as well as knocking and picking up the nuts. Pecans grew on many types of soil but were usually concentrated on drained land too low to risk farming. We picked up a few on shares but usually had enough for our use from the few scattered trees in our fields. These were probably spared, when the land was cleared, not only for nuts but for shade for teams and workers.

 

Thousands of pounds of pecans were bought and shipped from Shawneetown and New Haven. Pecan day was an annual event, for many years at New Haven, with a queen contest and large crowds. It ended a few years ago when many trees quit bearing for some reason or perhaps no reason. With crops irregular most of the trees were dozed out and the land used for grain.

 

 

 

 

 

 

42

 

The scattered field trees also quit bearing nuts, and not being needed for shade, most of these have disappeared. Charles Hise had one of these trees, which often bore enough pecans, to pay the tax on his 32 acre home farm. It is odd that the smaller trees, in towns such as Ridgway, bear a good crop almost without fail, year after year.

 

The most change in the lower bottoms has come from its loss of people and houses. During the period from 1910 to 1920, I knew or had heard the names of many families who lived in the area. There was the Back family, 2 or 3 Bell families, George and Lula (Glass) Blackburn and family, Susie Cook and sons Edward and Jim, Sam Lanier and 2 sons, families headed by Woods Perdue, Fred Simmons, John Rice, John Pruitt, John Colbert, John Tedford the sawmill man, who furnished work for many and had a large family, Charles and Jess Johnson also the Smith, Nelson, Padgett and Patrick families also the Hise family and Jim and Clara (Harrelson) Sauls family and others that I do not remember. Early Western Travels by Cumings mentions two cabins on the Wabash near the point where it Joins the Ohio. This was in 1809. The large one had a tavern sign. Today in 1976 there is not one family that I know of between Shawneetown and New Haven, in lower bottoms. Thwaites, again quoting from Cuming's diary, said that in the previous yesr (1808) these families had their cattle all drowned in the spring floods and had themselves fled inland a few miles to the higher land for safety. Over 110 years later in the 1920's Uncle James and Aunt Myrtle (Miner) Hendrix with partner Roy Poston rented this farm in Sections 19, 25 and 30. With much equipment and help they planted several hundred acres of corn. With a good season and good soil a fine crop was raised, but as had happened ao often in the past, the rains upriver meant that a flood was coming. A distress call and pay above usual brought many corn ahuckers who furnished their own team and wagon. The shuckers (never called huskers in our area) scooped their loads of corn into a amall bin holding perhaps 100 bushels. This portable bin had a chute through which the corn flowed into burlap bags which when filled were laced and tied, then placed in another chute, down the river bank onto a barge and to market. With two bins and extra workers the corn was loaded about as fast as it came in. One fall my brother Willard L. and I helped finish the shucking. Jim Brown was one of the full‑time workers, his wife Lottie helped feed the new workers. I especially remember the large pots of beans and meat served downstairs and the cots and beeds in the upstairs of the old frame Callicott farmhouse. The hard work and long hours helped sleeping. Within 3 days the corn was all in except for that lost ln the lowlands and we were on our way home before the backwater stopped travel across the sloughs. We were in school at the time but it was common at the time for boys to skip school when needed at home. I missed school during spring when in 8th grade. I believe the only other living person, shucking corn with us that fall on the Callicott Farm, is Claud Ingleton.

 

Uncle Jim was better equipped than most, for farming there, but he only lasted 3 or 4 years. Most of those now farming in the bottoms live on the upland nearby. In the spring planting sesson when they think flood danger is past, they move good equipment there, plant, cultivate and then move their implements home. In the fall harvest period they bring in their combines for beans, their shellers for corn, their wagons and trucks to move the crops and are soon gone. Modern machinery, earlier maturing varieties, chemicals and grain dryers enable the lowland farmers to plant and also harvest their crops between the rainy seasons or floods, in most cases. Most of the risk or danger from flooding is now gone. The river had advantages to offset its bad points. At a time when there were no roads in the new country, the river served as the highway to the towns and markets of the world. A boat was a necessity where hunting and fishing was so important to a family's livelyhood and especially so in the bottoms.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

43

 

The river and slough banks made well drained bases, for the early traces and roads, and were often so used. These many advantages were probably noted by Fred Buck in 1814, when he selected and entered fr. Section 22 in present day Lower New Haven Twp. Born in 1783, he was the eldest of the 14 children of Revolutionary War vet, Warner and Barbara (Slusher) Buck. The family was prominent in the early affairs of Gallatin County. Warner purchased the S.E. 1/4 of Sec. 17 from the land office in July 1814. This was in Shawnee Township and on it is located the Buck Hill family burial grounds. On the East Center of the Fred Buck farm near the Wabash River, was some of the highest land in the lower bottoms. The river stage had to reach 45 ft. or more to cover this field. Near this field, about 56 mi. South of the Mouth of the Little Wabash and about midway between New Haven and Shawneetown, Buck soon had a boat landing and a ferry in operation. The place is still known as Bucks Landing by many. On the higher ground he built a large, hewed log house. Harlis Johnson remembers this old house which stood on the back of his parents farm. He also remembers the old millstones and part of the timbers used in making the dam across Mill Slough to the West. Logs for special markets, were coll­ected here and along with other items, were shipped by boat up and down the river for many years after the ferry ceased operating. This was a busy area many years before much of the interior of Gallatin County was entered and settled. It was probably familiar to the red man long before the white man became interested in the area.

 

The earliest maps of our area show a stream, called Indian Camp Creek, originating about 2 mi. S.W. of present day New Haven Village. It flowed Easterly to a point East of the center of Sec. 27, then turned S.E. running almost parallel with the Big Wabash River for about 2 miles before Joining it on the East side of Section 2. The high ground separating these streams has lone since been claimed by the river. The earlier mouth of this creek was a short distance North of the Big Barn school, which was consolidated a few years ago, the present mouth of what is left is about 1/2 mile South of mouth of the Little Wabash River. I don't rem­ember the big barn but do remember a long row of corn bins or cribs built up off the ground, on the ridge about 1/4 mile South of the school. A ferry linked Illinois and Indiana at this point for many years, it was probably last operated by the Wood famlly, years ago. There were 2 or 3 houses near the school and several others in the area a few years back. Although the exact spot can't be pinpointed, an early map of 3 S.W. Indiana counties indicates that a very early Indian trail crossed the Wabash, at or near the school house site. An early map of Gallatin County shows one branch of this trail going a short diatance to the North, then generally West to the South of Burdick Slough or pond, then about 3 miles to the West on the North bank of both Goose Pond and Capshaw Pond where in Sec. 6 it joined the road on West Bank of Mill Slough Swamp. The main branch of this Indian trail went South to the next bend of the river which it followed to near the earlier mentioned Buck's Landing. From here it went West on the South side of the Willow Slough Bend of Mill Swamp to Join the above road on the West side of Sec 19, T8 R10. This road is still used in dry weather. Tedford had two sawmills on this 3 mi. of East West road. The road on West bank of Mill Slough Swamp later became the Shawneetown ‑ New Haven road, the Indian trail which branched off it in S.W. corner of Sec. 19 became the lower New Haven ‑ Equallty road.

 

Col. William M. Cockrum of Oakland City Ind. began collecting material in 1852 for his Pioneer History of Indiana, published in 1907. In this material were several letters containing orders and directions from the Governor of Indiana Territory. They were dated in 1807, and were to Capt. William Hargrove, commander of the Rangers who were protecting the settlers from the Indiana. Several pertained to those traveling the Salt Trace.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

44

 

The Governor was Gen. William Henry Harrison, the writer of the letters was John Gibson, secretary of Indiana Territory. Hargrove who lived near present day Princeton, was charged with keeping the peace and protecting the settlers in the Western third of Southern Indiana. The white people began moving into the territory several years before the Indians ceded it to the U.S. government in 1804. Many of the Indians were against this cession and many continued to live in the area. The Shawnees, under Chief Setteedown, had a straggling settlement in the Newburg - Boonville area. A trace ran through this area and near the Ohio River, crossing the Wabash to the saline regions of Illinois. The site of the later Fred Buck ferry, would have been the most convenient spot for this crossing one may assume. The so called Salt Route is mentioned as an early traveled way which started near Vincennes, bore East a way, croseed the White and then the Patoka Rivers and then to the SouthWest crossing the Wabash a short distance below the mouth of the Little Wabash River. There was an old Delaware Indian town along this trace in Gibson County. The last Indian village of this county was about 2 miles West of Owensville. The Indians were driven out and the wigwams burned in 1807 except the few which were spared until 1809. These acts caused a lot of friction. Small hunting parties returned to their home area and trouble resulted but most of the problems occured West of the Wabash. Many settlers moved into S.W. Indiana in 1805 and 1806 and all used the old trails to get their requirements of salt. Salt was necessary for the pioneers daily living needs and needed especially for preserving meat. They demanded protection on these salt gathering Journeys. Salt at 15 to 20 cents per pound, they could not afford to buy, and many were too independent to gather in larger groups for mutual protection. These and other problems formed the basis for these letters which give more insight into our areas early days. It was finally decided to set new rules while the danger lasted. Certain days were set for groups of 15 or more to make salt. This number was considered safe on East side of Wabash where a camp was set up on the Salt trall near the river crossing. In this camp were two soldiers with their scouts who conducted the group across the river and to the salt works. Rules were set whereby the group was more able to protect itself. Indians were seldom seen alone the trails after Dec. 1 so there was little danger of winter raids.

 

Col. Cockrum's Pioneer History of Ind. devoted several pages to these letters and the conflicts and injustices practiced by some of both races, but most of the more than 500 pages described everyday life among the early white settlers. This included many details of how and what they used from the land and forest to offset the almost total absence of money. First in importance was a knife, ax and rifle. Animal skins usually paid for powder, lead and very little else. I have read a story where the need for a saw in a community was very great. Each family furnished a hide or two for a pool, which when sold bought a saw, with enough left over to pay for an suger. Both were very important then and probably much used. With only a river or a few miles separating these people from those of Gallatin County, both had the same problems to cope with and if not related both came from the same Southern area and background. To the early settler the family unit was all important. It set the rules like a government. It educated, for the responsibilities and needs of the time, long before regular schooling existed. Most important, it was in the home where the virtues such as personal initiative and self reliance were practiced. In a few years with these assets and secure land titles, more land cleared, orchards planted and some extra crops to sell, these people could see their dreams coming true. I am sure they made the same state­ments that I have often heard from friends and relatives many years ago, ‑ I hope my children don't have to work as hard as I did.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

45

 

THE WAR OF 1812, ACTIVITIES OF THAT TIME, A FORT BUILT IN GALLATIN.

 

The second war with Britain, declared on June 18, 1812, intensified military activity in this area of Illinois Territory. Many expected trouble from the Indians, especially around the salt works and in the outlying areas. Several militia companies were recruited and trained in S.E. Illinois. Thomas E. Craig, a Shawneetown businessman, captained one of 67 men. After Leonard White was promoted, Phillp Tramell replaced him as captain of a company. Other captains were James Trousdale and Willis Hargrave. Some of these companies were mounted. Fred Buck was among the many names on these rosters familiar to our area. William Ellis was among those drafted the next year. He applied for veterans benefits in 1971, listing his home as Hickory Hill, in Wayne County, Ill., his age as 80 yrs. He stated that he was drafted about Apr. l, 1813 for the purpose of guarding the frontier settlements againat the depredations of the Indians, serving in Capt. Barkers company, in Col. Tramell's regiment and in Gen. Hargraves brigade. He further stated that he served about 3 months and assisted in building forts and guarding the settlements on the Wabash, Ohio and Skillet Fork Rivers and that he was honorably discharged about the last day of June, 1813 from the Pond Settlement Fort. His wife was Elizabeth Buck (sister of Fred) and he was one of the Ellis Brothers of the Shawneetown area. He died in 1883. Gallatin County of that day con­sisted of about six area counties of today. On May 25 1813 the court divided the county into 7 townships or milltia districts. The leaders of each were; Granpier with Capt. Steel, Capt. McFarland was the leader of the Big Creek Twp. militia, Capt, Barker of Rock and Cave, Capt. Trousdale for Shawanoe Twp., Capt. White of Saline Twp, Capt. Grove in Pond Twp. and Capt. McHenry commanding in Prairie. Pond consisted of present day New Haven Twp. and much of the adjoining area. I am sure it got its name from the many ponds and swamps, in the bottoms, which were probably caused by early river channels of the Wabash. The fort was located near the junction of the earlier mentioned Indian Trace, which crossed the Wabash at Indian Camp Creek, and the Shawanoe Town and Boones Mill road, This trace continued to Equality by way of New Zion and St. Joseph Cemeteries.

 

The fort was a bit over a mile East and South of Asbury church on what was long known as the Fort Farm. Court order #191 on June 7, 1819 ordered that Brice Hannah be appointed supervisor on part of the Shawanoe town to Robinson's Mills (successor to Boone at New Haven) road. Bounds for hands to work road Viz; beginning at Beaver Dam Branch where William McCoy's bounds end, thence with said line to Buck's Ferry including hands at ferry. Thence up Wabash with county line to George Ragland's, thence to James Gaston old band mill, including Ragland and Edward Mobley thence to Thorn Thicket so as to include the hands at the old fort and Ensley Clark's place. Clark had, on Oct. 25, 1814, entered the W 1/2 of NW 1/4 of Sec 1 on which Asbury M.E. Church now stands. Bounds for the next stretch of the road went West of New Haven 2 miles then South to Clark Place, thence East, passing the old fort, to the beginning. Supervisor was Martin Hitchcock.

 

Records show much preparation but little action from Indians in this area. Nelson Rector, one of several brothers who were surveyors, was shot from ambush as he forded North Fork Creek about 15 miles from Shawanoe town. Several Indians wounded both he and his horse on Mar. 1, 1814, but both escaped. This would have been N.W. of Ridgway or S.W. of Omaha.

 

Order # 147

 

On 2‑5‑1817 the court received a request for a road to lead from Warner Buck ferry to intersect the Shawneetown ‑ Boon's Mill road at the plantation of Thomas M. Dorris, where Brice Hannah now lives. Dorris purchased the S.W. 1/4 of Sec. 19 of Lower New Haven in 1814. A committee was appointed. This crossing in Sec. 19 was slightly North of an early country store, last operated in 1870's by William Harrelson. The road from the North which skirted the Mill Slough bank to Coffee Hill had turned to the S. East in front of St. Patricks Church. L.N. McGuire, who was born and reared on the above 1/4 section, told me he had heard the crossroad area called Mackey.

 

 

 

46

 

When 16 in 1923, I worked for his father Joe 1883‑1951, by going through the wheat threshing run as a bundle pitcher. They lived on and farmed the 1/4 section in front of the church. Even at that age I enjoyed hearing the older men tell of what they had seen and heard. Much of the road from the first store site in Sec. 30 is still in use as it leads toward the hills and Old Shawneetown. About a mile of the old Salt trace road in Sections 25 and 36 Ridgway Township, from the old Daily School Site to the Maloney home, is part of an improved road. This old trace or path, mentioned in letter from Gen. Harrison dated 1807, as having been used by the Indians farther back than anyone knows, was a part of the lower Equality ‑ New Haven road for many years. It followed the higher land to the old Owen Riley home in the S.W. 1/4 of Sec. 35 T8 R9 then followed the ridge bank from N.E. corner of Sec. 3 T9 R9 toward old Bradley School, and the salt works. In 1819 Brice Hannah started a tavern at his home on the Salt Trace crossroad S.E. of the future church site. William McCoy had a tavern about 3 miles to the South, on the Shawnee ‑ Boon's Mill road. About 2 1/2 miles North in Sec 12, a branch of this road became the State Road, which in turn had a branch called the Carmi Road. An early school was located near Mill Slough, on the first named branch near the home of Capt. Jess Johnson. Roads going in direction of state capitols were often called state roads. At Coffee Hill, where this road first touched the Mill Slough bank, it was joined by a branch from the East, off the salt Trace. This branch had followed the slough from the brick house, saw mill shed and pile of sawdust near the center of N.E. 1/4 of Sec. 19 T8 R10. Among my first memories are visits with my cousins, who lived there after sawmill operator Tedford and his family had started a new mill 2 miles farther East.

 

This old road was a part of the Shawneetown to Vincennes mail route, which was started in 1806 and crossed the Little Wabash at the rock ford at Boon's Mill. Later this became a regular stagecoach route and for that era, must have been a busy road. In the 1880's the school was replaced by a new school at Inman about 1 mile to the Northwest, in N.E corner of Sec 14. Another early mail route was advertised on May 20, 1814, as follows from Shawanoe Town by U.S. Saline, Jordan's, Great Muddy River, Little Muddy River, Coxes on Beaucoup River, Kaskaskia, and to arrive at St. Genevieve on Wednesday, 120 miles by 6 P.M., and to return and arrive at Sh. on Sunday by 10 A.M., and then leave Shawanoe on next trip by 2 P.M. Sunday. Mike Lawler 1884‑1965, whose good memory included a wealth of local hist­ory handed down by earlier generations who lived nearby, told me that at the home of Dr. James Galbraith a short distance above Coffee Hill, the stage regularly changed teams. I have seen his name often as signer of surety bonds or administrator. In 1850's he doctored the county's indigent for $100 per year and probably died about 1870. I have heard that the fine old Pierce home, built about 1840 near the center of S.W. 1/4 of Sec 6 of T8 R10, served as a stage stop. It is now known as the Green House and owned by Emmett Downen.

 

Michael Sprinkle is usually credited with settling in Shawneetown about 1800 and being its first white settler. There were two Sprinkles named Michael, among the several families mentioned by Edmund L. Starling, in his 1887 History of Henderson County, Kentucky, as having settled there by 1792 or soon after. He stated that these settlers depended on Gallatin Salines for salt, Going by horseback and paying as much as $10. per bushel, 2 bushel or less on each trip was all a horse could haul. The dangers and high price constituted a real hardship on these people. The competition between the races for, and the profits from the Salines, must have ­attracted a daring and determined group of saltmakers.

 

Blanchard Barnett 1894‑1975, of Equality (son of Reuben) told me a few years ago, that his forefathers by 1800 were engaged in the business of hauling salt, from Gallatin Salines to Ky. and Tenn., ferrying their wagon across the river on some type of ferry at Shawneetown.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

47

 

SOME ACTIONS TAKEN BY GOVERNING BODY OF GALLATIN, FROM 1813 records.

 

The 1850 census of Eagle Precinct, Gallatin County, list Reuben age 2, as one of the large family of James C. 58 b N.Car. and Angeline Barnett age 30 also b. N. Carolina. Lucille Duffy Lawler, in her book; Gallatin County, Gateway to Illinois: quotes from Pioneer Days in the County, by the late Mrs. Gertrude Sutton of Equality. (Records in a family bible belonging to a Barnett family gives the birth date of a girl, Mary Barnett born to David and Judith Barnett on June 17, 1788. She was born near the North Fork of the Saline River, where her father had worked at the salt lick making salt.)

 

While the first records of territorial government sponsorship of the salt industry came with the leasing of the Gallatin Saline, to Capt. Bell of Lexington Ky. in 1803, there is evidence besides the above, that Americans were working the salines at intervals, several years earlier. Salt making became so important after a few years, that the lease fees furnished much of the government's revenue.

 

The trails used by the animals and Indians were much like the paths I remember in the large, barbed wire enclosed, woods pastures. They were always on the most direct or best route to the salt and water supply. If an obstruction like a fallen tree blocked the path, a long angle led around it and back to the path, if a stream furnished water, the path to the salt block was less distinct. Serving a much larger area, the trails near the sailnes were often deep cuts. As the white settlers moved into this area, their first public task was to widen and improve these trails and traces or build new roads. The salines, near Equality, became the hub of many of these early roads. Shawneetown became important soon after, as a shipping point for salt, as a landing port for new settlers, as the seat of government for the new county and the site of the land office. Gallatin had became a county in September of 1812 and one of its first acts concern­ed a new road to the salines, started by its mother county Randolph. The citizens, in a certain area or distance from the road, were ordered to cut the trees at ground level or below for a specified width of road, on the nearest and best route. Viewers had earlier been appointed to select and mark out path of the new road. Roads were often laid out from a ford across a stream to a gap in the hills. Route one goes through Dorsey Gap, which is a short distance East of the salt spring and South of the present bridge over Saline River. In the early days, a ford crossed the river here, and three roads, including the Island Ripple and Ford Ferry Roads joined here. This busy place was then called the Crossroads at the Old Frazier Place.

 

The Judges of the common pleas court, which governed Gallatin County, held their first meeting in January of 1813, but no records were kept of this meeting. The three Judges were Leonard White, Gabriel Greathouse and John C. Slocumb. They appointed Joseph M. Street as clerk of the court. At the May term a petition was received, from several inhabitants of Rock and Cave, asking for two roads from Barkers ferry at that place. One was to intersect the Kaskaskia to U.S. Saline Springs road at Francis Jourdans, the other to go directly to the above springs. The petition was approved and Francis and Joseph Jourdan and Chism Estes were appointed viewers, to mark the first road the nearest and best way, and Philip Coon, Lewis Barker and Isaac Casey were appointed for the latter, which was to go from the ferry to Nathaniel Armstrongs; thence across Harris Creek to a large spring; thence to cross Eagle Creek just above its forks, and thence to the U.S. Saline. Henry Ledbetter was appointed supervisor from Ohio River to Harris Creek and John B. Stovall for the rest of way to Salines. They were given the right to call out all hands within 6 miles of said road, to cut it out and keep it in repair. They sometimes built bridges over streams, but usually crossed at fords. If the ford was miry, they often built what was called a mud bridge, by cutting long poles and sinking them into the mud, close together to last for many years of solid footing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

48

 

THE FOLLOWING ARE ITEMS FROM TERRITORIAL & GALLATIN COUNTY RECORDS 1813‑20

 

There are 126 pages of proceedings, in the Gallatin County record book of 1813 to 1820. Nine pages of the Gallatin section of Goodspeed's 1887, five county History, are from these records. Space limited their account of these interesting records as it will in my case.

 

The viewers and supervisors on these roads were probably selected as leaders on these projects because of knowledge of the area or its people and interest in and ability for the job. I found only a few cases in which leaders were paid for their services. In the 1850's, records show that as much as 5 days labor on roads could be required of every ablebodied man. A few were granted exemptions for sickness or disabilities.

 

Constables were appointed at the May 25, 1813 meeting as follows; Lemuel Harrison for Big Creek Township, John Jackson for Granpier, Asa Ledbetter for Rock and Cave, John Forester for Shawanoe, Seth Hargrave for Saline, Joshua Biggs for Prairie and Reuben Bellah for Pond Township. Plans and specifications for a jail, on the public square, with pillory and atocks, were discussed and approved. Alexander Wilson, Michael Jones, Joseph H. Street, Cornellus Lafferty and Henry Oldham or any three of them, were appointed commissioners and authorized to let contract for the jail. The lower cell, 10 ft square, was surrounded by 3 walls of 10 inch hewed oak logs or 30 inches of wall. On top of this cell was another, 13' and 4" square. Iron was used on door and as bars on windows. More than a page in the record book was for specifications, part of which are in Goodspeed's History. A 40 foot stray pen was included, the square posts to be of black locust, sassafras or mulberry, the ralls of oak not more than 8' long or less than 6" wide, height was to be 5 feet, the ralls at least 3" thick. License for a tavern on the Island Ripple Road was issued to Hazle Moreland Sr., Gabriel Greathoune and Thomas M. Dorris were also issued tavern licenses for their homes in Shawanoe Town, fees for first were $8 and for the latter $12 each, all were required to give bonds of $300.00, rates were set at $.25 per meal, lodging at $.125, hay or fodder for horse one night $.25, oats or corn $.125 per gallon, prices were also set for 11 alcoholic drinks from 1/2 pint to 1 quart. At next meeting 10 A.M. on May 26, 1813 rates of taxation were set. The ferry rates for license were set as follows; all ferries on Ohio River at $10 per yr., the ferry at Saline $5., the Island Ripple ferry $5, the ferry next above the mouth of Saline Creek $2, ferry at falls of Little Wabash $1, and the ferries on the Big Wabash $4 each.

 

They heard petitions claiming infirmities from Samuel Littel, Jessee Stoney, Aaron Treadway & Samuel Carnick. It appeared to the court that they labor under infirmities, that disable them from performing ordinary manual labor, and should be exonerated from paying taxes.

 

They ordered, that order of Court of Common pleas of Randolph County establishing a road from the ferry at Shawanoetown to the U.S. Saline Salt Works be renewed, John Robinson Sr. was appointed supervisor, in place of William Cheek, from Island Ripple to salt works and Hazle Moreland was appointed supervisor from ferry to Island Ripple. All the hands on both sides of the road within 4 miles are hereby required to work on said road. This road shall extend to the old ford on Saline Creek below the Half Moon. Court adjourned till next day May 27, 1813.

 

Court approved Abner Howell as administrator of estate of John Seaburn, decd. and approved Thomas Hays as his security and appointed John Lucas, John Bradbury and Samuel Slocumb as appraisers of estate.

 

David Shearer approved as administrator of Godfrey Shearer decd. estate, with Thomas Boatright as security in sum of $600.

 

Thomas Wallace application as administrator of estate of West Westley, decd. with Sampson Dunn and Dennis Clay as security for $500. Court appointed Wallace and Dunn, James Steel and Alexander Blair as eatate appraisers.

 

Sept. 6, 1813, Elisha Hall approved as administrator on estate of James Hall with William Wheeler and Samuel Bratton as sec. for $2000. Hall, Bratton, Thompson H.

49

 

Harris Jr., Abram H. McCool, Nicholas Copeland and John B. Stoveall were directed to appraise Hall's estate.

 

Charles Wilkins and Co. were granted license for tavern at Saline Salt Works, fes $12 and Belam May received license for tavern at Island Ripple for a fee of $7.00. John Davis was granted license to keep a tavern in his home, fee $4.00.

 

Next came an entry from Randolph County Court, December of 1810 license granted to Alexander Wilson, to keep a ferry from the rocks near upper end of Shawanoetown, and to cross the river Ohio with rates the same as Fritz Holts ferry on Ohio. He was allowed the following rates; wagon and 2 horses or oxen $1; same with 2 wheels $.75; person over 7 yrs horse or mule $.25; meat cattle $.125; sheep or hogs $.0625 each

Sept. 25, 1813, Salley Montgomery (widow of Thomas late of Ark.) named guardian of their daughter, an infant named Polly. James & Jacob Wallace named as her security in amount of $2,000. The itemized value of personal property of earlier named estates was listed by appraisers prior to auction of same.

Sept. 28, 1813, Court received petition from James HcFarlane and other inhabit­ant of Big Creek Twp. praying for establishment of a road from McFarlane's ferry on Ohio River the neareat and best way to the United States Saline Salt Works, and it appearing to the satisfaction of the Court that the proper legal notices have been given. It is ordered that William Frizell, Elisa Jourdan, Peter Etter and Lewis Watkins or any 3 of them do view and mark out the several routs of said road and report proceedings at next court.

Sept. 29, 1813 license was approved for operation of ferry by James McFarlane on land owned by U.S. on which he resides. Rates were set as above.

 

Court accepted motion by John Rheburne and petition of a number of Pond and Shawanoetown inhabitants asking for a road, from said Rheburne's Ferry on Wabash, to Shawanoetown. Court appointed Rheburne, ? Craig, Jonathan Hampton, Dennis Clay and Frederick Buck to lay out road the nearest and best way from said ferry (later Buck's) to Shawanoetown.

 

Ordered that Phillip Hinson be fined $l, for profanely swearing in the presence of

this court. Also approved payment for election in 1812, 1 full round record book and paper etc. by clerk $62, to Thomas M. Dorris for building estray pen $11.875, and 8 days rent of room in home for court. use $12, to Isaac Dorris for erecting pillory and stocks $17.

 

On motion of Joseph Boone and petition of a number of inhabitants of Pon, Prairie and

Shawanoe Townships, praying for a road fron John Hanna's, from Big Prairie to pass

Joseph Boone's mill on little Wabash to Shawanoetown. It was ordered that John Hanna,

Samuel Slocumb, Joseph Boone, Ezekiel Hyde and Joseph Clark or any 3 of them view and mark out said road, the best and nearest way and report to next term of court.

 

On motion of John Davis and petition of number of inhabitants of Shawanoe Twp. for a road from said Davis's ferry to intersect Davenport's road, it is ordered that John Williams, Benjamin Kuykendall, Isaac Hogan, Thomas Gossip? & John Davis view and mark out said road and report to next term of court. Joseph Boone and James Gaston were appointed overseers of poor for Pond Township after which court adjourned until Jan, 17, 1814 when Russell E. Heacock asked for a ferry license, at his improvement in Sec. 17 R10 T12 on Ohio River.

 

They also appointed Jeptha? Hardin as attorney or council for the court. Samuel Omelvany was appointed commissioner to take a list of taxable property in Gallatin County in year of 1814.

Jan. 20, 1814 Approved McFarlane Ferry road as laid out as follows; from ferry on Ohio, thence to Absolem Estes, thence near to Nathan Clampets, thence to where Betty Pankey lives on Big Creek, thence to Elias Jourdans and thence to Lewis Watkins taking the old road to Willis Hargrave's Salt Works. All hands within 6 miles on each side of road, are alotted to it

 

Harrison Wilson, by his attorney Thomas C. Browne, moved that court grant him license for ferry across Ohio opposite Shawneetown at the rocks.

50

 

May 16, 1814, Polly Gatlin, administratrix of the eatate of Benjamin Kuykendall, dec'd William Strong, Littlepage Proctor and Isaac Hogan were appraisers of personal property of this rather large (Bowlesville ?) estate. Appraisal was $912. The necessities of a household and their value at the time are interesting today.

 

Next entry was expenses of administrator, Phillip Coon on estate of George Coon dec'd 1812. To bal. of old act. due me $1, cash paid Doctors Steel & Sharp; 3 months feeding mare $6; paid Padfield for 6 planks $.75; pd. F. Wood for coffin $.75; pd. Jacob Wallace $1; my trouble in time of his business $4.50; by cash in my hand at time of decease $9.50; bal. $15; Benjamin Coon appeared before N.S. Dallam a J.P. of Christian County Ky. and acknowledged truth of above amounts.

 

E. Wilson and H. Wilson admx. and admr. of estate of Alexander Wilson dec'd (the ferry operator and owner) produced into court an inventory and prayed that it be recorded. Items of this non‑farm household etc. follow.

 

A large Kittle‑‑‑       $7.            1 rifle gun   $18.   a beaureau       $15.

Large pot               4.            3 feather beds       2 dining tables  10.

Small pot               1.50          and furniture  60.   1 cupboard       12.

Teakettle               1.50          1 do           30.   a black horse     55.

large Dutch oven        2.            3 do           90.   3 cows            30.

two small do            3.            2 do           30.   a total of      $580.875

1 coffee boiler         2.            2 beds         30.   Eight negroes in

2 large kittles         14.            1 sette        18.25 Union County Ky.

3 water buckets         1.12½         1 bottle case  12.   appraised total of

1 small still           35.            1 writing desk 10.   $1825. by John Craw,

10 Windsor chairs        2.50          1 sugar desk    4.   Gabriel Greathouse,

1 keg juniper berries   15.            Desk of drawers 8.  Michael Sprinkle & J. Adam

 

Viewers of road from Rheburns Ferry to Shawneetown, Frederlck Buck, Samuel Craig and John Roberson made their report and court appointed Buck as supervisor, with orders to cut out road 16 feet wide. All hands within 6 miles on either side of said road are ordered to work on said road.

 

On motion of John Sherrer and petition of other inhabitants living in S.W. end of county for a road from said Sherrer's ferry on Ohio R. to U.S. Saline, also a road from ferry to Francis Jourdan's and road leading in the best and most direct way to Kaskaskia or Cape Girardeau. Ordered that James Street, Albert Rose and Elisha Colbert be viewers on road from Sherrer's ferry to U.S. Saline, that Strangeman Maudgelin, (Big) David Trammell and Thomas Boatright be viewers on Jordan's road and Ezekiel Clay, Thomas Wallace and Charles Meeks view and lay out road to Kaskaskias, then report findings to next court.

 

Russell E. Heacock asked court again to approve ferry at his improvement made by Jacob McDonald in 1808 on Sec. 17 R10 T12 or about 1 1/2 miles above the Cave.

 

Jonathan Ramsay and Randolph Casey moved the court to grant them a public ferry across the Ohio River on the 1/4 Sec. whereon Casey and Jacob McDonald formerly lived. This request continued until tomorrow.

 

Court appointed these constables; for Sh. Twp. Philip Buckner, John Frazer and John Forrester: for Prarie Twp. Absolem Hurt & Hugh Collins: for Pond Twp. David Taid and Pyrie Robinson: for Saline, John Collins and Nicholas Wren: for Rock & Cave Twp. Asa Ledbetter & Isaac Casey: for Big Creek Twp. Lewis Pankey: for Granpier Twp. John Jackson & Ezekiel Clay. For fence viewers they appointed; for Shawanoe, Cornelius Laffer­ty, John G. Wilson & John Murphy: for Prairie Twp. James Garrison, H'y Jones and William McCown: for Saline Twp. Joseph Jourdan, John Wren & William Maxwell: for Rock & Cave, Philip Coon, James Hull & Robert ?: Granpier, Isham Clay, Joshua Williams & Alexander Blair: Big Creek: William Pankey, Isham Harrison & William Eubanks; for Pond Twp. Thomas Wilson, Charles Sparks & Frederick Buck.

 

 

 

51

 

May 17, 1814 Rates were set for Rheburn's ferry across the Wabash River as follows: 4 wheel carriage and teams $1: 2 wheel carriage. & teams $.50: man & horse $.25: horned cattle, horse or man $.125: hogs, sheep or goats $.0625.

Isaac Casey was appointed supervisor on Barkers Ferry road in place of Henry Ledbetter, from Ohio to the Cedar Bluff (Cedar Bluff School was on road running South to present day Elizabethtown, in south center of Section 29 of Eagle Creek Twp). A new and stronger lock for new Jail approved.

 

May 18, 1814 Tax rates were set for 1814. Ferry taxation for various rivers set. Wilson's Ferry $10: Flinn's $10: Barkers $10: McFarlane's $10. Shearer's $1: Widow Davis $1: Mays $5: Rheburn's $2: W.T. Codd's $2: Boons $2: Raglins $1: Lessee of U.S. Saline $5 adjourned.

 

May 23, 1814 Eli Young deceased, his widow Nancy asked for and was granted letter of administration, estate value about $250 with bond $400 security by Michael Jones, Stephen Hog and Boston? Daimwood, who with William Thompson are to appraise estate.

 

June 25, 1814 Edward D. Prather deceased, John Frazer adm. bond $500, security William Sutton and Ennis Frazer

 

July 8, 1814 James Wheeler deceased, widow Katey appointed. admx. bond $200, security by Joseph M. Street and Guy W. Smith.

 

July 9, 1814 Moses Moore deceased, widow Priscilla appointed admx, bond $300 sec. Wyat Atkins and George Patterson who with Joseph Boone shall appraise estate. William Lee decd, admr Jeremiah Sessenbro, bond $200, security John Appling and Charles Sessenbro.

 

July 22, 1814 Christopher Wright decd, admr. Abram McCool, bond $100 with James and

William Willis as his security.

 

July 26, 1814 John Ritchie decd, admx. Polly Ritchie, $600 by Page Proctor & William Wheeler.

 

Aug. 1, 1814 Nathan Hearn decd, admx. Suey Ann Hearn, $1200 by John Blakely and Samuel Omelvany.

 

Aug. 20, 1814 Stephen Phillips, decd, admr. John Phillips $200 by Elijah Anderson & Isaac Ross.

 

Sept. 3, 1814 Edmund Rose, decd admr. Henry Rose and Thomas Rose, $600 by

Strangeman Maudgelin, Samuel Omelvany and Sampson Dennis. Appraisers were Strangeman Maudgelin, Ezekiel McCoy, Samuel Hog & Samuel Roberts.

 

Joseph Boon asks that the sheriff summon 12 lawful men, to meet at Boon's mill seat Sec. 18 T7 R10, where he is proprietor of land on both sides of Little Wabash River and assess damages as agreeable to law.

      Ordered that Cornelius Lafferty be and is appointed supervisor on road at Sh. ferry landing, at the rocks opposite the shop of John Craw to Hazel Moreland's, on the Saline road. Bounds for hands to work this road: begin at John Craw shop in Shawanoetown including it, thence to Boston Daimwood's including him, thence to include Hazel Moreland, thence crossing said road to include Starkes, thence to mouth of Saline Creek, thence up Ohio to beginning.

Appointed James Trousdale as supervisor of this road from Moreland's where Lafferty's boundary ends to the Island Ripple on Saline Creek. Bounds for hands: begin where Lafferty's line ends at Barton Dainwood's thence to Bout well’s including him, thence to Archibald Robertson's, thence to include John Clarke, thence to include James Dillard, thence to include William Willis, thence to Island Ripple, thence down Saline Creek to its mouth, thence with the line of C. Lafferty by Starkes & Moreland's to beginning at Boston Dainwood's.

 

Sept. 20, 1814 James S. Petty and John Ormsby paid license for keeping tavern in their houses in Shawanoetown. Fee was $10.

 

52

 

Sept. 20, 1814 cont: On petition of number of inhabitants of North End of Gallatin County (present day White County) the court appoints William McCoy, James Gaston, Aaron Williams, Michael Sprinkle and John Mobley to view and lay out a road from Thomas Randolph's in the Big Prairie, passing James Gaston’s and thence the nearest and best way to the public square in Shawanoetown.

 

Ordered that James Steel be supervisor of road to be cut out from Shearer’s Ferry to the crossing at Mogilin's Mile road. Elbert Rose from Mogilin's Crossing to the top of cliff between Granpier and Eagle Creek and Elisha Colbert be supervisor from this point to U.S. Saline. They shall have the road cut out at least 18 ft. from the cliff to Hargrave's Works, they shall keep this width road in order, as the law provides. The hands on 6 miles on either side of this road shall be called to work this road. This road was laid out as follows: Begin at ferry on Ohio thence to lick on waters of 3 mile creek, thence along dividing ridge between waters of Three Mile Creek and Big Creek keeping a direct course and running between where the widow Rose and Elbert Rose now live, thence nigh to where Henn? now lives just past Capt. Colbert's, thence to Badger's, thence to Sees and to Hargrave's works at the U.S. Saline. Signed by Elisha (his X mark) Colbert and James Steel. Payment approved of $29.25 to James Garrison for feeding and caring for stray horses: & $6 to M. Sprinkle, election Judge, John Frazer, coroner for 2 inquests, plus other charges.

 

John Black, William Wheeler and William Gordon appraisers of John Ritchie estate.

 

Property of Stephen Phillips deceased sold on Aug.30, 1814, buyers follow; Samuel Pepper 1 matlock $.375: Elisha Anderson 1 howel? $.125: pall $.4325: Abel Cock pail $.25: same 1 crop of corn $2.75, same 31 1/2 bushel corn $6.125: Isaac Cok 7 sheets of paper $.0625: Samuel Pepper to improvement $10.625: Nancy Phillips cotton $.125, 1 bridle bit $.625, 1 mare, colt & saddle $25: 1 oven & pot $.50: 1 blanket $.125: pen knife $.0625: 1 bundle clothes $1: 1 book $.0625: Jesse Watkins 1 razor $.5625, Isaac Ross 1 pair gallises $.0625.

Ordered that sheriff pay assignee of John C. Slocumb $292 as second 1/2 or final payment for Jail.

 

May 1, 1815 John C. Slocumb, Leonard White and Thomas E. Craig, esquires, produced their commissions as judges and qualified agreeably to law and took their seats as Judges of county court of Gallatin County.

On the motion of Leonard White and Lowry Hay, having shown court that they are proprietors of land on both sides of Little Wabash River, ask that 12 discreet men be summoned to examine their mill seat on NE 1/4 of Section 13 T5 R9 East and make due return to next term of court.

Nov. 14, 1814 Last will of George Greer admitted. Proven by oaths of Thomas & Aaron Williams. William Kirk, deceased James S. Petty adm'r. Thomas Rose deceased, Strangeman Maudglin and Elbert Rose applied for letter of adm. on 11‑23‑1814 with Jesse Strong & Nathan Clampet as security for $600 bond, William Andrews, Daniel Vineyard, Abram Womack & Samuel Hogg appointed as appraisers.

Feb. 7, 1815 Nimrod Taylor deceased, his brother Merrit Taylor applied for letter of adm. John Groves & George Ragland security for $200, Paul Abner, Thomas Wilson, Tyrie Robinson and Alexander Clarke were appointed as Appraisers. On Feb. 20, 1815 Jonathan Stewart applied for letter of administration on estate of Simon Stewart deceased, bond set at $700 with Daniel Brown and John Lucas as security. They with Daniel Boultinghouse and Wyatt Adkins were appointed appraisers. On same date letter of administration was applied for on estate of Charles Stewart deceased, bond was set at $200, with same security and appraisers as above.

Feb. 25, 1815 Richard Haynes applied for letter of administration on estate of Charles Burney deceased bond of $100 with Wyatt Adkins and George Norris as security. On Mar. 1, 1815 Harrison Wilson applied for letter of administration on estate of Arnold Adkinson deceased. Bond set at $200. with James S. Petty & William C. Vaught security. On May 1, 1815 letter of administration was given Susannah Willis on estate of her husband James Willis deceased, bond $300. John Ormsby & Archibald Roberts as security

         Jan.30‑1815 letter of administration was given Elizabeth and Abraham Granger on estate of William Granger deceased, bond of $600 with Caleb Baldwin Orson Conway as security.

53

On Jan. 9, 1815 William Roark applied for letters of administration on estate of Matthew Ward deceased, bond of $300 set with John Gilbert & William Sutton as security. Thomas Hatfield, John Frazer and William Adkins and above named shall appraise. On Dec. 10, 1814 Stephen Beck became adm. on estate of David Slocumb deceased, bond of $400 with M. S. Davenport and Patsy Slocumb as security agreeable to law. Thomas Randolph, Aaron Williams, John Hannah, Henry Jones and James Garrison or any three of them are appointed as appraisers of said estate.

 

May 1, 1815 continued. Constables appointed for Shawanoe Twp. Benjamin R. Smith, Hugh B. Johnson and Adrian Davenport.

Overseers of the poor were appointed as follows, Saline Twp. Stephen Hogg and Willis Hargrave, for Shawanoe Twp: Samuel W. Kimberly & James S. Petty, for Pond Twp. Benjamin McGhee and Samuel Morris, Prairie Twp. James Hannah & George McCown Jr. for Rock and Cave Twp. Phillip Coon & Lewis Barker: Granpier Twp. Samuel Omelvany & Alexander Blair. Adjourned until tomorrow.

 

May 2, 1815 First order was to pay John Caldwell $74 for rent of house for use as a Jail. Next was a declaration that house built by order of court on the plan of Shawanoetown, on lot #1111 is hereby declared to be the Common Jail for Gallatin County until the further order of this court.

Willis Hargrave through his attorney Russell E. Heacock again made motion that he be allowed to establish a ferry opposite Lots #1210, 1211 & 1212 in Shawanoetown. The court again decided that the ferry already established was sufficient to do all necessary ferrying with ease.

The writ of Ad‑quo‑damnum granted at Sept. term of court in 1814 was return­ed and the inquest and return was quashed and set aside, it not having been made agreeably to law by Joseph M. Street and Joseph Boone. At the following May term it was resubmitted by Street for the court to grant him a mill at seat on said Little Wabash. The 12 man Jury stated that they had viewed the situation and are of the opinion, that a 6 foot high dam will do no injury to the land of any person, and that a good mill at aforesaid place will be of great public utility. John C. Slocumb, Judge, alleged that he thought it would flood his spring and then retired off the bench. The petitioner then shewed the court, that after the mill was erected if damage was caused, a jury could still assess damages as though no mill had been built. It was put off until next court since only one Judge was left.

 

On motion of Joseph Boon, by his attorney Thomas C. Brown it is ordered that a writ of Ad‑quo‑damnum etc. be issued for a jury to review and condemn a mill seat on the said Boon's lands on Little Wabash. The jury to meet on June 1, 1815. Next came a petition from Shawanoe Twp. for a road from Shawanoe Town to Joseph Owens furnaces upon the North Fork of Saline Creek at the U.S. Saline. Ordered that Benjamin Mosby, John Murphy, Barton Dain­wood and Cornelius Lafferty or any 3 of them review the said road, commencing at western most end of main cross street, and then nearest and best way to Owen furnaces and report to next term of this court.

 

Ordered that a road be viewed from line dividing this and Edwards county Thence to Big Prairie at Thomas Randolph's, that Joseph Pomeroy, Aaron Williams and Alexander Clark view road from Randolph's to James Gaston Sr., that James Gaston, William McCoy and Michael Sprinkle view said road to Bucks Road and then to Shawanoetown.

John Frazer adm. of estate of John Starke deceased asked for more bond. Granddaughter Polly Hooper, daughter of William Hooper deceased who intermarried with daughter of Stephen Beck; viz the said Beck is hereby appointed guardian of the infant Polly Hooper upon making bond of $800.

The road to Joseph Owens furnaces on North Fork is blazed and marked by viewers to cross Cypress Creek at its Sandy Ford. We believe it will be at least 4 miles closer than the Island Ripple road. Said road shall be cut out and be kept in repair 15 feet wide. Bounds for hands viz. Beginning at the point where Cornelius Lafferty's branch intersects S.W. part of Shawanoetown thence up said branch to C. L's thence a straight line to Joshua (Seaton or Sextons ?) old place, thence to mouth of Cypress Creek, thence up Saline Creek to North Fork thence up its N.F. to include Joseph Owen's establishment, thence to Michael Robinson’s­, thence to include Stephen Boutwell, thence to include Jepthah Hardin, thence to beginning, including the hands at Owen furnaces on North Fork.

54

 

Joseph Boon adm. of estate of Charles Lessenb?re deceased, returned to court an inventory and appraisal of above estate and filed same in clerks office.

Alexander Hamilton adm. of estate of Martin Whitford deceased, returned an inventory and account of sales of decedents estate to be recorded.

Mary Blackford adm'x of estate of Nathaniel Blackford deceased, returned an inventory and appraisement of said estate to be filed and recorded.

The court approved new road, from where Edwards Courthouse road intersects the line dividing Gallatin and Edwards County, to be cut out 15 ft in width. James Mereday is appointed supervisor from Edwards line to Thomas Randolph's and to Daniel Brown's. Bounds for hands as follows; From Brown's to Fox River ?Mines? to include the settlement on Crooked Creek. Jonathan Stewart be supervisor from said Brown's to said Randolph's on Big Prairie, bounds begin at Wabash, thence to include Aaron Williams, thence to Little Wabash including the widow Council. On the next part of the road beginning at James Gaston Sr. thence to Shawanoetown, as marked by the reviewers to intersect Bucks road. Brice Hannah is hereby appointed supervisor of this road from James Gaston Sr. to upper edge of Nettle Bottom and William McCoy supervisors from here to Shawanoetown.

Archibald Roberts adm'r of estate of John Jackson returned appraisal and inventory to be filed and recorded.

John S. Pet?rillo was appointed constable of Big Creek Twp. and John Trous­dale was appointed constable of Granpier with James Trousdale as security. Chattin Scroggin was appointed for Rock & Cave Twp.

Elizabeth Greer adm’x of estate of John Greer resigned in favor of Nancy Greer.

On motion of William T. Codd it is ordered that Joseph Boone, Royall Potter and Ezekiel Hide review a road from Codd’s ferry on Big Wabash to the United States Saline Tavern and report to this court at February term.

 

A number of citizens having procured 2 lots (#1113 & 1114) for a public square for erecting a courthouse in Shawanoetown have given bond of $5,000 to Judges of this court for erecting a courthouse and other public buildings. An order that the courthouse be built upon these lots, belonging to Gallatin County and appointed Thomas Sloo, John Caldwell and Joseph M. Street as commissioners to let contract to lowest bidder to construct as to plan.

 

Nathan Clampet, Daniel Vineyard, Benjamin Walden and Edmund Baker were named as supervisors on road from McFarlane Ferry to Willis Hargrave salt works. Hands within 3 miles of either side of road to work on same.

Asa Ledbetter named guardian of Polly Montgomery with Chattin & John Scroggin as security for $700. Polly was an infant.

George Codd admtr of estate of his brother William T. Codd, security of $8,000 by James Ratcliff & Harrison Wilson.

 

May 5, 1815, Leonard White admtr of estate of Caleb Baldwin deceased, Moses Garrett and John Murphy given as security. On the same day came Nathaniel Blackford and applied for letter of adm. on estate of Nathaniel Young deceased., with Alexander Hamilton and Jonathan Stewart as his security.

 

Nov. 30, 1815 Daniel McHenry named adm. of estate of Thomas Chambers. Archibald Roberts and John Gillison named as security.

 

Jan. 2, 1816 Patience Anderson named adm'x. on estate of Elijah Anderson deceased.

Jesse Watkins and Samuel Hill named as security.

 

Jan. 17, 1816 Joseph M. Street named adm. of estate of William Speed deceased. Michael

Jones and Jepthah Hardin signed as security.

 

Ordered that John Groves, Elias Baldwin and Brice Hanna or 2 of them review a road from the crossing below Boone's Mill on Little Wabash the nearest and best way to intersect road leading from Gaston's to Shawnee.

 

 

 

 

55

Jan. 1816 Amy Thompson adm’x. of Daniel Thompson deceased.

Betsy Rose appointed guardian to Polly, Henry and Pleasant Rose infant children, under age of 14, of Edmund Rose deceased. Bond by Elbert Rose.

      Francis Adams Ritchie and Willie Simpson Ritchie came into court, and made voluntary choice of Lewis Kuykendall as their guardian. Bond by John Lane.

Mar 26, 1816 John Marshall named adm. of estate of Abner Frazer deceased.

 

Ordered that John Reed be appointed guardian to David Roarch & Akers Ellison, under age of 14, for purpose of binding them out to John Murphy.

May 13, 1816 Thomas Wilson named adm. of estate of Charles Sparks deceased. 8‑19‑1816 Court opened by Judges Leonard White and John Marshall.

May 22, 1816 Jeremiah Vinson obtained letter of adm. on estate of Arthur Vinson.

 

William McFarlane, adm. of estate of Marvell McFarlane deceased, William Scott, atty. Upon the petition of divers inhabitants of this county setting forth that they labor under great inconvenience for want of a road or highway, to lead from Shawanoetown, by Davis ferry on the Saline Creek, to the county line between this county and Pope, where the road from Pope courthouse intersects said line near Nathan Clampets. Court names Joseph Pate, Abram Hawkins and Robert Kisterson view proposed road and decide if such road is needed and if so to mark out same having respect for best ground & nearest distance for same. They shall report their proceedings at next court.

 

Apr 27, 1816 Received report of viewers appointed at last court on road

starting at Saline tavern and passing Owen's mud cistern, crossing the N. Fork near the mouth of the White Oak Branch (near future Elba) Thence across the N.E. Fork (Cane Creek) at or near the mouth of the Village Branch to the county line. Richard Maulding and Elias Chaffin viewers. (Comment: The mud cistern above was storage for salt water pumped more than a mile through wood pipes. Straight logs 16 to 20 ft. long and at least 10 inches thick on small end were selected, a hole 4 inches in diameter was bored, through length of log. To prevent splitting, a metal band was placed around large end of log, then hole was enlarged to receive small end which had been sharpened. N. Glover, of Equality, told me that he had seen an early pump which he described as made almost completely of wood and leather. After the timber near the salt water source was used as fuel, the water was more easily moved than the large amount of wood required to evaporate the salt water in the salt kettles. I have one of these old cast iron kettles, which I found on the farm, left there by the earlier owners, the Kanady family about 1900. They were earlier used as livestock water troughs after the decline of the salt industry in this area. At first, hollow or cupped out logs served for this. I have heard of two other salt works alone the

Old Shawneetown ‑ Equality road. It was on or near old Route 13 built in early

1920's. One of the works was on small branch at early road Junction, now the home of John and Lena (Hemphill) Carter, the other a short distance to the West on the Beatty farm.)

 

July 22, 1816, Nancy Morris the widow rec'd adm’x. papers on estate of James Morris deceased, bond $500, with Arvine Wilson & William Morris as security.

 

Aug. 19, 1816, Leonard White and wife, Julian White produced a deed conveying land to Elisha Boyd of Berkley County Va. this land being 1/4 interest in a tract conveyed to her father James Graham by John B. & William Craigheel and their wives. Said tract was located in Berkley co. Va. Acknowledgement of this deed by Julian White before Benjamin Talbott and John Craw, JP's of Gallatin County Ill.

 

Aug. 2, 1815 William McCoy rec'd letter of adm. on estate of Samuel Duvall deceased. Sec. by William Duvall and John Duvall.

 

Aug. 20, 1816 Court met and granted letters of administration to following.

John Marshall, adm. of estate of Charles Sparks deceased. Elizabeth Crenshaw and Abraham Crenshaw on estate of William Crenshaw deceased. Last will of Thomas E. Craig admitted, James Weir & James Craig adm'rs, Bond $10,000. with Samuel Campbell and John McLean as security and David Apperson, William C. Vaught, Henry Oldham and Parmenus Redman as appraisers of estate.

56

 

Aug. 20, 1816 Jacob Barger and Marmaduke S. Davenport appointed by Gallatin Co. court as overseers of poor in Shawanoetown Township.

      Ordered that Joseph M. Street, Ephraim Hubbard and Samuel Hayes be commissioners and any two of them to act, to contract for building a new jail, on plan of the old one, or to contract for purchase of and removal of old jail to the public square. They shall report to the next court.

Oct. 16, 1816 came Richard Champney and was named administrator of est. of Thomas Champney deceased. John Marshall administrator of estate of Abner Frazer deceased.

Mary Johnson formerly Mary Gatlin earlier named adm’x. of Benjamin Kuykendall.

Nov.20‑1816 Received request for road from U.S. Saline to county line in beat direction towards St Louis Mo. appointed Nicholas Copeland, Wm. Brown & James Ross to view. On request for road from U.S.8aline to Boon's Mill, appointed to view same were Brice Hannah, Thomas Dorris & Joseph Clark. Court ordered that Joseph Boone, James Barnhill and Merritt Taylor lay out road from Nathaniel Lacy's to Boons Mill nearest & best way and report to next court.

      Ordered that hand a within following bounds work on road from Shawanoetown to Hazel Moreland's upon the ridge. From Dr. Henry Oldham's corner, thence to include Boston Daimwood, thence to Hazel Moreland's, thence across the road to include John Frazer, thence to mouth of Saline River, thence to beginning.

      Ordered that a courthouse be built for Gallatin County in Shawneetown that it be built of brick and two stories high. David Apperson, John Marshall and Samuel Hayes shall make out plan and let contract to lowest bidder and to complete in shortest time that they deem practicable.

      Pay Thomas M. Dorris $30 for use of his house as courthouse including this court term.

      Ordered that road from Joseph Owens at U.S. Saline to Boon's mill be cut out 16 ft. wide, and intersect Shawanoetown to Boon's mill road. Stephen Boutwell shall be supervisor from Saline to John McLaughlin's and Joseph Clark from McLaughlin's to Brice Hannah's. Court also ordered that James Burnett be supervisor on McFarland's road from Peter Etters to Willis Hargrave’s.

      Also ordered that a public road be laid out from Warner Buck's ferry to intersect the road from Boon's Mill to Shawneetown at the Thos. M. Dorris plantation where Brice Hannah now lives. (SW 1/4 Sec.19 Lower N.H. twp. At this time clerk began spelling name as 8hawneetown) Hannah, James Clift and Warner Buck appointed as supervisor to lay out road on best and shortest way.

      Received petition for road from Island Ripple to intersect the Shawnee to U.S. Saline road as laid out by congress.

      Feb. 14, 1817 a special court held at the house of Adolphus F. Hubbard in Shawneetown, present Stephen Hogg and Marmaduke S. Davenport. Property tax rate set as follows: Each horse or mule $.50, each bond servant or slave $1, on each able bodied single man over 21 yrs not possessing $200 of taxable property $1, Wilson's ferry across Ohio River $10, Barker's ferry over same $5, Buck's ferry on Big Wabash $5, Boon's ferry on Little Wabash $5, All ferries across the Saline Creek $5.00. Rates were set with little change, except that man & horse became $.375; person, horse or mule $.185, on Ohio ferries. Rates on Wabash slightly less and others about 1/2 of first, wagon & team $.50: man and horse $.125: person, horse, mare, mule or cow $.065.

      Apr.14, 1817 Reuben Bellah rec'd letter of administration on estate of Samuel Curnick deceased. Bond set at $200 with Thomas C. Gaston and Robert R. Gaston as sec.

      May 16, 1817 Last will of James Barnhill deceased, witnesses Brice Hannah and Joseph Riley etc.

      Roger Glass, executor of last will of Jacob Self, deceased.

      Approved license to Squire Brown, fee $10 to sell at retail spirits and liquors, at his stand in Shawneetown. Security was John G. Wilson.

      Appointed William Duvall supervisor on road from Shawneetown to Buck's ferry.

      Appointed Simon M. Hubbard as guardian of Alexander Taylor an infant under 14 yrs. He to bind said infant out till age 21 so that he may receive an education and learn some trade or profession.

 

 

 

 

 

57

 

      Nov.23, 1818 Court consisting of John Marshall, John G. Daimwood and Andrew Wilkins allowed Thomas Barlow 64, on has having produced legal evidence that he had killed two grown wolves after act passed in 1816.

      Upon payment or $1. to clerk and {4. to county licenses to keep taverns were issued to John Black, for 1 year at his stand, Isaac Baldin at his house in county also, Neil Thompson also in county, Joseph Riddles county.

      John Cowan, Shubael Fuller, Simon S. Cade and Henry Nichols were granted licenses for taverns in their houses in Shawneetown as was John Forrester .

      On petition of inhabitants; Ordered that Isaac Baldin, John Black, Neil Thompson and Alexander McElroy, or any three of them, mark and lay out a road, the nearest and best way from Flinn's Ferry on the Ohio to the U.S. Saline and tavern. They shall report to next court.

 

      Received report of viewers on road from Shawanoetown to meet the road from Golconda at line dividing this and Pope counties. Appointed McElroy supervisor from 1/2 mi. of home to Pott's ferry on Saline Creek and John Scroggins from county line to McElroy's jurisdiction. At the ferry road shall connect with old route to Shawanoetown. New road to be cut out 15 ft.

 

      Received report of viewers of road from Frazer's ferry on Ohio to Shawanoetown; beginning at ferry thence as marked to Doctor McElroy's, intersecting at his house, the road from Golconda to Shawanoetown and then following it.

      Nov. 24, 1818 appointed, John Caldwell, Marmaduke S. Davenport, Oliver C. Vanlandingham, Michael Jones, Robert Peeples and Moses M. Rawlings as commissioners, and for 3 of them to form a board to have the present jail house that county has bought of Jones and Smith, removed to Lots # 1113 & 1114 in Shawanoetown. These lots purchased by county for county use. The jail had been built on land purchased at sale of public lands, by William Jones and Charles Smith of Vincennes Ind.

 

      John Forester presented claim against county for services rendered, during absence of coroner, for summoning a jury and attending them whilst examining the body of John Davis who was murdered in county. Was paid $4.

      Joseph M. Street was paid $60 for 2 years salary, and $40 for making two copies of commissioners record books, for each of years 1816 and 1817.

 

      From Aug. 15, 1815 to Jan. 6, 1819 taxes on retail stores were as follows.

 

Weir & Campbell  $45;   John Marshall   $45;   David Apperson          $45;

Weir & Craig then Weir & Vanlandingham  $45;   Samuel $ J. Hayes       $45

Saline Store   $45;   J. Waggoner      $15;   W. C. Vaught & Co       $15

Owen Reiley      30;   R. Peeples        15;   Peeples & Kirkpatrick   $15

T. M. Dorris    15;   Ashby & Vaught    15;   W. R. Bowen & Co.        15

Frazer          15;   E. Rutter         15;   Reynolds & Child         15

Smith           15;   S. Brown          15;   J. Cowan                 15

William Caldwell 15;   J.D. Timmona      15;   C. Meaks $15;   Sloo     15

 

      Apr. 19, 1819 The last official act of the old court of common pleas at Shawanoetown, was to lay off the county into five townships or election districts, as follows, Viz. Beginning with the Rock and Cave, on the Ohio, thence with the Pope County line to corner of Townships 10 & 11 Range 7 & 8 East, thence a straight line to the mouth of Cypress on Saline Creek, thence down Saline to its mouth, thence down Ohio River to beginning. This to constitute one township, to be called Rock and Cave, with the following judges of election; John Black, Alexander McElroy and Asa Ledbetter.

 

      Beginning at mouth of Cypress, thence up same to head thereof, thence a straight line to Buck's ferry on the Big Wabash, thence down same including ferry house to mouth thereof, thence down Ohio to mouth of Saline creek and up same to beginning. This township to be called Shawanoe and Samuel Hayes, Cornelius Lafferty and Andrew Slack are hereby appointed election Judges.

 

      Beginning at mouth of Cypress Creek on Saline Creek thence up Cypress with line of Shawanoe to Buck's ferry, thence up Big Wabash to mouth of

58

Little Wabash, thence up same to Robinson's Mill (late Boon's Mill), thence a due West course with White County line to North Fork of Saline, thence down same to mouth thereof, thence down Main Saline to beginning, This to form the third township, which shall be called Cane Creek. Judges of election of Cane Creek shall be John Groves, Joseph Riley and ? Stout.

 

      Beginning at mouth of north fork of the Saline, thence up same to White County line, thence West on this line to Franklin County line, thence South with the same to the line dividing Townships 8 & 9, thence East with said line to the Middle Fork of the Saline, thence down it to Saline thence to beginning. This the fourth township shall be called Saline. William Burnett Eli Adams and Coleman Brown are named election Judges.

 

      Beginning at the mouth of Cypress, thence up main Saline to mouth of the middle fork, thence up same with the Saline twp. line to the Franklin Co. line, thence South with same to the Pope County line thence East with Pope line to the SE corner of  Townships #10 & 11 Ranges #7 & 8, thence North Eastwardly with Rock & Cave Twp. line to beginning. This shall be the 5th township and called Monroe. Hankerson Rude, Hugh Robinson and Chism Estes are appointed as election judges.

 

      In accordance with an act, passed by the state legislature, setting up the

commissioner form of government for counties, an election was held on Apr. 26, 1819.

County court clerk Street with Jacob Sexton and Cornelius Lafferty, justices of the

peace, (within 15 days of election) on May 8, 1819 opened returns and found 2

townships had improperly sworn the election officials, but John Lane, John Forester

and Robert Peeples had received the most votes and were declared elected. They took

over the government from common pleas court, composed of Jacob Sexton, William McCoy

and Samuel Hayes.

 

On petition they ordered that road from Shawanoetown to the U.S. Saline Tavern,

crossing the north fork of the Saline, be discontinued. It is also ordered that the

U.S. road from Westernmost end of Main X st. in Sh‑town be declared a public road so

soon as the U.S. road is completed. It is further ordered that the part of said road

from Ohio River to East end of public square be cut out 40 ft. wide and thence to

West end of town 33 ft. wide. Moses M. Rawlings to be sup. on east 1/2 of this road,

beginning at east end of Cross St. and running by Col. Charles Campbell’s tavern

corner, thence to N.W. corner of town, thence Easterly on line of Sh'n to Ohio at

mouth of bayou, thence to beginning for hands.

 

Christopher Robertson is appointed supervisor on West part, with hands as follows to work same. Beginning at Jepthah Hardin’s incl. him, thence to include hands at Carter's place, thence to Jacob Sexton's incl. Medlock & Sexton's, thence to Cypress including hands not within bounds of William McCoy thence to include hands on Robertson's own place, thence to C. Lafferty's and thence to Shawneetown out line.

 

Appointed, Michael Bartlett supervisor on Sh‑ Island Ripple road from Col. Campbell's tavern to Goodnight's field on top of big hill. His hands shall come from area beginning at Ohio River thence center of st. passing above tavern corner, thence with center of st. along Rawling's bounds to West side of town, thence to Goodnight field including him and VanMeter, thence to Davis, thence incl. Frazer, thence incl. Samuel S. White, thence to Ohio River including Joseph Logsdon's place thence back to Capt. Rawlings line and beginning.

 

Appointed Meredith Fisher as supervisor on Island Ripple Road from top of Goodnight's Hill to the Ripple. Hands to come from area as follows; Beg. at said hill thence with line of Robertson bounds & including him, thence to Cypress at the crossing of United States Road, thence down Cypress to Saline Creek to Thomas Barlow's  incl. him, thence to Isaac Hogan, thence to incl. George Shull, thence to Bartlett's company line at Frazers, thence with said line to beg. Joseph Riley was appointed supervisor on road from Joseph Owens establish­ment (by Stephen Boutwell's on old indian trace) to its intersection with the Sh‑Robinson Mills road at Brice Hannah's. Bounds included James Dillard and Alfred Wood and extended to North Fork.

 

59

 

Frederick Buck was appointed supervisor on Buck's Ferry Road from upper line of Sh‑town to Bucks Ferry at the Wabash and that the hand a within the following bounds are assigned to work with him on said road, viz; begin at the intersection of said road with upper line of Shawanoetown, thence with McCoy's line including the hands at Warner Bucks, Alvin's Old Place and Buck's ferry, thence down Ohio and Wabash to beginning. (Where old place was designated it usually meant the earlier owner had moved on or had died. This road is probably the present day road between Round Pond and the hill and adjoins Buck Cemetery and Round Pond one time school). Adjourned.

 

      June 9, 1819: Established rates which tavern and ferries are allowed to charge. Rates of Rusk's Ferry, to remain the same as they were set for John Rheburn when he operated it, see page 47 of record book.

 

      June 10, 1819: Viewers of road, recommended from Flinn's Ferry to Saline Tavern, report as follows. Beginning at Flinn's ferry on the Ohio, thence up said river to the upper end of Flinn's field, thence along the old road to Hugh McConnell's, passing through his field to his stable there to intersect with the former road, thence by said road to John Brown's field, passing through the middle of said field following the former road to the Nancy Herrod plantation and through said farms with the line of division fence, thence with the marks made to Harris Creek, crossing it and thence along its bank until it intersects with the former bed of the road, thence with the present road to Isaiah L. Potts, Joseph McCool's & Neil Thompson’s and through his upper field with the former bed of the road to John Blacks, thence to Eagle Creek, thence to Stoveall's field and through the same with the ridge in a straight line ­until it intersects with the former road, thence with same to Trammell's field and through it on bed of former road, thence as marked until it intersects with the Saline road below Taylor's Mill ?, thence with said road to Tavern at Saline. Total distance 25 miles. by Isaac Baldwin, John Black, Neil Thompson and Alexander McElroy. Ordered this road be opened 20 ft. wide except that it shall go around fields on which crops are growing until said crops are taken off. Hugh McConnell be supervisor on this road from ferry landing to Powell's cabins, with these bounds for hands. Beginning at Flinn Landing, thence up Ohio to mouth off Saline Creek, thence up it to mouth of Little Saline Creek, thence on straight line to Powell's Cabins, thence due West 1 mile, thence running parallel with road to point 1 mile below ferry, thence up Ohio to beginning. (This was first road through cleared fields, more proof of settlement).

 

      Ordered that Dudley Williams be Supervisor on road from Island Ripple to the ferry landing on Saline Creek near the tavern. Hands to work same as follows: Beginning with Watson's company line at Taylor's well including the hands there, thence with said line to Taylor's establishment including it, thence to include Allsop's establishment, thence to strike the North Fork of the Saline 1 1/2 miles above its mouth, thence to include McCatting?, thence to Owen's cistern reel, thence to the Saline Creek at Ratcliff's line of pipes, thence to Funkhouser's cistern reel thence to beginning.

 

      Many supervisors were appointed and many new roads were viewed and laid out during this period. Space will permit mention of only a few.

 

      Timothy Guard, appointed supervisor of Carmi road from middle of the North Fork of Saline to Ensminger's tavern. The following bounds for hands to work with him on said road: beginning at the crossing of the creek thence down same to its mouth to McCartling's, thence to Owen's hoisting cistern, thence to where Ratcliff's pipes cross the creek, thence up creek opposite Ratcliff's establishment, thence to Benjamin Brockett's, thence to Robinson's establishment including it, thence to include Richard Foley's, thence to beginning.

 

      George Robinson, Emanuel Ensminger, John Choiser, William Gasaway and Eli Adams appointed as viewers, on United States road to Kaskaskia, as far as county line. Requested to report nature of land on which it runs and its fitness as a public road (after U.S. contractors have left it).

 

 

 

60

 

Sept.7, 1817, John B. Gwathmey deceased, Ephraim Hubbard adm. sec. Joseph Hayes

?‑?‑1818, John Martin deceased, Jacob Barger adm., Samuel & Joseph Hayes as security.

Jan. 14, 1819, Thornton Talley deceased, Polly Talley appointed adm. with Stephen and James Fields as security.

 

June 7, 1819, Nancy Herrod adm. of estate of John Herrod deceased, security by Alexander McElroy and William Ellis.

 

Oct. 12, 1819, Alexander McCluer took out letters of adm. on estate of Humphries Leech deceased., John Marshall and Samuel Clark signed his bond as security.

11‑18‑1819, Polly Robertson and John Browne took out adm. on est. of Christopher Robertson (also called Robinson) with C. Lafrerty & William Ellis as security.

 

      Mar. 8, 1820, Appointed Elihu Gaston, Brice Hannah, William P. Robinson and Stephen Purkins to view and mark out a road, the nearest and best way, from the Sycamore Hollow to where the present road from Shawanoetown to 7 mile prairie, crosses line, between this and White County. The same four should also mark out a road, the nearest and best way from Hollow to New Haven and make their report to the next court.

 

      Elisa Chaffin by his att'y Henry Eddy, moved to establish a ferry across North Fork of Saline Creek, leading from Saline to Carmi. It appearing that he is the proprietor of land on both sides of creek, he is hereby licensed to keep a public ferry on his land, it being the NW 1/4 of Sec. 15, T8, R8.

 

      On move by James Frazer by his att'y William L. D. Ewing, for establishment of a ferry at Mt. Cairo on Ohio River, fractional section 17, T12, R10, and it appearing to court that he is proprietor of land on this side of river, he is hereby licensed to keep a public ferry at said site.

 

      On motion of Hezekiah Conn by attorney Ewing, for permission to keep a ferry on place known as fractional Sections 27 & 28, T9S, R10E, it appears that he meets qualifications, and is hereby licensed to keep ferry on Ohio River at said site.

 

      Ordered that road from Saline Tavern towards Kaskaskia, laid out by Congress of U.S. be and is hereby established as a County road or public highway. John Berry, appointed and he is supervisor on this road from said tavern from point opposite Thomas Smiths to Jesse Browns, William Crawford from said Browns to Bethels Branch and John Hall from Branch to Franklin County line. Hands within 3 miles of each side of road to work with them.

 

      Alexander H. Kane, Nathan Olney and Moses Carr paid $8, $5 and $8 respectively, for tavern licenses in 1820. Appointed, Isaiah L. Potts supervisor on Flinn's Road, from Nighswonger's, or point of road nearest his house, to Powell’s cabins. Bounds for hands; Begin at mouth of Cane Run, thence up Ohio to mouth of Saline Creek, thence up Saline to McCool's Ripple, thence a straight line to Nighswonger's including him, thence along Ramsey’s Old road to its intersection with Frazer's road thence to Powell's cabins, thence to beginning.

 

June 7‑1820, Licensed, Emanuel Ensminger to keep tavern at his house at the Saline $10. Appointed Alexander Cox sup. on road laid out by U.S. from Shawanoe Town by Owens Old Works to the Saline tavern, from center of bridge over Little Cypress, to the tavern. Hands assigned to work with him are within these bounds; begin at bridge, thence with Nathaniel Cox's bounds a straight line to Old man Hood, not to include his place, thence to include hands at N. W. Fisher's, thence to include hands at Fisher & Talbott's Salt Works, thence up Saline Creek to Ensminger's Ferry, thence with the old road to Saline Tavern including all hands East of old road except those at tavern, thence to include all hands at Joseph Owen's salt works thence straight to beginning.

 

      Appointed Hazle Moreland Jr. sup. on road from corner of Goodnight's field to the Island Ripple. Hands from area; beginning at SW corner of Goodnight's field, thence to foot of hill above Lafferty's thence with foot of ridge to SW corner of Mrs. Polly Robertson's fence, thence with Cox's line to Old man Hood

 

61

not including him, thence to M. W. Fishers not including him, thence to mouth of Cypress Creek so as to include the hands at Island Ripple, thence down the Saline to mouth of Eagle Creek, thence to include Thomas Barlow, Isaac Hogan and George Schull, thence John Frazer and ? Davis not incl. them, thence to beginning.

 

On Dec‑30‑1819 letters of adm. had been granted to Peter Baker on estate of John Jones deceased, Samuel Clark & Isaac Hogan were securities. On 3‑20‑1820 Letters of adm. to Judith Staton on estate of James Staton deceased, sec. by Peter Staton and James M. Pettigrove {or Pettigrew). On 4‑28‑1820 Letters of adm. were granted to Robert Peeples on est. of Edmund Waters deceased, Jonathan Stout and John Seabolt signed as security.

 

From June term 1819 to March term of 1820 the following tavern licenses were issued, Hankerson Rude, Charles Hill, Abram T. McCool, Isaac Albin, Brice Hannah, Clark & Hagerman, A. K. Kane, Ralph Hall, James W. Sinclair, Robert D. McLean, Emanuel Ensminger, C. Robson, Robert M. Tarlton, Ben Walden, John Cowan, Nathan Olney, one ?, and Shubael Fuller.

 

Among other business was this, Polly Robertson and Nancy Herod adm'x. of estates, each had to sell 1/4 section of land in settling estates and Christopher Wright, whose estate had been handled by Abram McCool, returned after being long declared dead. Explanation of error accepted as reasonable.

      This shortened account of our county's early records covers 105 of the 130 pages. Most of the rest were devoted to legal matters and court cases. Except for a few names with which I was familiar, spelling has not been changed. I skipped most of the routine items of expense and entries in trying to show the change in the wilderness that was Gallatin County, during the first eight years of her existence. In the beginning paths or trails were wide enough for horse and rider and a packhorse or two. I have read of men in this area earning their livelihood, by moving corn and meal to and from distant mills as well as salt in this manner, but as new settlers arrived and others sought markets for their surplus, wagon or carriage roads were needed. At first, when so much hard, hand labor with shovels and axes was required, they followed the best naturally drained land with their roads, unless distance was excessive. When necessary to cross miry or poorly drained areas, poles were laid side by side across the road, forming a solid if rough road called a crosslay. I can remember some of these, especially over Cypress, near present Ridgway ‑ Shawneetown black top. At that time they were made from the waste, first bark cut from logs and called sawmill slabs.

 

      My next road records concern the act, under which 1/4 of the proceeds from the 30,000 acre Saline reserve, were set aside for improvement of navigation on Saline

River. This bill passed on 2‑14‑1827, was changed a bit later, to permit the county commissioners to use their discretion and judgment as to the best use for these funds, except for the following. The state directed that $800 be used for the improvement of the road leading from Equality, to Carlyle in Clinton County, by way of the Maple Swamp Road. This money to be expended under direction of John Lockhart and John Chosier, and who are hereby appointed commissioners for that purpose: $50 to Daniel Wilbanks of Jefferson County as additional pay for building a bridge across Eagle Creek in Gallatin County: $300 to improve the two roads from their fork leading from Equality to Frankfort: $500 on road leading from Shawneetown to Equality: $200 on road leading from Shawneetown, across Cypress, to McLeansboro: $200 on road leading from Equality to the settlement commonly called South America: $150 on road from Equality to Jonesboro: $75 to be expended under direction of county commissioners of Union County: $200 on road from Shawneetown to McLeansboro, half of which is to be expended on the Nettle Bottom and half on the low grounds lying on Southeast side of the Cotton Branch: $100 on road from Equality to Golconda, half of which is to be under control of

 

 

Continued in part 3