Search billions of records on

REV. MARTIN C. HAMLIN - 5 August 1991

Rev. Martin Carl Hamlin, 97, of 414 Early Street, Storm Lake, died Monday, August 5, 1991 at the Methodist Manor in Storm Lake, following a brief illness. Funeral services will be held Thursday, August 8th at 1:00 p.m. at the First Baptist Church, Storm Lake, Reverends Robert Stanford, Frank P. Pedersen, and Herbert Johnson will officiate. Burial will be in the Hayes Township Cemetery in rural Ida County. Friends may call after 9 a.m. Wednesday at the Hughes-Nelson Funeral Home where family will be present to greet friends from 6 to 8 p.m.

Rev. Hamlin was a retired Baptist minister who began his career in the summer of 1917 in Rutland, North Dakota as a student pastor. He was born on November 22, 1893 in McKeesport, Pennsylvania, the son of Charles and Mary Forsberg Hamlin. He was a graduate of the St. Paul Academy and Bethel Seminary in St.Paul, Minnesota. He was married to Mabel A. Johnson on June 21, 1922, at Arthur, Iowa. She died August 10, 1989. Rev. Hamlin served as pastor of congregations in Minnesota, South Dakota, Kansas, Michigan, Illinois, Pennsylvania, California, Washington, and Iowa, including the Elk Baptist Church in rural Buena Vista County and as an interim pastor of First Baptist Church of Storm Lake from 1978-1979. He enjoyed reading and music and liked listening to and watching the Pittsburgh Pirates baseball team.

His family includes a daughter Mary, and her, husband, Art Bogren, Storm Lake, a son Charles, and his wife, Karen, of Louisville, Colorado, six grandchildren and seven great grandchildren, a sister-in-law, Evelyn Johnson, of Kiron, and brother-in-law, Henry Johnson of Pawleys Island, South Carolina. He was preceded in death by his parents, his wife, a daughter, Gloria Mae, a son, Wendell, and seven brothers and one sister.

Honorary pallbearers will be George C. Carlson, Randall Johnson, Frank Adams, Russell Jensen, Joe Howard, Samuelson, and Forrest Johnson. Active pallbearers will be Bert St. Andrew, John Finstrom, Everett Levan, Duane Johnson, Meryl Punke, and Leroy Kendall. Mrs. George Carlson will serve on the flower committee.