Search billions of records on Ancestry.com

Descendants of ANTON ROCKEFELLER

Generation No. 1

1.  ANTON1 ROCKEFELLER was born ABT  1660 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).

Notes for ANTON ROCKEFELLER:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Anton lived in Elschied, Germany. Anton was the great-great-great-great-great grandfather of nelson Rockefeller, the Gov. of NY and Vice President of the United States.

 Child of ANTON ROCKEFELLER is:

2.                i.       DIELL2 ROCKEFELLER, b. 1695, Germany; d. 1769, Germantown Colombia County NY.

Generation No. 2

2.  DIELL2 ROCKEFELLER (ANTON1) was born 1695 in Germany (Source: (1) Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146., (2) "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.), and died 1769 in Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: (1) Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146., (2) "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).  He married ANNA GERTRUDE ALSDORF.

    Children of DIELL ROCKEFELLER and ANNA ALSDORF are:

                   i.       CHRISTIAN3 ROCKEFELLER, b. Germany (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                  ii.       ELIZABETH ROCKEFELLER.

                 iii.       PETER ROCKEFELLER, b. Germany (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

3.              iv.       SIMON ROCKEFELLER, b. ABT  1730, Germany; d. 1795, Germantown Colombia County NY.

                  v.       GERTRUDE ROCKEFELLER, b. October 20, 1735, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                 vi.       MARIA ROCKEFELLER, b. October 20, 1735, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                vii.       WILLIAM ROCKEFELLER, b. October 6, 1737, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

               viii.       DIEL ROCKEFELLER, b. August 27, 1739, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                  ix.       EVA ROCKEFELLER, b. October 16, 1741, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                   x.       MARGARETH ( GRETHE) ROCKEFELLER, b. December 2, 1743, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                  xi.       PHILIP ROCKEFELLER, b. May 27, 1746, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

 Generation No. 3

3.  SIMON3 ROCKEFELLER (DIELL2, ANTON1) (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.) was born ABT  1730 in Germany (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.), and died 1795 in Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  He married (1) EVA BLASS.  He married (2) ANNA BAEHR October 6, 1763 (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

        Children of SIMON ROCKEFELLER and EVA BLASS are:

                   i.       CATHERINE4 ROCKEFELLER, b. April 21, 1775, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                  ii.       SIMON ROCKEFELLER, b. May 17, 1777, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                 iii.       PHILIP S ROCKEFELLER, b. April 23, 1780, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                 iv.       ELSEIN ROCKEFELLER, b. May 12, 1782, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                  v.       ZYLLIA ROCKEFELLERT, b. March 20, 1784, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

       Children of SIMON ROCKEFELLER and ANNA BAEHR are:

4.              vi.       CHRISTINA4 ROCKEFELLER, b. October 27, 1754, Germantown Colombia County NY.

                vii.       DIEHL ROCKEFELLER, b. April 1, 1759, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

               viii.       LENA ROCKEFELLER, b. October 4, 1761, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                  ix.       ANNA ROCKEFELLER, b. November 20, 1763, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

5.                x.       GERTIEN (GERTRUDE) ROCKEFELLER, b. January 15, 1766, Germantown, Colombia County, NY; d. January 27, 1838, Benton, Yates County NY  - Buried Crank Cemetery, Benton, NY.

                  xi.       GRETZEN ROCKEFELLER, b. May 14, 1769, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                 xii.       ELIZABETH ROCKEFELLER, b. January 1, 1772, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

                xiii.       MARIE ROCKEFELLER, b. November 28, 1756, Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).

Generation No. 4

4.  CHRISTINA4 ROCKEFELLER (SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born October 27, 1754 in Germantown Colombia County NY (Source: "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.).  She married WILLIAM ROCKEFELLER, son of JOHANN ROCKEFELLER and MARY BELLIS.

Notes for WILLIAM ROCKEFELLER:

Great grandfather of John D. Rockefeller

Children of CHRISTINA ROCKEFELLER and WILLIAM ROCKEFELLER are:

6.                i.       GODFREY5 ROCKEFELLER, b. 1783; d. 1857.

                  ii.       HANNAH ROCKEFELLER, b. August 5, 1780, East Tagkanic, NY, NY; d. February 4, 1865, West Taghkanic, NY; m. HENRY AVERY, May 20, 1795, East Tagkanic, NY.

Notes for HENRY AVERY:

Reference: "The Groton Avery Clan", By Elroy McKendree Avery Catherine Hitchcock *Tidden) Avery, Vol I; Cleveland, 1912

He was the Supervisor of Taghkanic, and held the office for 14 years.

He was Justice of the peace for 28 years.

5.  GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER (SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born January 15, 1766 in Germantown, Colombia County, NY (Source: (1) Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146., (2) "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.), and died January 27, 1838 in Benton, Yates County NY  - Buried Crank Cemetery, Benton, NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  She married ANDREW RICHTER April 8, 1781 in Germantown, Colombia County, NY (Source: (1) Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146., (2) "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.), son of JOHAN RICHTER and MARGARETHA KOHL.

 Notes for GERTIEN (GERTRUDE) ROCKEFELLER:

Known as Charity - Apparantly changed her name to Charity when her husband changed Andreas to Andrew and Richter to Rector when they moved from Germantown west to mid-state NY.

Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Buried Crank Cemetery Benton, Yates County NY

According to Reformed church records in West Copake, Columbia, NY, related to the Christening of her children, name is Gertje Rockenfeller or Gertruv or Gertraut Rakkenfeller. Her sister Christina married a cousin, William Rockeller.

Notes for ANDREW RICHTER:

History and Directory of Yates County, New York, Vol 1

By Stafford C. Cleveland

Penn Yan, NY

Published by S. C. Cleveland

Chronicle Office

1873

Page 324

THE WEST WOODS.

    In one of a series of articles contributed in 1869, to the Yates County Chronicle, concerning the " Yates County Gazetteer," Edward J. Fowle, wrote as follows:

 " After the earlier settlers of Benton, about 1816, there came a colony from Livingston's Manor, Columbia county, who located in the west part of the town, which for many years was designated as the West or Dutch Woods. They were an honest, frugal and industrious people. The 'Old Folks' are nearly all departed, as are most of the log houses they built.  Many of the descendants reside there, possessing the virtues of the parents. They are well-to-do farmers, and good livers. Among them will be found the family names of Crank, Rector, Finger, Wheeler, Simmons, Carrol, Hoos, Moon, Miller and Niver. In the young days of the old people, the winters afforded good times for visiting and social enjoyments. Every week, if not oftener at the log residence of some one of them, the families would all congregate, coming in sleighs or sleds, when there would be music and dancing, story telling, refreshments and smoking, while the huge logs blazed away in the good large fire-places ; and so the evening or night passed away. There was usually one double log house, with only one room below, which had two fire-places, two looms, two beds, and other furniture, and occupied by two families. And those primitive times were happy times with them, with few artificial wants, with no heed to fashions, no class distinctions, no envying nor jealousies, their lives glided along smoothly and pleasantly. Their spiritual wants were supplied occasionally by itinerant Dutch or Methodist minister. They were always kind to one another, at house risings and logging bees, at marriages in sickness and at death and burial. The large and small wheel, the reel and the loom, have nearly disappeared from among them, but agriculture, the dairy, poultry flocks and herds, and general household duties, now claim the attention of both men and women, old and young, conducing to health and competence. They have rarely if ever been engaged in law suits, and never has one of them been before the courts for wrong doing. It would be hard for our friends in high life to frame for themselves a more exalted eulogy."

RECTOR FAMILY

   Andrew Rector was a native of Copake, originally Taghkanick, Columbia Co., N. Y., and was born in 1762. He married Charity Rockefellow, of the same place. He died in Benton, in 1842, at the age of eighty, and she in 1838, at the age of seventy-two. They came to Benton in 1817, bringing most of their family of nine children, and settled in the West Woods, on lot 104, where there was no house or clearing, buying the land of Samuel Colt, of Geneva, who was a considerable landholder in that vicinity, and paying ten dollars per acre.  Here they tarried the remainder of their days.  Their children William, Hannah, Mary, Teal, Andrew, Eva, Christiana, Catharine and Elizabeth·

   William, born in 1782, married Hannah Simmons, in Columbia county. They settled in Benton, in 1810, and on lot 101, in 1813, coming with Henry Simmons previous to his father. Hannah, his wife, was born in 1786, and died in 1870. Their children were Elizabeth, Andrew W., Conrad, Jacob, Charity, David, Catharine and William J.

   Elizabeth, daughter of William Rector, born in 1808, married James Jennings, of Benton, where she died. Her children were Hannah, Thomas, William J., Nelson, Sarah and Jerusha. Hannah married Jesse Tiers, of Benton. They reside on the Pottertown road, and have one child, Hannah. Thomas married Anna Wheat, of Benton.  They reside in Naples, and have six children.  Willian married Cyntha Kirkham, of Benton.  They settled in Naples, and have three children.  J. Nelson married Ursala Wheat, of Benton, a sister of the wife of Thomas, and has resided with his father.  He has a second wife, Annie E. Washburn, of Naples.   They reside now in Penn Yan. Sarah married John Miller, resides in Michigan, and has one child. Jerusha married William Washburn, of Naples, and has one child.

Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Native of Copake (Taghkanick) came to Benton in 1817 with most of the nine children. Settled in the Westwoods on lot # 104, paying ten dollars an acre.  There was no house or clearing.  West Woods was also called Dutch Woods.  Andreas Richter according to church records.

 Children of GERTIEN ROCKEFELLER and ANDREW RICHTER are:

7.                i.       WILLIAM5 RECTOR, b. November 10, 1782, Taghanick, Colombia County, NY; d. May 26, 1876, Benton, Yates, NY, Briggs Cemetery.

8.               ii.       HANNAH RECTOR, b. 1784, Taghanick, Colombia County, NY; d. 1862.

9.              iii.       MARY RECTOR, b. ABT  1786; d. ABT  1872, Craryville, Columbia, NY.

10.            iv.       TEAL RECTOR, b. August 1, 1789, Germantown, Colombia County, NY; d. ABT  1859.

                  v.       ANDREW RECTOR, JR, b. ABT  1792 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); d. November 2, 1863, Benton, Yates County NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); m. DOROTHEA FINGER.

Notes for ANDREW RECTOR, JR:

Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Dorothea died 03-07-1836 at age 43. The 1855 census lists Andrew with children William and Jeremiah and Jeremiah's wife artemista and their children Sophia D. and Jeremiah, Jr.

11.            vi.       EVA RECTOR, b. 1794; d. ABT  1852, Benton, Yates County NY, Buried Crank Cemetery, Benton NY.

                vii.       CATHERINE RECTOR, b. June 30, 1796; m. WILLIAM SIMMONS.

               viii.       CHRISTIANA RECTOR, b. June 30, 1796; d. April 1, 1883, Benton, Yates, NY, Buried Crank Cemetery, Benton, NY; m. GARNET CRANK (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).

Notes for CHRISTIANA RECTOR:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Husband Garrett(sic) died 10/5/1873 aged 80 yr 6 mo 15 da.  Crank may be Cronk. Cranks ran a blacksmith shop and location became known as Crank's Corners were Crank's Cemetery is.

                  ix.       ELIZABETH RECTOR, b. 1798 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); m. MARTIN BROWN.

Generation No. 5

6.  GODFREY5 ROCKEFELLER (CHRISTINA4, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born 1783 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.), and died 1857 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  He married LUCY AVERY.

Child of GODFREY ROCKEFELLER and LUCY AVERY is:

12.              i.       WILLIAM AVERY6 ROCKEFELLER, b. 1810.

7.  WILLIAM5 RECTOR (GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born November 10, 1782 in Taghanick, Colombia County, NY (Source: (1) Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146., (2) "The Transactions of Rockefeller Fam. Association, 1905-1909," B F Rockefeller &  C Rockefeller, Pub The Knickerbocker Press 1910 NY.), and died May 26, 1876 in Benton, Yates, NY, Briggs Cemetery (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  He married HANNAH SIMMONS in Germantown, Colombia County, NY, daughter of WILHELM SIMON and ELIZABETH STREIBER.

Notes for WILLIAM RECTOR:

NOTES ON THE RECTOR FAMILY GENEALOGY

by Paul D. Bullock

This story begins in the Electoral Palatinate in Germany in the years before 1709. The Palatinate was and is the area in Germany next to France and Belgium along the Rhine river and is presently called the Rhine-Palatinate or Pfalz. The War of the Palatinate in the late 1600's and the War of the Spanish Succession in the very early 1700's left this area ravaged and desolate. This caused many peasants and common people to be left homeless and destitute. Beginning in 1708, numbers of Palatines went to England in hopes to go on to the colonies. In 1709, thirteen thousand (13,000) families entered England.

According to a list taken in Walworth, England on May 27, 1709, one of these families was the John Andreas Richter family. Listed with John Andreas is his wife, a 14 year old son, and daughters of ages 17, 7, and 3. The list shows John Andreas to be 46 years old, his religion Lutheran, and his vocation husbandman or vinedresser. I have no information on from where in Germany the family came.

In England, the Board of Trade proposed that the Palatines go to the colonies to make naval stores. In 1710, three thousand (3,000) became British citizens and the British officials sent them to New York. The naval stores operation never prospered so most, of those who stayed in the new world, became farmers.

Andreas Richter name appears in Governor Hunter's New York subsistence list from the time of his landing in 1710 to September 1712. The list includes an Andreas Richter and with a family of 3 adults (over 10 years old) and 2 children in 1710. In 1712, a similar list shows 3 adults and no children. The Colonial Census of 1710 includes Andreas (age 47), his wife Anna Maria (45), son Andreas (16), and daughter Anna Barbara (9). So apparently the eldest daughter listed in England married and at least one younger daughter died in New York.

Probably the Richters moved up the Hudson in 1712 to the "West Camp" on the western bank of the river to Beckmansland. Beckmansland consisted of the towns of Elizabeth Town, George Town, and New Town. New Town is probably the present city of Newburgh, N.Y. In the Kocherthau Records, records of Pastor Kocherthau who was with the Palatine settlement, Anna Maria and Andreas were sponsors at the christening of Andreas Sutz on February 21, 1713. Then less than two months later, on April 7, 1713, the Kocherthau Records list the marriage of Johann Fuehrer to Anna Marie Richter widow of the late Andreas Richter of New Town. So Andreas Sr. died sometime in that two month period in 1713.

The Kocherthau Records list the birth of Johannes Richter to Andreas and Elisabeth on September 21, 1714. This birth was probably in New Town since the Simmendinger Register lists Andreas, wife Elisabeth and one child as living there. Ulrich Simmendinger, one of the immigrants, published the Simmendinger Register when he returned to Germany.

Young Andreas moved across the Hudson to Livingston Manor since he, as Andries Rightster, is shown as a Palatine debtor of the four villages of Germantown, Livingston, Clermont, and Claverack on the dates of March 1, 1718; December 26, 1718 and February 1722. His debts may have stemmed from the time he was on the New York subsistence rolls ten years earlier.

The following are miscellaneous items that mention Richters in the Livingston Manor area:

1.  Anna Maria is born in 1732 to Andreas (probably Andreas Jr.) and Elisabeth Richter.

2.  Anna is born to Hannes (probably Johannes the son of Andreas Jr. mentioned above) and Lisabeth Richter in 1747.

3.  Reformed Church membership list of 1750 mentions Andreas (probably Andreas Jr.) Regter, his wife Anna Elisabeth Stael, and children Maria Elisabeth and Catharina.

4.  The Livingston Account Book lists Andris Richter as a tenant for various years between 1768 and 1782. Probably this Andreas is a son of Andreas Jr. or Johannes.

5.  Tax lists of 1779 list Andreas Righter (this and the next two items may be the Andreis Rechter mentioned in the next paragraph).

6.  John Curry's mill list of customers has several entries for Ander Righter under wheat, corn, barley, etc. in years 1783 and 1784.

7.  Andreas Richter is a Livingston tenant in 1799.

8.  Robert Livingston Estate lists Ander Righter as owing 50 cents in 1804.

How we make the genealogical connection from the Andreas Richter Jr., who came to America from Germany via England with his father John Andreas Richter, to the Andreis Rechter, shown living in Columbia County in the 1790 Federal Census, is not totally clear from the records I have seen. The simple fact that there were so many Andreas Richters along the Hudson River between 1710 and 1800 causes considerable confusion. Based on the records available and some speculation, the following seems a reasonable genealogical connection:

* This one is pure speculation: Johan Wilhelm Richter and his wife, Margaretha Kohl, had a son Andreas (Ander, Andris) Richter (Righter, Rechter) born in 1762 in Columbia County, New York.

* This last Andreis Rechter was born in 1762, married Genje Rockenfelder in 1781, had several children, and moved from Columbia County to Yates County with most of his children in 1817. When he arrived in Benton, Yates County, his name was Andrew Rector and his wife's name was Charity.

Paul D. Bullock

September 18, 1982

February 1996 (revision)

List from Briggs Cemetery

Pederson, Thomas          Aug. 9, 1848-Jan. 2, 1885

Rector, Nelson              Mar 8, 1839-Apr. 9, 1907 Civil War

Rector,  Harriet J. (2-w)       Feb 14, 1833-Aug 31, 1904

Rector,  Andrew (son)       Aug 26, 1866-Dec 25, 1870

Rector, Caroline (dau)       d. Mar 31, 1855 ae 25 yrs

Rector, William             1783-Jun 25, 1876

Rector, Hannah            1787-Mar 23, 1870

Rector, William J          1826-Sept. 24, 1899

Rector, Catharine (w)  1826-Apr. 21, 1854 ae 28 yr

Rector, Eleanor             Aug. 12, 1823-Oct 7, 1902

Rector, James                Apr. 25, 1793 - Feb. 6, 1870 (born in Milton, S. Carolina)

Rector, Elizabeth (w)  d Feb 2, 1851 ae 49yr

Rector, Margaret          1857-1858

Rector, Fidelin              1852-1852

Shaw, Charles H.          d Jun. 16, 1849 ae 12 yr 10 mo 21 da (ch of Cisson)

      Children of WILLIAM RECTOR and HANNAH SIMMONS are:

13.              i.       ELIZABETH6 RECTOR, b. July 2, 1805, Benton, Yates County NY; d. February 2, 1854, Buried Briggs Cemetery.

                  ii.       ANDREW W RECTOR, b. 1806, Columbia County; d. November 10, 1886.

Notes for ANDREW W RECTOR:

Obit.

Potter center, 1886, November 10. A.W. Rector, aged 80 years. The deceased was born in Columbia County in 1806.  In 1810 he came to this county, and for fifty-four years had been a resident of the town of Potter.  Six children survived him.  He was an honest man, and was highly respected as a neighbor and citizen.

                 iii.       CONRAD RECTOR.

                 iv.       JACOB RECTOR.

                  v.       CHARITY RECTOR.

                 vi.       DAVID RECTOR

                vii.       CATHERINE RECTOR.

               viii.       WILLIAM J RECTOR, b. January 6, 1826, Benton farm, Benton Yates Co, NY; d. September 24, 1899, Buried in Briggs Cemetery; m. CATHARINE (MNU) RECTOR.

Notes for WILLIAM J RECTOR:

Obit.

Benton 1899, September 24 - William J, rector on Sunday died at his home in Benton, Yates County. Mr. Rector was born January 6, 1826, on the Benton farm and during the seventy-three years of his life never lived elsewhere. He was greatly interested in agricultural improvements and it is on record that he attended every Yates County fair since the first, and was an officer of the Yates Co, Agricultural Society almost continuously. Mr. Rector was a good neighbor and the mainstay of families in affliction. During his last painful illness of a year and a half his faith and patience were unfailing.: He leaves a wife and one sister residing in Naples.

8.  HANNAH5 RECTOR (GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born 1784 in Taghanick, Colombia County, NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.), and died 1862.  She married HENDRICH W SIMON in Columbia County, son of WILHELM SIMON and ELIZABETH STREIBER.

        Child of HANNAH RECTOR and HENDRICH SIMON is:

                   i.       ANDREW6 SIMMONS, d. August 6, 1843 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).

9.  MARY5 RECTOR (GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born ABT  1786 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.), and died ABT  1872 in Craryville, Columbia, NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  She married CHRISTIAN NIVER.

Notes for MARY RECTOR:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Mary and Christian didn't come to Yates County.  Christian was born in 1781 and died in 1870.

       Child of MARY RECTOR and CHRISTIAN NIVER is:

14.              i.       ELIZABETH6 NIVER, b. 1807; d. 1843.

 10.  TEAL5 RECTOR (GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born August 1, 1789 in Germantown, Colombia County, NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.), and died ABT  1859 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  He married ELEANOR FINGER.

Notes for TEAL RECTOR:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

The 1855 New York census listed Teal and Elinor(sic) and children Lewis and Lusetta(sic). Sponsors at his Christening where Teel and Marytje Rockevelder. Reformed Dutch church in Kinderhook.

        Children of TEAL RECTOR and ELEANOR FINGER are:

                   i.       CHARITY6 RECTOR, b. ABT  1810 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); m. DAVID LOVEJOY.

Notes for CHARITY RECTOR:

Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Moved to Ohio. Charity and David had three children John, Albert, and Simeon.

                  ii.       JOHN RECTOR, b. ABT  1810 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); m. CHARITY RECTOR.

Notes for CHARITY RECTOR:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

His wife Charity was a cousin. John and Charity had two children James and Hannah.  They lived in Naples. The 1855 census listing of John Rector, wife Chareta and children James T and Catherine may or may not be this John Rector.

15.            iii.       JACOB T RECTOR, b. ABT  1815.

16.            iv.       WILLIAM T RECTOR, b. ABT  1820.

                  v.       LUCRETIA RECTOR, b. ABT  1820; m. FREEMAN WHEELER.

Notes for LUCRETIA RECTOR:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Twin of Lewis.  The 1855 New York census lists her as Lusetta.

17.            vi.       SIMEON RECTOR, b. ABT  1821.

                vii.       LEWIS RECTOR, b. ABT  1822; m. CATHERINE POTTS.

Notes for LEWIS RECTOR:

Twin of Lucretia

18.          viii.       ELIZA RECTOR, b. ABT  1823.

11.  EVA5 RECTOR (GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born 1794 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.), and died ABT  1852 in Benton, Yates County NY, Buried Crank Cemetery, Benton NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  She married JEREMIAH FINGER.

        Children of EVA RECTOR and JEREMIAH FINGER are:

                   i.       CATHARINE6 FINGER, b. 1823 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); d. 1865 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).

                  ii.       NORTON FINGER.

                 iii.       EMELINE FINGER.

Generation No. 6

12.  WILLIAM AVERY6 ROCKEFELLER (GODFREY5, CHRISTINA4, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born 1810 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  He married ELIZA DAVIDSON.

        Child of WILLIAM ROCKEFELLER and ELIZA DAVIDSON is:

19.              i.       JOHN DAVIDSON7 ROCKEFELLER, b. 1874; d. 1968.

13.  ELIZABETH6 RECTOR (WILLIAM5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born July 2, 1805 in Benton, Yates County NY, and died February 2, 1854 in Buried Briggs Cemetery.  She married JAMES JENNINGS in Benton, Yates County NY, son of SETH JENNINGS and HANNAH JENNINGS.

Notes for ELIZABETH RECTOR:

 Elizabeth Rector Jenning's Epitaph:

 Friends nor physicians could not save

 This mortal body from the grave;

 Nor can the grave confine it here,

 When Christ doth call it to appear.

Notes for JAMES JENNINGS:

Briggs cemetary is off State Rd between Potter and PennYann NY

       Children of ELIZABETH RECTOR and JAMES JENNINGS are:

20.              i.       THOMAS WALLACE7 JENNINGS, b. June 13, 1827; d. February 22, 1908, buried Hunts Hollow Cemetary Hunts Hollow NY.

                  ii.       WILLIAM J JENNINGS, b. September 12, 1833; d. January 26, 1865, Buried Briggs Cemetery; m. CYNTHIA KIRKHAM.

21.            iii.    J. NELSON JENNINGS.

22.            iv.       HANNAH JENNINGS, b. March 9, 1822; d. October 3, 1885, Briggs Cemetery.

23.             v.       JERUSHA JENNINGS.

                 vi.       SARAH JENNINGS, m. (1) (FNU) KUTTON; m. (2) JOHN MILLER.

14.  ELIZABETH6 NIVER (MARY5 RECTOR, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born 1807 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.), and died 1843 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  She married WILLIAM CARROLL.

        Child of ELIZABETH NIVER and WILLIAM CARROLL is:

24.              i.       ALFRED7 CARROLL, b. 1832; d. 1913.

15.  JACOB T6 RECTOR (TEAL5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born ABT  1815 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  He married CATHERINE BAKER.

Notes for JACOB T RECTOR:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

The 1855 New York census listed Jacob T. and wife Catherine with children Medford L., Mary S. and Stephen.

       Children of JACOB RECTOR and CATHERINE BAKER are:

25.              i.       STEPHEN M7 RECTOR, b. November 3, 1853; d. June 17, 1928, Milo Yates County NY.

                  ii.       MEDFORD L RECTOR, b. April 8, 1850, Benton, Benton Yates Co, NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); d. July 31, 1882, buried Second Milo Cemetery, Yates, NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); m. SARAH GORDON.

Notes for MEDFORD L RECTOR:

Obit.

Second Milo, 1882, July 31 - Medford L. Rector, aged 38 years. He was the son of Jacob Rector; was born in Benton, NY and has always lived in this county, except about three years when he was in the army. About the time of the Yates county Fair last fall he was kicked by one of his horses in his right knee.  the wound soon healed on the surface, but suppuration ensued and as the surface was healed over it could not escape but was consequently taken up by the absorbents and carried through the system and resulted in blood poison.  On the 15th of March he gave up and was confined to the bed and thereon for four months and a half he was a great sufferer.  Skillful medical aid was employed, and the best cars that tender and kind friends could bestow were all unavailing to stay the progress of the relentless disease.  In the early port of his sickness his thoughts were turned toward those things which pertain to the soul's eternal interests, and after several days spent in deliberate thought and meditation he determined to cast himself upon a merciful Savior and seek his pardoning love, and his words to the writer were, "I did not seek long before Jesus came to my relief, and I am so happy."  From this time death had no terrors and he contemplated the hour of his departure with resignation and delight.  He leaves a lone widow, an aged father and mother, brother and sister, with more sympathizing friends to mourn his loss. The funeral services were held at the Milo Baptist church on Wednesday, the 2nd inst., the Rev. C.M. Bruce officiating, assisted by Rev. P. Shield.

                 iii.       MARY S RECTOR, b. ABT  1855 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); m. HOLLY SNYDER.

16.  WILLIAM T6 RECTOR (TEAL5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born ABT  1820 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  He married (1) MARY CHURCH.  He married (2) CATHERINE HARRIS.

Notes for WILLIAM T RECTOR:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Wife Mary and four children all died within a month.  The children of diphtheria and Mary of a pulmonary disease.  William lived in Cohocton. The 1855 New York census lists William T., wife Mary and children Charles, Joseph T. and Mary A.

       Children of WILLIAM RECTOR and MARY CHURCH are:

                   i.       CHARLES7 RECTOR.

                  ii.       JOSEPH T RECTOR.

                 iii.       MARY A RECTOR.

17.  SIMEON6 RECTOR (TEAL5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born ABT  1821.  He married HANNAH ELDER.

Notes for SIMEON RECTOR:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Moved to Iona, Michigan

        Child of SIMEON RECTOR and HANNAH ELDER is:

                   i.       GEORGE7 RECTOR.

18.  ELIZA6 RECTOR (TEAL5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born ABT  1823.  She married JOHN FINGER.

        Child of ELIZA RECTOR and JOHN FINGER is:

                   i.       MCKENDRIC7 FINGER.

Generation No. 7

19.  JOHN DAVIDSON7 ROCKEFELLER (WILLIAM AVERY6, GODFREY5, CHRISTINA4, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born 1874 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.), and died 1968 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  He married ABBY ALDRICH.

        Child of JOHN ROCKEFELLER and ABBY ALDRICH is:

                   i.       NELSON ALDRICH8 ROCKEFELLER, b. 1908 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); d. 1979; m. (1) MARY TODHUNTER; m. (2) MARGARETTS MURPHY.

Notes for NELSON ALDRICH ROCKEFELLER:

Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Mary Todhunter and Nelson were divorced and he remarried Margaretts Murphy ("Happy")

Gov. of NY State and Vice Pres. of United States

20.  THOMAS WALLACE7 JENNINGS (ELIZABETH6 RECTOR, WILLIAM5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born June 13, 1827, and died February 22, 1908 in buried Hunts Hollow Cemetary Hunts Hollow NY.  He married ANNA MARIA WHEAT in Benton, Yates County NY, daughter of DAVID WHEAT and URSULA WHEAT.

       Children of THOMAS JENNINGS and ANNA WHEAT are:

26.              i.       ELIZABETH WHEAT8 JENNINGS, b. February 1857.

27.             ii.       NELSON THOMAS JENNINGS, b. April 6, 1859, Naples, Ontario Co., NY; d. October 28, 1948, Hemlock NY buried Rose Ridge Cem Naples NY.

28.            iii.       BERTHA JENNINGS, b. June 1861; d. 1943, buried Rose Ridge Cemetary Naples NY.

29.            iv.       FLORENCE JENNINGS, b. September 26, 1863; d. 1933, buried Hunts Hollow Cem..

30.             v.       KATHERINE JENNINGS, b. November 1865; d. January 1963.

31.            vi.       FRANK JENNINGS, b. May 12, 1869, Hunts Hollow NY; d. December 25, 1937.

21.  J. NELSON7 JENNINGS (ELIZABETH6 RECTOR, WILLIAM5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1).  He married (1) URSULA WHEAT in Benton, Yates County NY.  He married (2) ANNIE E WASHBURN.

        Child of J. JENNINGS and URSULA WHEAT is:

                   i.       FRANK8 JENNINGS, b. May 13, 1862; d. September 16, 1862, Buried Briggs Cemetery.

22.  HANNAH7 JENNINGS (ELIZABETH6 RECTOR, WILLIAM5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born March 9, 1822, and died October 3, 1885 in Briggs Cemetery.  She married JESSE TEARS in Benton, Yates County NY.

  Children of HANNAH JENNINGS and JESSE TEARS are:

                   i.       HANNAH8 TEARS.

                  ii.       ELIZABETH TEARS, b. March 27, 1857; d. August 28, 1884, Buried Briggs Cemetery; m. WILLIAM H PICKELL.

23.  JERUSHA7 JENNINGS (ELIZABETH6 RECTOR, WILLIAM5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1).  She married WILLIAM S WASHBURN.

    Children of JERUSHA JENNINGS and WILLIAM WASHBURN are:

                   i.       URSULA8 WASHBURN, m. (FNU) SUTHERLAND.

                  ii.       MAUD WASHBURN, m. (FNU) OAKLEY.

24.  ALFRED7 CARROLL (ELIZABETH6 NIVER, MARY5 RECTOR, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born 1832 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.), and died 1913 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  He married SARAH DOREMUS.

        Child of ALFRED CARROLL and SARAH DOREMUS is:

32.              i.       WINFIELD8 CARROLL, b. March 11, 1881; d. November 11, 1938.

25.  STEPHEN M7 RECTOR (JACOB T6, TEAL5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born November 3, 1853, and died June 17, 1928 in Milo Yates County NY.  He married (1) JENNIE D HAWLEY.  He married (2) MINNIE B NICHOLS August 5, 1888 in Milo Yates County NY, daughter of THOMAS NICHOLS.

Notes for STEPHEN M RECTOR:

Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Burried Second Milo Cemetary, Yates NY

Farmer and carpenter.  Served as Township Supervisor in the early 1900's. Sold lightning rods at one time.

SECOND MILO, 1928, June 17 - Stephen M. Rector, aged 74 years, died at his home in Second Milo, Sunday night. He is survived by his wife, three sons, Thomas Rector and Arthur Rector, both of Penn Yan; Rev. Milton Rector, of Cobleskill, NY; two daughters, Mrs. Homer (Mary) Bullock, of Milo; and Mrs. Howard (Helen) Swarthout, of Penn Yan. The funeral services were held from the late residence in Milo, Wednesday afternoon at 2 o'clock, Rev. E. W. Chapin, assisted by Rev. W. H. Wheatley, and Rev. K. N. Conrad officiating, Interment in Second Milo cemetery. Mr. Rector served as road commissioner of the town of Milo for several years.

Notes for JENNIE D HAWLEY:

Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Hawley may be Holley

Buried Second Milo Cemetary Yates County NY

Notes for MINNIE B NICHOLS:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Buried Second Milo Cemetery Yates County NY

Married at age 15. Daughter Mary mentioned at one time that Minnie came from Missouri or Kansas. Nothing is known at this time about her family.

Obit.

Second Milo, 1938, January 7 - Minnie M. Rector, 63 years old, died 4 am Friday morning at her home at Second Milo, four miles south of Penn Yan, following an illness which had confined her to her bed since, August. Mrs. Rector was the widow of the late Stephen M. Rector, who died ten years ago next June. Surviving her are two sons, Tom J., of Court Street, Penn Yan, and Rev. Milton M., pastor of the Baptist church in Walton; also two daughters, Mrs. Howard (Helen) Swarthout of Buffalo and Mrs. Homer (Mary) Bullock of Est Bloomfield; also a sister, Mrs. Earl McGilliard of Lakeland, Florida. Rev. E. J. Chapin, pastor of the Second Milo Baptist church officiated at the funeral services which were held from the home at 2:30 PM Sunday with Rev. Royal N. Jessup, pastor of the First Baptist church of Penn Yan, assisting. Burial was made in the cemetery at Second Milo.

        Children of STEPHEN RECTOR and JENNIE HAWLEY are:

33.              i.       MILTON MEDFORD8 RECTOR, b. March 8, 1879, Gorham Ontario County NY; d. January 29, 1953, Walton, Delaware, NY - buried Walton Cemetery.

                  ii.       CATHERINE RECTOR, b. ABT  1880; d. January 4, 1909, Fulton, Oswego, NY - buried Lakeview Cem, Penn Yan, NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); m. CLAY BECKWITH.

Notes for CATHERINE RECTOR:

Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Catherine may be Katherine. Died at age 29. Not sure of birthdate or date of death.

                 iii.    S INEZ RECTOR, b. October 13, 1885 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); d. May 2, 1887, Milo Yates County NY, Buried Second Milo Cem., Yates, NY.

        Children of STEPHEN RECTOR and MINNIE NICHOLS are:

                 iv.       MARY FLORENCE8 RECTOR, b. July 10, 1889, Milo Yates County NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); d. May 31, 1973, Rochester, Monroe, NY Buried East Bloomfield Cemetery, NY; m. HOMER BULLOCK, September 6, 1911, Milo Yates County NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).

Notes for MARY FLORENCE RECTOR:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Studied at Keuka Normal School and taught in school near Penn Yan.

Notes for HOMER BULLOCK:

Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Wood worker.  Had his own business in Holcomb. Spent few years in Isle of Pines, cuba helping brother Edgar start up the Abra Grande Lumber co. Played the saxophone. Bible student; favorite book was Romans.

34.             v.       THOMAS JEFFERSON RECTOR, b. ABT  1890; d. 1943, Penn Yan, Yates, NY Buried Lakeview Cemetery, Penn Yan, NY.

35.            vi.       HELEN EGERIA RECTOR, b. ABT  1891.

                vii.       ARTHUR F RECTOR, b. October 4, 1892; d. July 7, 1938, Penn Yan, Yates, NY Buried Second Milo Cem., Yates, NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.); m. GLADYS JOSEPHINE ANSLEY, November 1, 1923, Branchport, Yale, NY.

Notes for ARTHUR F RECTOR:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Managed Ward Farms on Bath rd. Children: Janice m. Thomas Mc Clure (Thomas and Mary); Richard m. Edith O'Connel (Pamela); Alan m. Esther Mc Master (Gregory and Jeanne) and John m. Joyce Lamphier (Douglas and Daniel). Gladys was a nurse.

Generation No. 8

26.  ELIZABETH WHEAT8 JENNINGS (THOMAS WALLACE7, ELIZABETH6 RECTOR, WILLIAM5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born February 1857.  She married (1) LOUIS CHENCY.  She married (2) EMMET WHEAT.

        Child of ELIZABETH JENNINGS and LOUIS CHENCY is:

                   i.       JAY SETH9 WHEAT, b. February 15, 1880; d. October 15, 1971; m. (1) ANNA MAY PULVER, October 25; m. (2) ETHEL SPEARS, June 29, 1947.

      Children of ELIZABETH JENNINGS and EMMET WHEAT are:

                  ii.       HOWARD9 WHEAT, d. July 4, 1887.

                 iii.       PAUL WHEAT.

                 iv.       DONALD WHEAT.

27.  NELSON THOMAS8 JENNINGS (THOMAS WALLACE7, ELIZABETH6 RECTOR, WILLIAM5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born April 6, 1859 in Naples, Ontario Co., NY, and died October 28, 1948 in Hemlock NY buried Rose Ridge Cem Naples NY.  He married SUSAN ARVILLA BOWER April 5, 1881, daughter of MICHAEL BAUER and SUSAN WHITCOMB.

Notes for NELSON THOMAS JENNINGS:

A farmer in Hunts Hollow NY. He was an investor in C E Wemett & Co when it started and worked in later years as a truck driver for the company. He liked a drink now and then and was a bit of an embarrassment in his later years as Clarence and Anna were the totalers and it fell to them to look after him. He lived across Rt 15A from the company office and from Clarence who lived next to the office.

                                        OBITUARY

        Nelson Thomas Jennings, aged 89, died at his home in Hemlock last Thursday, Oct. 28, 1948.  Born in the town of Naples, Apr. 6, 1859, he was one of six children and the eldest son of Thomas W. and Anna Wheat Jennings. On Apr. 5, 1881, he was married to Arvilla Bower of Belmont, NY. To them were born four children, of whom two daughters survive:  Mrs. W. J. Brown of Livonia and Mrs. C. E. Wemett of Hemlock.  The youngest daughter, Ada Jennings Wemett of Hemlock, died in 1934, and the son, James T. Jennings, died in 1943.  The mother, Mrs Jennings, pre-deceased her husband in 1924, four years after moving to Hemlock.

        Besides the daughters, Mrs. Brown and Mrs. Wemett, the survivors include also one sister, Mrs. Charles Wykoff of Richfield Springs, NY, seven grandchildren and eight great-grandchildren.

        Mr. Jennings spent the first 61 years of his life in the town of Naples and was engaged in farming.  He retired from farming in 1920 and moved to Hemlock, where he became associated with C. E. Wemett & Co.

 Notes for SUSAN ARVILLA BOWER:

In Arvilla's obituary, it lists Mrs. Laura Icchess of Hastings Michigan, and a second surviving sister as Mrs. Wm Prior of East Rochester.

Marriage Notes for NELSON JENNINGS and SUSAN BOWER:

Bertha Jennings was a witness of the marriage.

       Children of NELSON JENNINGS and SUSAN BOWER are:

                   i.       MAY AGNES9 JENNINGS, b. February 12, 1882, Canadice NY; d. March 6, 1968; m. WILLIAM JAMES BROWN, October 21, 1903.

                  ii.       ANNA ELIZABETH JENNINGS, b. October 16, 1883, Hunts Hollow, Naples NY; d. April 30, 1964, St Petersburg FL buried Union Cemetary Livonia NY; m. CLARENCE ELMER WEMETT, October 16, 1935, Geneseo NY Methodist Parsonage by WJ Brown.

Notes for CLARENCE ELMER WEMETT:

Graduated from Livonia High School, Livonia NY Class of  1906 Was vice president of Graduating Class

Mr. Wemett died at his home in Hemlock after a long illness. Mr. Wemett was born in Hemlock Feb. 26, 1885, the son of George A. and Frances Clemons Wemett. He graduated from Livonia High School in the Class of 1905, and soon afterward began working in John Beam's hardware store in Hemlock. Fifteen years later he bought the store which later was sold to Hugh Drain and which only recently came back into the Wemett family when Mr. Drain sold to Mr. Wemett's son, Mark, and grandson, Ross Kenzie.

Always enterprising, Mr Wemett as a young man saw a future in the handling of Petroleum products and made connections with the Shell Oil Co. He was a Franchiser jobber in this company for about 32 years, and the Wemett Corp. are now the largest in the Cleveland district, distributing in ?xx?  counties with about 25 service stations. The first of the stations was in Livonia.

Never one to be content following only a given routine, in 1929 he established a pottery shop in East Bloomfield, where he already had a Shell outlet.  At one time he also operated the Avon Coppersmith.

He Founded the Forge Wrought Iron Works in Hemlock.

He built the Egypt Valley Girl Camp in the Bristol Hills in 1949, later sold to the Seven Lakes Girl Scout Council, Phelps, NY.  (The Girl Scouts have since sold the property - 1990?)

In 1953 he bought and remodelled the White Horse Tavern, in East Avon, which burned shortly after the opening.

He was a member of the Hemlock Methodist Church and had been a trustee for 35 years. He belonged to the Hemlock Civic Club and the Hemlock 100F. He was a member of the Board of Education of the Hemlock Union Free School and a director and past president of Union Cemetery. He also participated in obtaining a water system for Hemlock in 1950.

              WEMETT HISTORY WRITTEN BY ERWIN WEMETT -- (WE THINK)

1790.   In 1790 in a small town near Montreal,  Canada, in a tiny log cabin is born a youth named Andrew in whose veins mingled French and Canadian bloods.  At the tender age of 14 the grim angel of death takes the father.  The family stay and we can imagine the youth laboring early and late to keep the grey wolf from the door.  Adversity seldom comes singly and in the fall of 1810 the mother the nearest and dearest is borne swiftly away, and to complete the cup of adversity the younger brother of Andrew, (should this be Joseph?)  in a mischievious moment built a fire in the barn, which burns to the ground.

  Andrew Wemett (1/4/1788) -- Andrew then a young man of 24 sells what remains of the homestead and with a team and wagon starts to make his way in the cold world.  He wanders and finally locates in Monroe County and works there for a year for the government and assists in building the first flour mill in that section, on the ground now occupied by the Erie Depot.  The team purchased in Canada was considered to be one of the finest in that section, and he refused for them a deed of 160 acres of land, which is now in the heart of Rochester, NY.

In the French-Indian War of 1812, he enlisted and went to the front serving full time and when the war was over he came back but could not refrain from the charmes of Joan Macomber.  Joan we might mention was the sister of Cyrus Macomber.  He married Joan in what was known as the Black River country which is in Lewis County New York.  During their sojourn there, the stork left them three children.  Charles, Floville and Adeline. 

   They then moved to Ontario County, NY and purchased from the land the farm later known as the Shepard Macomber farm located on the corner intersection of the bald hill road leading to Canadice Lake.  The stork did not forsake them, but endowed them with 5 more children.  Mariette who died in infancy, Enoche who died at the age of 18, Erastis, Stephen who died at the age of 12 and Joseph who served two years in the foul pen at Andersonville and was nearly inactivated in the living hell was released near the close of the war.  Placed on a ship bound for home, the ship was blown up and he with many others found a watery grave.

  Joan Macomber died in 1843 and Andrew later married Hannah West who made the best kind of a step mother.  But in the early morning of March 4, 1861 the day President Lincoln took the Presidential oath, all that was mortal of Andrew Wemett took flight, Hannah West Wemett lived until 1874 when she started on the long voyage.

Children of Andrew and Joan Wemett:

Charles        Married Mahalie Perry and Mary Lindsey

Floville              Married Augustus Shepard

Mariette

Enoche

Erastis        Catherine Coogan and Elizabeth Wemett

Joseph

Orsemus

              JOSEPH WEMETT FAMILY HISTORY

  Joseph Wemett (3/3/1799) --Youngest brother of Andrew was born near Montreal Canada in 1800 and when 14 years of age he came to Lowville Lewis County, NY and from there migrated to Canadice, Ontario County, NY, in 1824 he was united in marrige to Elizabeth Welch.  The Welch family then owned what is now known as Augustus Shepard farm.  When Conrad Welch who was Uncle Joes's wife's father died Uncle Joe bought off the heirs and in 1841 built the old homestead which now stands in a good state of preservation.  At the time this house was built it was the finest house between Lima and Dansville.  This house is now occupied by Robert R. Wemett.   Across from this house is the old Wemett burial grounds where now rests a goodly number of the old Wemett family together with nieces and nephews who Uncle Joe brought up.  The writer can remember the remains of the old stone school house where the children and nieces and nephews of Uncle Joe and Aunt Bessie were taught the three R's to the expense of the generious old couple.  Uncle Joe also endowed the Genesee College at Lima and was one of the first to give $100.00.  Old people who knew Uncle Joe and Aunt Bessie have often told us that this was the most hospitable home, but as Uncle Joe was unusually thrifty there was always plenty to eat but in return he expected and exacted work.

  Uncle Joe and Aunt Betsy (Bessie) were the parents of 14 children, 8 of whom grew to maturity.  It is told that Uncle Joe started out to give each of his grandchildren $100 dollars at birth, his intentions were good but they came so thick and fast that he was unable to keep it up, much to the dissapointment of those coming later.  Uncle Joe and his brother Andrew were born Catholics, but later they became loyal to the Quaker faith.  The Welches were all Quakers.

  Uncle Joe was a unique character, a man of powerful built and a tireless worker and although he made a home for almost everyone, he amassed what is those days what was considered a goodly small fortune.  He owned at his death some 600 acres of land with a large amount of personal property.  The writer has search records concerning these properties and never found any kind of a mortgage against any property owned by Joseph and Betsy (Elizabeth) Wemett.  Their living grandchildren number 20, their living great grandchildren being over 40 now.  Uncle Joe passed on just as the dawn was breaking in the year 1870 and Aunt Betsy followed in August 1874.  Thus ended the heads of the first familys on Ontario County form Robert Wemett. 

The children of Joseph and Betsy Wemett in the order of their birth:

CHILDREN           MARRIED

William               Huldah B.

Mary                 John Brown

Minerva                 Augustus Shepard

Elizabeth                   Erastus Wemett

Julia Ann                   Issac Stevenson

Henry Joseph Br. Feb 1841       Mary Ann Knapp

George                Francis Clemens

              WEMETT AND SHEPARD FAMILY HISTORY

  (Charles) Charley P. Wemett, son of Andrew and Joan Wemett was born March 5, 1818 and at the age of 25 married Mahalie Perry, this was in 1843.  To this union was born Melford who died at 25 years of age. 

Amos who died at 27 years of age.

Lemon who married Bell Struble and was killed one Sunday while playing ball at Canadice Corners.  Bell died one year later leaving a son Ernst who was adopted by Mr. & Mrs. Firmen Thompson, taking their name, they lived in Naples, Ernst is now dead.

  Mahalia, a daughter married Guy Baldwin, they had 3 children, Nora,Lemuel, and Amos.

Nora married Leon Molyea and had 3 sons;

Lemuel died in infancy.

Amos married a girl by the name of Moose, one son Charles Jr. was born to this union but has passed on.  Mahalia Wemett Baldwin died December 11, 1919.  Hahalie Perry Wemett died March 25, 1859 and Charles married Mary Lindsay and to this union was born Henry and Mary (Mittie).  Mittie married Frank H. Stewart and is now living west of Springwater.  Henry E. Wemett never married and died in Springwater, NY in February 26, 1934.

  Augustus Shepard married Floville Wemett in 1847, second child of Andrew and Joan Wemett.  To this union was born three children, Sarah, Thankful and Charles.  Sarah married Frank Morris and went West to live.  She died on January 9, 1893 leaving a family of seven children.  Everett only named of the seven.

  Of the union of Augustus and Floville, was another daughter called Thankful who died at the age of 20 and one son, Charley, who was drowned in Hemlock Lake, August 18, 1867.

  On July 20, 1859, in the dead of the night the hovering angel enticed the soul of Floville away and another mortal had gained her hard earned rest.

  September 13, 1860 Augustus Shepard married again.  This time to a cousin of his first wife.  Minerva daughter of Uncle Joseph and Aunt Betsy, to them was born Herbert (Bert) Shepard, who married lived and died in Nebraska.  He left a family Mable, Arthur, Stanley Randal, Clarence.

Jessie Shepard married Elmer E. (Colonel) Colegrove, and lives near Canadice lake.

Jennie another daughter who married Samuel West and lives in Springwater, NY.

  William Shepard youngest son of Augustus and Minerva married Dorothy Albertson and for many years has lived and kept store in South Livonia.  They had one daughter Fern Shepard.

  Augustus Shepard passed on.

  Adeline Wemett second daughter of Andrew and Joan Wemett married William Foley in 1846 and to them was born three children, Mary, William H. and Catherine.

  Mary who married Caleb Briggs had one son George, who married Jennie Briggs and who passed on, and one daughter May Briggs who married Daniel Owens.

              SHEPARD FAMILY HISTORY

  After the death of Calco Briggs, Mary married Frank Hayward, a widower, with children; the other daughter of William and Adeline was named Catherine, but she died in early womanhood. One son, William H. Foley.

  William H. Foley married Emma Crea in 1876.  To this union brought two children, a daughter Edna who married Arther Rowley and died June 30, 1923 and Clifford H. Foley who now lives in Springwater.

Emma Crea Foley passed on April 9, 1899 and William H. Foley followed May 17, 1934.

  Julian Wemett, 1st daughter of Joseph and Betsy Wemett was born in 1820 and at the age of 20 years married a wild Irishman by the name of Isaac Stephenson-- to this union was born four children.  Sibley Stephenson, who married Etta Dunn.  Ellen, who died at the age of 18 years, Josie who married Selwyn Marsh.  Nick, the youngest married Addie Wilbur.  Nick skipped out and has never been heard from since.  All have passed on except Josie who is living at Starkey, N.M.  One other son ________, who we neglected to mention, died and is buried in the family cemetery at Bald Hill.

  Erastus Wemett, third son of Andrew and Joan Wemett was born in Canadice on February 8, 1832 and was united in marriage to Catherine Coogan on October 28, 1852 as the name implies, Catherine was Irish and Catholic.  She renounced her faith when she married which did not suit her family and her friends and when she died in 1873 her funeral was held at her home in Bald Hill, this was attended by a large number of her relatives and friends from Lima and Livonia who insisted that she be buried in consecrated ground for a time it looked as though there would be trouble but cooled heads prevailed and she was laid to rest in the little country cemetery on the old Charles Coykendall farm.  We are told this was one of the largest funerals ever held in Ontario County.  There were no living issues of this family.

  On October 22, 1874 Erastus married Elizabeth Wemett daughter of Uncle Joe and Aunt Betsy. 

  To this union was born one son Erwin Wemett, and one daughter who died in early infancy.

  The angel of death took the second wife, Elizabeth November 7, 1902 and on September 15, 1909 while sitting in a rocking chair the candle of life was suddenly snuffed out, and Erastus T. Wemett, another of the older generation, passed on.

SUMMARY OF CHILDREN OF ANDREW AND JOAN WEMETT

Four grew to adulthood and left families.

Charles P. married Mahalie Perry

Milford

Amos married a girl named Moose

Lemon married Belle Struble adopted son Ernst

Mahalie married Guy Baldwin

Nora married Leon Nolyea, "? 3 sons?"

Lemuel - -

Charles married Mary Lindsay

Henry

Mittie

Floville married Augustus Shepard who later married Minerva Wemett.

(Floville died and Augustus married Flovill's cousin)

Augustus and Floville shepard children;

Sarah, married Frank Morris

Thankful

Charley

Augustus and Minerva Shepard children;

Herbert shepard

Jessie married Elmer Colegrove

Jennie married Samuel West

William married Dorothy Albertson

Adeline married William Foley

Mary married Caleb Briggs

May married Daniel Owens

Catherine

William H. married Emma Crea

Edna married Arther Rowley

Clifford

Erastus married Catherine Coogan

and Elizabeth Wemett (his cousin)

children:  Son Erwin married Mina

Arsemus

Mitchel Wemett brother of Andrew and Joseph

  We know little of Uncle Mitchell only that he was father of Uncle Syrille who with many generations have been gathered by the grim reaper.

  Syrille Wemett:  was born March 8, 1816 and married Sarah Clark April 19, 1842.

  To them was born one son and two daughters.

   Theodore was born in 1851. He married Ellen sherwood, and to this union was born one son, Floyd Wemett and one daughter Lola. Floyd married Nina Jacobs and have no issue.

Lola married Herbert Jenks.  To this issue was born two daughters.  In 1935 death overtook Herbert Jenks in an automobile accident.

  Emmeretta born April 6,1849, she married her second cousin Orsemus Wemett, they had 4 daughters and one son.  Alice married Amos Swan. Died November 5, 1916.

Adah died in July 18, 1901.

Lou married Sidney Flood Feb. 12, 1907.

Jenny

Olin, thier son died March 17, 1933.

  Henrietta, second daughter of Syrille and Sarah was born April 26, 1844, she moved west and married a man by the name of Wilcot.

To this union was born one daughter Lulu born June 22,1879.

Henrietta died in Chicago in 1919.

Another son of Syrill and Sarah was born in 1848 and died when only 3 years old.

Toosa.

  There was another brother Toosa but we are unable to find anything authentic about him.

There were also two girls Sophie and Mary.  Mary married Francis Grenville, to them were born 6 children, Dennis, Clarissia, Saphrone, Frank Joe and Henry Grenville.

  Mary and Henry Grenville had one daughter, Martha Grenville who lived and died in Lima NY.

Saphone married a man by the name of Annal, they settled in the west and the only time we ever heard from them was when their son Peter came out here, he was a widower and our childish admiration centered on a huge gold watch chain and solid gold watch.  We afterwards had a letter from him saying his sons intended found him so agreeable that she had married him in preference to his son.

  We now turn to the children of Joseph and Elizabeth Wemett.  William Wemett oldest son of Betsy and Joseph was born 1820 and at the age of 29 married Huldah Goodwin, to this union was born one daughter, Emma, who married John H. Adams and raised a family of two girls and two boys.

  Fannie married G. Abbott, Gladys married Wynn Hanna and to them was born one son Wynn Jr.

  William Wemett relinguished his life in 1899, his widow, Huldah Goodwin Wemett, afterwards married Alden Pemperton, Huldah Perpertion died_____.

  Mary Wemett, second child of Joseph and Betsy.  At the age of 21 married a man who we have all heard so much but like so many of our worthy ancestors John Brown's body lies a molding in the grave.  To the union of John and Mary were born four sons, Scott, Edward, George, Will and one daughter Nellie.

  Scott Brown married Laura Smith who died a few years later.  He married Mellissa Aldrich.  By his first marriage he left Nellie, Bessie and 3 boys Ernst, Louis and Claude.  Clarence was a son of the second marriage.

Scott died.       Melissa died.

  George Brown another son of John and Mary Brown first married Mary Ingrahm, to them was born a son Lisle, after the death of Mary, George married Carrie Garfield.

Lisle Brown passed on ____.   John and Mary Brown had one daughter Nellie who married Albert Bailey, to them were born two daughters Edna and Georgia.

  William Brown, son of John Brown and Mary Wemett Brown was born in 1853.  He married Stella Roberts.  One son, Victor Brown survives.  William Brown died in January 1890.  His brother, Edward Brown, was born in 1859.  In 1883, he married Alta Potter.  There were no children of this union.  Edward Brown died ________.

  Mary Wemett Brown crossed the great divide August 16, 1905.

  Elizabeth (see Erastus)

  Julia Ann first daughter of Joseph and Betsy Wemett was born in 1820 and at the age of 20 married a Welch Irishman by the name of Isaac Stephenson, to this union was born 5 children, Sibley Stephenson was married to Etta Dunn, Ella died at the age fo 18. Josie married Selwyn Marsh, Joseph who died and is buried in the family cemetery on Bald Hill.  Nickson the youngest married Addie Wilbur, Nick skipped out and has never heard from all have passed away except Josie who is living in Starkey, NY.

William Wemett died in 1899.  His widow Huldah Goodwin Wemett, married Alden Pemberton.  huldah Pemberton died_____.

Mary Wemett, second daughter of Joseph and Betsy Wemett, at the age of 21, married a man who we have all heard so much about that like so many of our worthy ancestors, John Brown's body lies a mouldering in the grave.

  To the union of John and Mry were born 4 sons and 1 daughter: Scott, Edward, George, Will, and Nellie.

  Scott Brown married Laura Smith, and a few years after her death, married Melissa Aldrich.  By his first wife, Scott left 3 irls, Bessie, and 3 boys, Ernest, Louis, and Claude.  Clarence was a son of his second marriage.  Scott died_______. Melissa died______.

  George Brown, another son of John and Mary Brown, first married Mary Ingrahm.  To them was born one son Lisle.  After the death of Mary, George married Carrie Garfield.  Lisle Brown passed on.

  William Brown, son of John Brown and Mary Wemett Brown was born in 1853.  He married Stella Roberts.  One son, Victor Brown survives.  William Brown died in January 1890.  His brother, Edward Brown, was born in 1859.  In 1883, he married Alta Potter.  There were no children of this union.  Edward Brown died ____-.

  John and Mary Brown only had 1 daughter, Nellie, who married Albert Bailey.  To them was born 2 daughters, Edna and Georgia.  mary Wemett Brown died August 16, 1905.

Henry Joseph Wemett second son of Joseph and Betsy Wemett was born February 1841, he attended Genesee College which his father had helped endow and upon graduation taught school for several years, being superintendent of schools for several years, while being of a jurial dispostion and always joking he was sought for near and far to complete the term of some unfortunate teacher who had been thrown out of a school house window, in 1868 he married Mary Knapp, near the close of the war he enlisted, upon return he was known as Captain Henry, this was a particularily fitting title since one of his occupations was the pilot of the Hemlock lake steamer named________.

  To this union of Henry and Mary Wemett were born children, Frank, Cora, Harry, Dora Robert, William, of these Frank is a Methodist minister, Cora now Mrs. Edward Weeks of _____.  William, a professor of Vally City State Normal, North Dakota, and Robert, last but far from least a fine carpenter by trade and resident of the old homestead.

        A newspaper clipping about the wedding of C. E. Wemett and Miss Ada Helen Jennings

                            A PRETTY HOME WEDDING

  A very pretty home wedding took place at the residence of Mr. and Mrs. Nelson Jennings of Naples on Tuesday of this week, when Mr. Clarence E. Wemett of Hemlock and Miss Ada Helen, the youngest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Jennings, were married at noon, the Rev. W. J. Brown of Pultney, a brother-in-law of the bride, performing the ceremony.  About twenty-five relatives were present.  The bride was handsomely gowned in cream colored nun's veiling and carried a shower bouquet of white carnations, and the ring service was observed.  Dinner followed the congratulations.  Guests were present from Honeoye Falls and Dundee.  The occasion was the more impressive from the fact that the day was the twenty-ninth anniversary of the marriage of the bride's parents.  There were many valuable presents, among which was a check for $100 from the bride's father.  After a short wedding trip their friends will welcome them back and they will be at home after Sunday, May 1st.  They will reside at Hemlock to the supreme satisfaction of their many friends.  Good luck and best wishes to them!

  Hemlock, April 6.

             A newspaper clipping entitled "Wemett Leases Shell Stations"

  Announcement is made that as of Jan. 5, 1938, C.E. Wemett & Co. of Hemlock has leased its complete Shell territory to the Shell Union Oil Co.  The territory comprises Livingston, Ontario and Steuben counties, and contains twenty-eight stations, sixteen of them owned and directly operated and twelve of them dealer stations.  The entire personnel will be retained by the Shell Union company, and operation will be on the same general basis as heretofore.

  C. E. Wemett has been a distributor for about twenty years.  He was with the Pennzoil company for six or seven years, placing his first service station in Livonia, operated by L. E. Bartlett and located where R. W. Shepard's station now stands.  That was nineteen years ago.  Subsequently Mr. Wemett was distributor for the Eldred company for four or five years, and during the last seven he had developed the Shell business to such an extent that he had become the largest distributor of Shell products in the state.  In commenting upon the growth of the business he expressed his appreciation for the increasing patronage which has been given his Shell stations and Shell products.

  Under terms of the lease, the Wemett company continues to own the equipment and the accounts, and the business will be operated on a gallonage basis.  Government reports show that during 1937 the Wemett company paid state and  federal gasoline taxes averaging about $5000 a month.

      HISTORY OF HEMLOCK, NY      1779-1989     Posted under    ADA HELEN JENNINGS

Marriage Notes for ANNA JENNINGS and CLARENCE WEMETT:

              THE MARRIAGE ANNOUNCEMENT FROM THE NEWSPAPER

  Miss Anna E. Jennings and Mr. Clarence E. Wemett of Hemlock were united in marriage at 4 o'clock Wednesday afternoon, Oct. 14, at the home of the bride's sister, Mrs. W. J. Brown, in Geneseo by the Rev. W. J. Brown in the presence of eighteen friends and relatives.  The Methodist Episcopal ring service was used.  The bride was gowned in eggplant velvet with a corsage of yellow roses.  The couple was unattended.

  Following the ceremony a wedding luncheon was served.  The bride's table and house decorations carried out the color scheme of yellow and white in both candles and cut flowers.

  After a week's trip though the east, Mr. and Mrs. Wemett will be at home in Hemlock.

                 iii.       JAMES THOMAS JENNINGS, b. September 9, 1884, Canadice NY; d. May 30, 1943, buried Rose Ridge Cemetary Naples NY; m. VIOLA PRICE, March 11, 1908.

Notes for JAMES THOMAS JENNINGS:

Was a dairy farmer in Naples NY. Farm was located on west lake road just out of town to the North. He was a mason.

                            OBITUARY

  Naples-James T. Jennings, 58, died yesterday (May 30, 1943) at his home off the Lake Road.  He had been in ill health for several months.

  Mr. Jennings was a past master of John Hodge Lodge, F. & A. M.  He had conducted a retail milk business for several years and before that owned gasoline stations.

  Besides his wife, he leaves a daughter, Helen, of Rochester; his father, Nelson Jennings of Hemlock; two sisters, Mrs. William Brown of Livonia and Mrs. Clarence Wemett, Hemlock.

                 iv.       ADA HELEN JENNINGS, b. July 4, 1887, Hunts Hollow, Naples NY; d. December 16, 1934, Hemlock NY buried Unoin Cemetary Livonia NY; m. CLARENCE ELMER WEMETT, April 5, 1910, Hunts Hollow NY.

Notes for ADA HELEN JENNINGS:

                     HISTORY OF HEMLOCK, NY

                                   1779-1989

1779 - Sunday, May 12 the Sullivan-Clinton army crossed the flats at the foot of Hemlock Lake, destroying the crops as they proceeded up over the west hill toward Conesus Lake.  This action opened up the area for the early settlers.

1796 - Phillip Short built a cabin about 1/4 mile in the valley north of Hemlock Lake.  He was the forerunner of the Short family whose members were numerous in the area for many decades.  (Arch Merrill' book "The lakes Country") states that Roswell Bliss came about 1795 and built a cabin and a saw mill).

1797 - At about this same time Mr. Higby, from Livonia, established a saw mill on the outlet.  Logs were coming in large quantities down the lake from Springwater and logging was taking place on the lake shore.

1798 - Mr. Seth Simons, from Bristol, came and located a Grist Mill somewhere on the outlet.

1800 - A hermit, named Maloy, came and built a cabin on the west shore.  He was a hunter and trapper.  The story is told that he had a bad encounter with a black bear.  Maloy must have survived because he lived to tell about the fight.

1801 - From this time on there was rapid change all the way from Hemlock Lake to Big Tree Rd.  Many new settlers came.  The saw mills were producing lumber, slab cabins were built and later on, frame buildings and businesses.

1803 - Isaac Bishop opened a store in the area near the foot of the lake which came to be known as Gullburg.  The area around the Canadice outlet, where it crosses the main road, became knwon as Glennville.  Sometime later, just east of the road a dam across the outlet was built to back up the water and provide water power for a Gristmill which was built.

1808 - The township of Livonia was formed; the Hemlock area being a part of it.

1829 - This was a banner year.  A Post Office was established in Hemlock,  called the Post Office of Hemlock Lake.  Mail came in from Gullburg, Glennville and Holden (later called Jacksonville).  The first postmaster was John Van Fossen - 1/17/1829 - 10/18/36.  The P.O. became Hemlock, New York on December 12, 1895.

1832 - The Archer family, early settlers, were operating a saw mill on the outlet.

1838 - The Baptist of the area organized as the 1st Baptist Church of Hemlock Lake, N.Y.  The building was erected in 1844 at a cost of $1,400.00.  It was located near the south end of Hemlock Village and still stands.

1843 - A Methodist building was put up, which was destroyed by fire in 1948 and the present church was erected.

1845 - Jacksonville was probably in its heyday.  According to an Historical Maker,  which was erected at the site by the Hemlock outlet 1 1/4 miles north-east of Hemlock, there were 130 houses, a brick yard, 10 mills and two distilleries.  Almost all of the village was gone by 1850.  The marker was installed in 1939 by the efforts of E. Short, Frank Connor and others.

1850 - The Plank Road - A Company was organized in Rochester, N.Y.  Much lumber was available at the time, so they decided to try planks.  It is reported that 25 miles were completed and a Toll-Gate erected at the south end (where the Country Store is located now, corner of Big Tree and Rt. 15A).  The road worked very well for a few years until the lumber began to warp and twist.  It finally got so bad it was abandoned.

1850 - The Metropolitan Hotel on South Main Street opened its doors for business after being under construction for about two years.  There were three floors.  The top floor was used for a ball-room and with a stage, it provided a great place for entertainment.  An addition was built on a few years later on the south end.

1851 - It was reported that Russell Jacque built a large farm house near the lake on the north end.  The house was later (in 1873) made in to the three story famous "Jacque-House", one of the five hotels that existed on the lake during the steamboat days when excusions were offered on the lake.

1853 - Due to the Old Bald Hill Road getting so much traffic, there aroase a need for the East Lake Road.  Mr. John Hill caused the road to be built at a cost of $5,000.00.  Soon after its completion, a Tollgate was set up at the Hemlock end.  The story is told that one day while he was downtown, he became involved in an argument over the toll prices and fell dead with a heart attack.  He never collected much toll.  The road served the public for many years.  Just the north end of the road is traveled now.

1860 - Mr. George Watson built one of the first steamboats to ply the waters of the lake.  This became one of the five boats that carried passengers on the lake from the dock at the foot of the lake to the hotels.

1860 - The Baptist church, which had been established on the Curtis Corners about half way between Hemlock and Honeoye, disbanded and joined with the Hemlock church.  The Rev. Ira Justin was pastor at that time.

1866 - Frank Connor's history tells us that one day in '66 a large crowd assembled in front of the Metropolitan Hotel to discuss a Fair.  That was the beginning of what later became known as "The Slab City Fair"  "The Little World's Fair" and the just plain Hemlock Fair.  In 1877 a two-day Fair was held and the Ladies Hall was erected.  From then on it grew into what largely became contests of horse racing until the early 1900's.

1876 - The gates were opened at Hemlock Lake and Hemlock Lake water rushed down the pipe line toward the city.  This was the beginning of a gravity flow water system which has supplied the city of Rochester with millions and millions of gallons up to this very day.  The system always needed inprovements and later on Canadice Lake water was tunneled into the lake.  On file are several accounts of the growth of this famous water system.

1879 - The three story St. James Hotel was opened on the east side of the lake.  In the following years it was to accommodate many passengers from the steamships that were plying the lake.

1882 - The Beam family built their first mill on the Canadice outlet.  The dam and mill were just east of the main road.  Powered by water power, the mill served the public for many years.  Later the Beam family went on to build a mill on the Hemlock outlet in the village of Hemlock, just west of the main road.  The family also operated a small store near the Canadice outlet.

1888 - At this time, there were 112 buildings along the shores of Hemlock lake,  96 cottages, 5 hotels, 5 permanent residents and 6 cabins.

1890 - A while back in our notes, we mentioned the "hermit" Maloy who came early to the foot of the lake.  Around 1890, there came another man named Prinny Chesbro.  He had been a sailor and it is said that he was the only man around who could safely splice a rope.  He located a cabin somewhere near the half-way house.  It is said that he lived to be 100 years old and came to be known as "The Hermit of Hemlock Lake."

1895 - The Lehigh Valley R.R. Co. railroad line was extended to Hemlock village and Hemlock Lake.  Much could be written here about the Lehigh.  With the coming of the railroad, Hemlock became alive.  Quickly passenger service and the freight service grew until the middle of the 20th century many trains were in and out every week.  Later on changing times caused the company to quit the runs to Hemlock and the rails were torn up in 1968.  Eugene Spencer was one of the last station agents.  The last passenger train pulled out of Hemlock in 1937.  The "section gang" with their hand-car provided work for local men all those years.

1898 - It is known that about this time there was a band in Hemlock.  It was known as "The Hemlock Cornet Band".  We do know of 3 or 4 of the members;  Will Hoppough, Parker Hoppough, Chas.  Briggs and possibly Will Mallaber.  No doubt they played band music at the "Slab City Fair".

1900 - Great days ahead for Hemlock, the village of Jacksonville had ceased to exist, Glennville and Gullburg had grown together and joined Hemlock, and activity at the lake was lively with new businesses.

1904 - The Rebekah Lodge was organized.  The I.O.O.F Order of Odd-Fellows had been established earlier (1898).  The I. O.O.F. later went on to build a three-story lodge building south of the outlet on the east side of Main Street.  In later years, the building was torn down.

1906 - The Wemett Company incorporated.  The hardware store, which had been owned and operated by Bacon & Wemett, changed hands due to the death of Mr. Bacon.  C.E. Wemett started in the oil business selling Eldred Oil and later became distributor for the Shell Oil Co. 45 stations and about 4,500 customers were served as the oil business prospered.

1911 - The old Gullburg school district, which was located just up the Old Bald Hill Road and on the east side of the road, voted to join the Hemlock district.  The building was later used as a home and is still standing.

1912 - At this time, Mr. V.P. Owen operated a Ford automobile agency from a building on the west side of South Main Street.  It was the Ford agency and was selling Chevrolets.

1915 - A little after this date some local people were busy.  A few of the older people remember that the Nelson Cary family made baskets in their home on Clay Street.  The Bates family lived near the entrance to the fair grounds.  Thomas and Harry had a blacksmith and woodworking shop.  Also, they made fine quality cutlery.  Some of their knives are in the museum at the Livonia Library.

1919 - This year the first hand-drawn chemical fire truck was purchased for the local firemen and a cider mill was established on Clay St. by Mr. Olin Mather.  The building that housed the mill was torn down in Dixon Hollow and hauled to Hemlock.  At the present time, it is an apartment house.  It is believed that Olin Mather was the first man in the area to own and operate a self-propelled grain combine.

1920 - There were three grocery and dry goods stores operating on the South Main Street.  They were Beckers, Knapps, and LaMonts.  Later Beckers was torn down to make room for a house, Knapps is now an apartment house and Earl Collins bought the LaMont property.  There were two blacksmith shops on South Main; B. Naracong and Lewis Schneck, owners.  By 1920, the Livingston County Canning Co. was in full operation on Railroad Avenue north side of the Lehigh Valley depot.  Many local people were employed canning sweet corn, peas, and string beans.  Many cases of canned vegetables were shipped out on the Lehigh R.R.  The plant was destroyed by fire the fall of 1931.  The Osborne brothers were owners.

1925 - Niagara Power brought electricity to Hemlock.  This brought an end to the use of water power which had been used to power the mills along the outlet.  Soon the water was released from the old Hoppough mill pond west of Main Street.  The pond, over the years, had been great for winter skating and fishing in summer.

1925 - The Sullivan-Clinton Memorial maker was dedicated at the entrance of Hemlock Lake Park.  It was made partly of Mill stones and inlaid with Indian arrowheads.  It was a beautiful reminder of the past.  The Hon. James W. Wadsworth was the guest speaker.  Vandals have caused destruction to the monument in past years.

1929 - The newly built present High School was completed and made ready for use.

1930 - This year marked the end of an era.  For 75 years, the Scott family had been coming every summer to their cottage and property on the west side of Hemlock Lake.  They were, at last, forced to sell their property to the City of Rochester, which consisted of 175 acres of side hill land.  Some of the land had been converted to grape vineyards several years earlier.  There was also 1 1/2 acres and 175 feet of lake frontage.  According to the records they were paid $55,000.00 for the property they had enjoyed for so long.  They were just about the last people to sell out.  NOTE: Grapes from their vineyard were at one time picked, packed and sold from a small building by the side of the road near the foot of the lake.

1935 - At this time, there was a drug store in Hemlock.  The druggist name was H. W. Thurston.

1937 - 1941 - A weekly paper was published here in Hemlock.  It was called the "Hemlock Courier".  It was published by Mr. William Fletcher at his home on Clay Street.

1941 - 1946 - There was no Hemlock Fair due to scarcity of gas and tires and the war effort of World War II.

1942 - The Hemlock Church Club was organized.  The first meeting was held at the home of Lee and Mabel Coykendall on Main Street.  The Club meets once a month and they have planned and promoted religious services as well as helping the two local churches financially.  The club is still active.

1943 - This year the Hemlock High School boy's basketball team won the Class C Sectional championship.

1943 - A Service Man's plaque was dedicated.  There were 34 names listed of men of the area.  The stone plaque is located on the lawn of the High School and it is dated 1941-1945.

1944 - The Hemlock Baptist Church celebrated the 100th Anniversary of the erection of the church building.  It was a two day affair held on August 5th and 6th.

1947 - At this time we mention "The Roadside Craftsmen".  In a new building across the main road from the 1812 Country Store, the Iron Works were operating.  Clarence Curtis of Lakeville, New York and his workmen were turning out useful and ornamental iron articles.  Roadside Craftsmen,  Inc.  went on the establish unit in Avon and East Bloomfield.

1949 - Kidnapped and murdered, the 11 year old daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Reggie Lynn was walking to school from their home in Gullburg to Hemlock.  She was picked up somewhere between there and town.  Two days later, her body was found in a ravine south of Lima.  She had been shot to death.  Her killer has never been found.

1950 - "ECHO ROCK" - It was about this time that Arch Merrill tried to locate the ROCK on the west shore of Hemlock Lake.  Echo Rock once was a noted landmark on Hemlock's shores.  The ancient boulder, a child of the glacial age, was venerated by the superstitious Indians who knew nothing of the principle of sound waves, and believed the answering voices at Echo Rock were those of kindred in the Spirit Land, when in reality they were only echoes across the lake.  When the City of Rochester raised the level of Hemlock Lake by building dikes to increase their water supply the rock disappeared under water.

1950 - At this time Frank Connor, Historian, was writing 24 installments of history for "The Livonia Gazette".  Much of our material has come from these writings.

1958 - June 16th, Hemlock voted to centralize with Livonia school.  Ted Henry, of Hemlock, was elected to the School Board.

1961 - Mark Wemett purchased the Hemlock hardware store from Hugh Drain.  The store was destroyed by fire in 1977.

1965 - "Livingston Leasing" was established by Mark Wemett for making and selling ice cubes.

1972 - The new fire house was completed on Al Sharpe Avenue (Old Railroad Street).  It replaced the old one on N. Main St. which had, for a long time, been too small.

1976 - The Bicentennial of '76 was celebrated along with the Village of Livonia, where there was a parade and other activities.  Hemlock had a special program at the firehouse on May 8, 1976.

1977 - The Metropolitan Hotel burned to the ground.  It had first opened for business in 1850.  The hardware store, to the north burned at the same time.

1982 - Dick and Donna Jopson bought the old Shell Station at the intersection of 15A and 20A and remodeled it into a grocery store, service station and an upstairs apartment.  In 1985, Doug and Bonnie Rumfelt bought the business from the Jopson's and continue to run it as a convenient store and gas station for the hamlet.

1984 - Mr. Jack Evans, former resident and student of Hemlock, now owner of Velmex, Inc., East Bloomfield, N.Y. purchased the school building.  Jim Sutton uses some rooms for his youth work.  There has been some manufacturing there in recent years.

1984 - The Hemlock Methodist Church celebrated their bicentennial with a special program at the church April 29th.

1985 - A few acres of the old canning factory property were purchased by the Hemlock Firemen and leveled off for a park.  A pavilion has been built and a nice playground.  It is a good place for family picnics.

1985 - The 1812 Country Store (a landmark on the corner of Big Tree and Rt. 15A) was sold to the Rapelje family.  The store had been operated by Ruth Woodruff since 1951.

1989 - This year celebrates the 160th Anniversary of the Hemlock Post Office and the 25th year of service by our present Postmaster, Shirley Marshall.

OLD TIME BUSINESSES - LONG GONE

Burch & Powell - Coal

Caskey & Hoppough - Hay, Straw & Produce

Hoppough & Affolter - Hay, Straw & Produce

John Dooley - Farm Machinery

Beam Milling Co. - Beans & Grain

Carl Scutt - Garage

Frank Miller - Gas Station

Hemlock Filter Plant - Water Purifier

Earl Collins - Red & White Store

DOCTORS OF HIMLOCK FROM ABOUT 1920

Dr. Mills           Dr. Grigham

Dr. Fred Kenzie       Dr. Hamilton

Dr. Wilson       Dr. H.W. Trott

Dr. Mildred Jackson, still living

Dr. Trott, while he was practicing here either owned or leased several acres of land north of the village where he established an airport.  "Honky" Reese was a pilot for a time.  Records show there were flying lessons taught and that at one time there was an airplane race from Hemlock to Cleveland, Ohio.

Dr. Hamilton occupied a house that was made over from the old school building at the top of North Main Street and it is still a private home.

                            FOOT NOTES

Mrs. Mae Short Woodworth tells us that her first husband, the late Nathan Short, who had built their home on East Avenue in Livonia, N.Y. had passed away December 2, 1966.  Nathan was the last living male member of the Short family who had come to Hemlock as the first settler (Philip Short).  "Nate" was a first class carpenter and he worked around the Hemlock and Livonia areas for most of his life.  He always had the interest of the community at heart.  He was 70 years of age when he passed away.

              "Death of Mrs. Clarence Wemett", (newspaper article)

  Ada Jennings Wemett, wife of Clarence Wemett of Hemlock, died at her home there at 6 o'clock Sunday morning, of pneumonia.  She was taken sick the preceding Monday, and failed to respond to the medical treatment which was unsparingly given her.  Funeral services were held at the Hemlock Methodist church Tuesday afternoon.  Burial was in Union cemetery, Livonia.

  Mrs. Wemett was born forty-seven years ago in Naples, the daughter of Nelson and Arvilla Bower Jennings.  There she lived with her family until 1910, when she married Clarence E. Wemett and moved to Hemlock, where her husband was in business.  Five children were born, all of whom survive;  Mrs. Fred Kenzie of Prattsburg; Norris, a medical student at the University of Western Ontario, London, Canada; Bruce a senior in hemlock high school; and the 8 year old twins, Mark and Mary.

       Surviving also are Mrs. Wemett's husband; her father; two sisters, Mrs. W. J. Brown of Geneseo and Miss Anna Jennings of hemlock; one brother, James of Naples, and two grandchildren.

       Mrs Wemett was a member of the Hemlock Methodist church, of the Rebekahs, of the W.C.T.U., and very active in these organizations as well as in every movement or enterprise whose meritt commended itself to her.  She gave freely of her interest, counsel and ability in every good work, in addition to devoting herself unsparingly to the welfare and happiness of her family.

       The suddeness of Mrs. Wemett's illness and death, the season of the year and many other factors combine to make her passing one of extreme sadness.

Notes for CLARENCE ELMER WEMETT:

Graduated from Livonia High School, Livonia NY Class of  1906 Was vice president of Graduating Class

Mr. Wemett died at his home in Hemlock after a long illness. Mr. Wemett was born in Hemlock Feb. 26, 1885, the son of George A. and Frances Clemons Wemett. He graduated from Livonia High School in the Class of 1905, and soon afterward began working in John Beam's hardware store in Hemlock. Fifteen years later he bought the store which later was sold to Hugh Drain and which only recently came back into the Wemett family when Mr. Drain sold to Mr. Wemett's son, Mark, and grandson, Ross Kenzie.

Always enterprising, Mr Wemett as a young man saw a future in the handling of Petroleum products and made connections with the Shell Oil Co. He was a Franchiser jobber in this company for about 32 years, and the Wemett Corp. are now the largest in the Cleveland district, distributing in ?xx?  counties with about 25 service stations. The first of the stations was in Livonia.

Never one to be content following only a given routine, in 1929 he established a pottery shop in East Bloomfield, where he already had a Shell outlet.  At one time he also operated the Avon Coppersmith.

He Founded the Forge Wrought Iron Works in Hemlock.

He built the Egypt Valley Girl Camp in the Bristol Hills in 1949, later sold to the Seven Lakes Girl Scout Council, Phelps, NY.  (The Girl Scouts have since sold the property - 1990?)

In 1953 he bought and remodelled the White Horse Tavern, in East Avon, which burned shortly after the opening.

He was a member of the Hemlock Methodist Church and had been a trustee for 35 years. He belonged to the Hemlock Civic Club and the Hemlock 100F. He was a member of the Board of Education of the Hemlock Union Free School and a director and past president of Union Cemetery. He also participated in obtaining a water system for Hemlock in 1950.

              WEMETT HISTORY WRITTEN BY ERWIN WEMETT -- (WE THINK)

1790.   In 1790 in a small town near Montreal,  Canada, in a tiny log cabin is born a youth named Andrew in whose veins mingled French and Canadian bloods.  At the tender age of 14 the grim angel of death takes the father.  The family stay and we can imagine the youth laboring early and late to keep the grey wolf from the door.  Adversity seldom comes singly and in the fall of 1810 the mother the nearest and dearest is borne swiftly away, and to complete the cup of adversity the younger brother of Andrew, (should this be Joseph?)  in a mischievious moment built a fire in the barn, which burns to the ground.

  Andrew Wemett (1/4/1788) -- Andrew then a young man of 24 sells what remains of the homestead and with a team and wagon starts to make his way in the cold world.  He wanders and finally locates in Monroe County and works there for a year for the government and assists in building the first flour mill in that section, on the ground now occupied by the Erie Depot.  The team purchased in Canada was considered to be one of the finest in that section, and he refused for them a deed of 160 acres of land, which is now in the heart of Rochester, NY.

In the French-Indian War of 1812, he enlisted and went to the front serving full time and when the war was over he came back but could not refrain from the charmes of Joan Macomber.  Joan we might mention was the sister of Cyrus Macomber.  He married Joan in what was known as the Black River country which is in Lewis County New York.  During their sojourn there, the stork left them three children.  Charles, Floville and Adeline. 

   They then moved to Ontario County, NY and purchased from the land the farm later known as the Shepard Macomber farm located on the corner intersection of the bald hill road leading to Canadice Lake.  The stork did not forsake them, but endowed them with 5 more children.  Mariette who died in infancy, Enoche who died at the age of 18, Erastis, Stephen who died at the age of 12 and Joseph who served two years in the foul pen at Andersonville and was nearly inactivated in the living hell was released near the close of the war.  Placed on a ship bound for home, the ship was blown up and he with many others found a watery grave.

  Joan Macomber died in 1843 and Andrew later married Hannah West who made the best kind of a step mother.  But in the early morning of March 4, 1861 the day President Lincoln took the Presidential oath, all that was mortal of Andrew Wemett took flight, Hannah West Wemett lived until 1874 when she started on the long voyage.

Children of Andrew and Joan Wemett:

Charles        Married Mahalie Perry and Mary Lindsey

Floville              Married Augustus Shepard

Mariette

Enoche

Erastis        Catherine Coogan and Elizabeth Wemett

Joseph

Orsemus

              JOSEPH WEMETT FAMILY HISTORY

  Joseph Wemett (3/3/1799) --Youngest brother of Andrew was born near Montreal Canada in 1800 and when 14 years of age he came to Lowville Lewis County, NY and from there migrated to Canadice, Ontario County, NY, in 1824 he was united in marrige to Elizabeth Welch.  The Welch family then owned what is now known as Augustus Shepard farm.  When Conrad Welch who was Uncle Joes's wife's father died Uncle Joe bought off the heirs and in 1841 built the old homestead which now stands in a good state of preservation.  At the time this house was built it was the finest house between Lima and Dansville.  This house is now occupied by Robert R. Wemett.   Across from this house is the old Wemett burial grounds where now rests a goodly number of the old Wemett family together with nieces and nephews who Uncle Joe brought up.  The writer can remember the remains of the old stone school house where the children and nieces and nephews of Uncle Joe and Aunt Bessie were taught the three R's to the expense of the generious old couple.  Uncle Joe also endowed the Genesee College at Lima and was one of the first to give $100.00.  Old people who knew Uncle Joe and Aunt Bessie have often told us that this was the most hospitable home, but as Uncle Joe was unusually thrifty there was always plenty to eat but in return he expected and exacted work.

  Uncle Joe and Aunt Betsy (Bessie) were the parents of 14 children, 8 of whom grew to maturity.  It is told that Uncle Joe started out to give each of his grandchildren $100 dollars at birth, his intentions were good but they came so thick and fast that he was unable to keep it up, much to the dissapointment of those coming later.  Uncle Joe and his brother Andrew were born Catholics, but later they became loyal to the Quaker faith.  The Welches were all Quakers.

  Uncle Joe was a unique character, a man of powerful built and a tireless worker and although he made a home for almost everyone, he amassed what is those days what was considered a goodly small fortune.  He owned at his death some 600 acres of land with a large amount of personal property.  The writer has search records concerning these properties and never found any kind of a mortgage against any property owned by Joseph and Betsy (Elizabeth) Wemett.  Their living grandchildren number 20, their living great grandchildren being over 40 now.  Uncle Joe passed on just as the dawn was breaking in the year 1870 and Aunt Betsy followed in August 1874.  Thus ended the heads of the first familys on Ontario County form Robert Wemett. 

The children of Joseph and Betsy Wemett in the order of their birth:

CHILDREN           MARRIED

William               Huldah B.

Mary                 John Brown

Minerva                 Augustus Shepard

Elizabeth                   Erastus Wemett

Julia Ann                   Issac Stevenson

Henry Joseph Br. Feb 1841       Mary Ann Knapp

George                Francis Clemens

              WEMETT AND SHEPARD FAMILY HISTORY

  (Charles) Charley P. Wemett, son of Andrew and Joan Wemett was born March 5, 1818 and at the age of 25 married Mahalie Perry, this was in 1843.  To this union was born Melford who died at 25 years of age. 

Amos who died at 27 years of age.

Lemon who married Bell Struble and was killed one Sunday while playing ball at Canadice Corners.  Bell died one year later leaving a son Ernst who was adopted by Mr. & Mrs. Firmen Thompson, taking their name, they lived in Naples, Ernst is now dead.

  Mahalia, a daughter married Guy Baldwin, they had 3 children, Nora,Lemuel, and Amos.

Nora married Leon Molyea and had 3 sons;

Lemuel died in infancy.

Amos married a girl by the name of Moose, one son Charles Jr. was born to this union but has passed on.  Mahalia Wemett Baldwin died December 11, 1919.  Hahalie Perry Wemett died March 25, 1859 and Charles married Mary Lindsay and to this union was born Henry and Mary (Mittie).  Mittie married Frank H. Stewart and is now living west of Springwater.  Henry E. Wemett never married and died in Springwater, NY in February 26, 1934.

  Augustus Shepard married Floville Wemett in 1847, second child of Andrew and Joan Wemett.  To this union was born three children, Sarah, Thankful and Charles.  Sarah married Frank Morris and went West to live.  She died on January 9, 1893 leaving a family of seven children.  Everett only named of the seven.

  Of the union of Augustus and Floville, was another daughter called Thankful who died at the age of 20 and one son, Charley, who was drowned in Hemlock Lake, August 18, 1867.

  On July 20, 1859, in the dead of the night the hovering angel enticed the soul of Floville away and another mortal had gained her hard earned rest.

  September 13, 1860 Augustus Shepard married again.  This time to a cousin of his first wife.  Minerva daughter of Uncle Joseph and Aunt Betsy, to them was born Herbert (Bert) Shepard, who married lived and died in Nebraska.  He left a family Mable, Arthur, Stanley Randal, Clarence.

Jessie Shepard married Elmer E. (Colonel) Colegrove, and lives near Canadice lake.

Jennie another daughter who married Samuel West and lives in Springwater, NY.

  William Shepard youngest son of Augustus and Minerva married Dorothy Albertson and for many years has lived and kept store in South Livonia.  They had one daughter Fern Shepard.

  Augustus Shepard passed on.

  Adeline Wemett second daughter of Andrew and Joan Wemett married William Foley in 1846 and to them was born three children, Mary, William H. and Catherine.

  Mary who married Caleb Briggs had one son George, who married Jennie Briggs and who passed on, and one daughter May Briggs who married Daniel Owens.

              SHEPARD FAMILY HISTORY

  After the death of Calco Briggs, Mary married Frank Hayward, a widower, with children; the other daughter of William and Adeline was named Catherine, but she died in early womanhood. One son, William H. Foley.

  William H. Foley married Emma Crea in 1876.  To this union brought two children, a daughter Edna who married Arther Rowley and died June 30, 1923 and Clifford H. Foley who now lives in Springwater.

Emma Crea Foley passed on April 9, 1899 and William H. Foley followed May 17, 1934.

   Julian Wemett, 1st daughter of Joseph and Betsy Wemett was born in 1820 and at the age of 20 years married a wild Irishman by the name of Isaac Stephenson-- to this union was born four children.  Sibley Stephenson, who married Etta Dunn.  Ellen, who died at the age of 18 years, Josie who married Selwyn Marsh.  Nick, the youngest married Addie Wilbur.  Nick skipped out and has never been heard from since.  All have passed on except Josie who is living at Starkey, N.M.  One other son ________, who we neglected to mention, died and is buried in the family cemetery at Bald Hill.

  Erastus Wemett, third son of Andrew and Joan Wemett was born in Canadice on February 8, 1832 and was united in marriage to Catherine Coogan on October 28, 1852 as the name implies, Catherine was Irish and Catholic.  She renounced her faith when she married which did not suit her family and her friends and when she died in 1873 her funeral was held at her home in Bald Hill, this was attended by a large number of her relatives and friends from Lima and Livonia who insisted that she be buried in consecrated ground for a time it looked as though there would be trouble but cooled heads prevailed and she was laid to rest in the little country cemetery on the old Charles Coykendall farm.  We are told this was one of the largest funerals ever held in Ontario County.  There were no living issues of this family.

  On October 22, 1874 Erastus married Elizabeth Wemett daughter of Uncle Joe and Aunt Betsy. 

  To this union was born one son Erwin Wemett, and one daughter who died in early infancy.

  The angel of death took the second wife, Elizabeth November 7, 1902 and on September 15, 1909 while sitting in a rocking chair the candle of life was suddenly snuffed out, and Erastus T. Wemett, another of the older generation, passed on.

SUMMARY OF CHILDREN OF ANDREW AND JOAN WEMETT

Four grew to adulthood and left families.

Charles P. married Mahalie Perry

Milford

Amos married a girl named Moose

Lemon married Belle Struble adopted son Ernst

Mahalie married Guy Baldwin

Nora married Leon Nolyea, "? 3 sons?"

Lemuel - -

Charles married Mary Lindsay

Henry

Mittie

Floville married Augustus Shepard who later married Minerva Wemett.

(Floville died and Augustus married Flovill's cousin)

Augustus and Floville shepard children;

Sarah, married Frank Morris

Thankful

Charley

Augustus and Minerva Shepard children;

Herbert shepard

Jessie married Elmer Colegrove

Jennie married Samuel West

William married Dorothy Albertson

Adeline married William Foley

Mary married Caleb Briggs

May married Daniel Owens

Catherine

William H. married Emma Crea

Edna married Arther Rowley

Clifford

Erastus married Catherine Coogan

and Elizabeth Wemett (his cousin)

children:  Son Erwin married Mina

Arsemus

Mitchel Wemett brother of Andrew and Joseph

  We know little of Uncle Mitchell only that he was father of Uncle Syrille who with many generations have been gathered by the grim reaper.

  Syrille Wemett:  was born March 8, 1816 and married Sarah Clark April 19, 1842.

  To them was born one son and two daughters.

   Theodore was born in 1851. He married Ellen sherwood, and to this union was born one son, Floyd Wemett and one daughter Lola. Floyd married Nina Jacobs and have no issue.

Lola married Herbert Jenks.  To this issue was born two daughters.  In 1935 death overtook Herbert Jenks in an automobile accident.

  Emmeretta born April 6,1849, she married her second cousin Orsemus Wemett, they had 4 daughters and one son.  Alice married Amos Swan. Died November 5, 1916.

Adah died in July 18, 1901.

Lou married Sidney Flood Feb. 12, 1907.

Jenny

Olin, thier son died March 17, 1933.

  Henrietta, second daughter of Syrille and Sarah was born April 26, 1844, she moved west and married a man by the name of Wilcot.

To this union was born one daughter Lulu born June 22,1879.

Henrietta died in Chicago in 1919.

Another son of Syrill and Sarah was born in 1848 and died when only 3 years old.

Toosa.

  There was another brother Toosa but we are unable to find anything authentic about him.

There were also two girls Sophie and Mary.  Mary married Francis Grenville, to them were born 6 children, Dennis, Clarissia, Saphrone, Frank Joe and Henry Grenville.

  Mary and Henry Grenville had one daughter, Martha Grenville who lived and died in Lima NY.

Saphone married a man by the name of Annal, they settled in the west and the only time we ever heard from them was when their son Peter came out here, he was a widower and our childish admiration centered on a huge gold watch chain and solid gold watch.  We afterwards had a letter from him saying his sons intended found him so agreeable that she had married him in preference to his son.

  We now turn to the children of Joseph and Elizabeth Wemett.  William Wemett oldest son of Betsy and Joseph was born 1820 and at the age of 29 married Huldah Goodwin, to this union was born one daughter, Emma, who married John H. Adams and raised a family of two girls and two boys.

  Fannie married G. Abbott, Gladys married Wynn Hanna and to them was born one son Wynn Jr.

  William Wemett relinguished his life in 1899, his widow, Huldah Goodwin Wemett, afterwards married Alden Pemperton, Huldah Perpertion died_____.

  Mary Wemett, second child of Joseph and Betsy.  At the age of 21 married a man who we have all heard so much but like so many of our worthy ancestors John Brown's body lies a molding in the grave.  To the union of John and Mary were born four sons, Scott, Edward, George, Will and one daughter Nellie.

  Scott Brown married Laura Smith who died a few years later.  He married Mellissa Aldrich.  By his first marriage he left Nellie, Bessie and 3 boys Ernst, Louis and Claude.  Clarence was a son of the second marriage.

Scott died.       Melissa died.

  George Brown another son of John and Mary Brown first married Mary Ingrahm, to them was born a son Lisle, after the death of Mary, George married Carrie Garfield.

Lisle Brown passed on ____.   John and Mary Brown had one daughter Nellie who married Albert Bailey, to them were born two daughters Edna and Georgia.

  William Brown, son of John Brown and Mary Wemett Brown was born in 1853.  He married Stella Roberts.  One son, Victor Brown survives.  William Brown died in January 1890.  His brother, Edward Brown, was born in 1859.  In 1883, he married Alta Potter.  There were no children of this union.  Edward Brown died ________.

  Mary Wemett Brown crossed the great divide August 16, 1905.

  Elizabeth (see Erastus)

  Julia Ann first daughter of Joseph and Betsy Wemett was born in 1820 and at the age of 20 married a Welch Irishman by the name of Isaac Stephenson, to this union was born 5 children, Sibley Stephenson was married to Etta Dunn, Ella died at the age fo 18. Josie married Selwyn Marsh, Joseph who died and is buried in the family cemetery on Bald Hill.  Nickson the youngest married Addie Wilbur, Nick skipped out and has never heard from all have passed away except Josie who is living in Starkey, NY.

William Wemett died in 1899.  His widow Huldah Goodwin Wemett, married Alden Pemberton.  huldah Pemberton died_____.

Mary Wemett, second daughter of Joseph and Betsy Wemett, at the age of 21, married a man who we have all heard so much about that like so many of our worthy ancestors, John Brown's body lies a mouldering in the grave.

  To the union of John and Mry were born 4 sons and 1 daughter: Scott, Edward, George, Will, and Nellie.

  Scott Brown married Laura Smith, and a few years after her death, married Melissa Aldrich.  By his first wife, Scott left 3 irls, Bessie, and 3 boys, Ernest, Louis, and Claude.  Clarence was a son of his second marriage.  Scott died_______. Melissa died______.

  George Brown, another son of John and Mary Brown, first married Mary Ingrahm.  To them was born one son Lisle.  After the death of Mary, George married Carrie Garfield.  Lisle Brown passed on.

  William Brown, son of John Brown and Mary Wemett Brown was born in 1853.  He married Stella Roberts.  One son, Victor Brown survives.  William Brown died in January 1890.  His brother, Edward Brown, was born in 1859.  In 1883, he married Alta Potter.  There were no children of this union.  Edward Brown died ____-.

  John and Mary Brown only had 1 daughter, Nellie, who married Albert Bailey.  To them was born 2 daughters, Edna and Georgia.  mary Wemett Brown died August 16, 1905.

  Henry Joseph Wemett second son of Joseph and Betsy Wemett was born February 1841, he attended Genesee College which his father had helped endow and upon graduation taught school for several years, being superintendent of schools for several years, while being of a jurial dispostion and always joking he was sought for near and far to complete the term of some unfortunate teacher who had been thrown out of a school house window, in 1868 he married Mary Knapp, near the close of the war he enlisted, upon return he was known as Captain Henry, this was a particularily fitting title since one of his occupations was the pilot of the Hemlock lake steamer named________.

  To this union of Henry and Mary Wemett were born children, Frank, Cora, Harry, Dora Robert, William, of these Frank is a Methodist minister, Cora now Mrs. Edward Weeks of _____.  William, a professor of Vally City State Normal, North Dakota, and Robert, last but far from least a fine carpenter by trade and resident of the old homestead.

        A newspaper clipping about the wedding of C. E. Wemett and Miss Ada Helen Jennings

                            A PRETTY HOME WEDDING

  A very pretty home wedding took place at the residence of Mr. and Mrs. Nelson Jennings of Naples on Tuesday of this week, when Mr. Clarence E. Wemett of Hemlock and Miss Ada Helen, the youngest daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Jennings, were married at noon, the Rev. W. J. Brown of Pultney, a brother-in-law of the bride, performing the ceremony.  About twenty-five relatives were present.  The bride was handsomely gowned in cream colored nun's veiling and carried a shower bouquet of white carnations, and the ring service was observed.  Dinner followed the congratulations.  Guests were present from Honeoye Falls and Dundee.  The occasion was the more impressive from the fact that the day was the twenty-ninth anniversary of the marriage of the bride's parents.  There were many valuable presents, among which was a check for $100 from the bride's father.  After a short wedding trip their friends will welcome them back and they will be at home after Sunday, May 1st.  They will reside at Hemlock to the supreme satisfaction of their many friends.  Good luck and best wishes to them!

  Hemlock, April 6.

              A newspaper clipping entitled "Wemett Leases Shell Stations"

  Announcement is made that as of Jan. 5, 1938, C.E. Wemett & Co. of Hemlock has leased its complete Shell territory to the Shell Union Oil Co.  The territory comprises Livingston, Ontario and Steuben counties, and contains twenty-eight stations, sixteen of them owned and directly operated and twelve of them dealer stations.  The entire personnel will be retained by the Shell Union company, and operation will be on the same general basis as heretofore.

  C. E. Wemett has been a distributor for about twenty years.  He was with the Pennzoil company for six or seven years, placing his first service station in Livonia, operated by L. E. Bartlett and located where R. W. Shepard's station now stands.  That was nineteen years ago.  Subsequently Mr. Wemett was distributor for the Eldred company for four or five years, and during the last seven he had developed the Shell business to such an extent that he had become the largest distributor of Shell products in the state.  In commenting upon the growth of the business he expressed his appreciation for the increasing patronage which has been given his Shell stations and Shell products.

  Under terms of the lease, the Wemett company continues to own the equipment and the accounts, and the business will be operated on a gallonage basis.  Government reports show that during 1937 the Wemett company paid state and  federal gasoline taxes averaging about $5000 a month.

      HISTORY OF HEMLOCK, NY      1779-1989     Posted under    ADA HELEN JENNINGS

28.  BERTHA8 JENNINGS (THOMAS WALLACE7, ELIZABETH6 RECTOR, WILLIAM5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born June 1861, and died 1943 in buried Rose Ridge Cemetary Naples NY.  She married FRIEDMANN GREINER.

        Children of BERTHA JENNINGS and FRIEDMANN GREINER are:

                   i.       ELSIE (BERTHA)9 GREINER, m. HARRY SHAW.

                  ii.       HAROLD J GREINER, b. 1900; d. 1930, buried Rose Ridge Cemetary Naples NYburied Naples NY.

                 iii.       SOPHIA GREINER, d. buried Rose Ridge Cemetary Naples NY; m. H WARREN OLNEY.

Notes for SOPHIA GREINER:

Grave stone reads Sophie not Sophia

29.  FLORENCE8 JENNINGS (THOMAS WALLACE7, ELIZABETH6 RECTOR, WILLIAM5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born September 26, 1863, and died 1933 in buried Hunts Hollow Cem..  She married FRANK FRENCH.

     Children of FLORENCE JENNINGS and FRANK FRENCH are:

                   i.       OLIVE9 FRENCH, m. ALBERT ELDER.

                  ii.       RENA FRENCH, m. WILLIAM DEUEL.

                 iii.       BELLE FRENCH, m. MAURICE WOODARD.

                 iv.       MAE FRENCH, d. Died in infancy.

                  v.       EDITH FRENCH, m. GLENN WOODARD.

30.  KATHERINE8 JENNINGS (THOMAS WALLACE7, ELIZABETH6 RECTOR, WILLIAM5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born November 1865, and died January 1963.  She married CHARLES WYKOFF.

      Children of KATHERINE JENNINGS and CHARLES WYKOFF are:

                   i.       ANNA9 WYKOFF, m. LOUIS BRUCE.

                  ii.       CHARLES WYKOFF.

                 iii.       DONALD WYKOFF.

                 iv.       KATHERINE WYKOFF.

31.  FRANK8 JENNINGS (THOMAS WALLACE7, ELIZABETH6 RECTOR, WILLIAM5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born May 12, 1869 in Hunts Hollow NY, and died December 25, 1937.  He married GERTRUDE MARION WINNE February 13, 1896.

     Children of FRANK JENNINGS and GERTRUDE WINNE are:

                   i.       WALLACE WINNIE9 JENNINGS, b. September 28, 1898; d. June 6, 1941; m. MAUDE WASHBURN.

                  ii.       FLORENCE PAULINE JENNINGS, b. July 15, 1901; d. January 1928; m. JOHN HANGGI, June 12, 1922.

                 iii.       ANNA LOUISE JENNINGS, b. October 21, 1903; d. May 23, 1995; m. HENRY LEON WASHBURN, June 12, 1902.

                 iv.       RUSSELL R. JENNINGS, b. April 10, 1906; m. MILDRED FABER, July 29, 1932.

                  v.       JULIAN HARRY JENNINGS, b. December 20, 1912; d. April 21, 1981; m. ALTHEA LOCKWOOD, September 9, 1937.

                 vi.       SEELEY JENNINGS, b. October 14, 1897; d. October 14, 1897, Stillborn.

32.  WINFIELD8 CARROLL (ALFRED7, ELIZABETH6 NIVER, MARY5 RECTOR, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born March 11, 1881 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.), and died November 11, 1938 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  He married LOLA STAPE.

Child of WINFIELD CARROLL and LOLA STAPE is:

                   i.       GENEVIEVE9 CARROLL, b. 1908; m. H. WHITMAN PATNODE.

33.  MILTON MEDFORD8 RECTOR (STEPHEN M7, JACOB T6, TEAL5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born March 8, 1879 in Gorham Ontario County NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.), and died January 29, 1953 in Walton, Delaware, NY - buried Walton Cemetery (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  He married LEONA GRACE SWARTS.

Notes for MILTON MEDFORD RECTOR:

Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Milton was an ordained Pastor.

MILO, 1899, Dec. 27 -. SWARTS / RECTOR, a very beautiful wedding took place at 3 o'clock p.m, at the home of George Goundry when his granddaughter, Miss Leona G. Swarts and Mr. Milton M. Rector were united in marriage under a white horse shoe suspended from an evergreen arch dotted here and there with bows of white ribbon. The house was decorated with evergreens and potted plants. The bride and groom were attended by Miss Kathleen Rector, sister of the groom, as bridesmaid and George Swarts, brother of the bride, as best man, were ushered in by a wedding march played by Mrs. J. A. Guile, Sunday School teacher of the bride. The bride wore a light grey serge trimmed with pink silk, ribbons and white lace and wore white chrysanthemums, The bridesmaid wore a blue dress with light blue trimmings. The sermon was performed by Rev. G. Frank Johnson, during which Mrs. Guile played, very low, "Home Sweet Home," with variations, which was very impressive. The refreshments were bountiful and nicely served. The presents were handsome and useful. Noticeable were one dozen silver knives, eight forks, from Mr. D. A. Bissell, Lowell, Mich. silver soup ladle and pickle fork, from Miss Lettie McCluskey, Tallapoosa, Ga.; silver mustard cup, from Mr. and Mrs. C.E. Stone, Ottosen, IA silver sugar spoon and butter knife, from Mrs. N. H. Ellis, Jesse, Mich. At six o'clock they departed for a short wedding trip amid a shower of rice. They will visit friends at Dundee and Cohocton. Mr. and Mrs. Rector have been members of the Second Milo Baptist Church for some time and their host of friends wish them a happy life.

WALTON, NY, 1953, Jan.29 - Rev. Milton Medford Rector, native of Gorham died at age 73 in Walton, formerly of Milo. He had been a semi-invalid for the past three years, passing away quietly in his sleep after a ten day illness. Son of the late Stephen and Jennie Holley Rector, he was born in Gorham and in 1900 married Miss Leona Grace Swarts of Milo, who survives him. Other survivors are three daughters, Mrs. Frank Kubin of Delancey; Mrs. Harry DeGroat of West Hartford, Cann and Mrs. Melvin Fielder of Shelburne, VT.; and five grandchildren. Their only son, Elwyn, who had planned to follow his father's calling as a foreign missionary, died at the age of 14. Rev. Rector was a graduate of Keuka College, 1906, and Rochester Seminary, 1909. He held pastorates in New York State and Vermont, having been in Cobleskill for five years and at Walton for nine years. After retiring he had returned to Walton a year and a half ago to make his home. He was a naturalist, knew the birds, made collections of mosses and shells. He was accustomed to speak of his "Father's World," and his favorite hymn being" This Is My Father's World." He had been a nature instructor for several years in a Baptist boys' camp at Ocean Park, ME, and in Baptist camps in New York State and worked in Schoharie and Delaware counties in daily vacation Bible schools. Funeral services far Mr. Rector were on Saturday, Jan. 31, at the First Baptist Church of Walton, with burial in the Walton Cemetery. Heir. Richard Benait was the officiating clergyman, assisted by Rev, Louis F. Kirlin of Trout Creek and Rev. Paul Downes of Delancey.

     Children of MILTON RECTOR and LEONA SWARTS are:

                   i.       ELWYN9 RECTOR.

                  ii.       ADONNA RECTOR, m. HARRY DEGROOT.

                 iii.       VERNA RECTOR, m. FRANK KUBIN.

                 iv.       JOYCE RECTOR, m. MELVIN FIELDER.

Notes for JOYCE RECTOR:

Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Joyce was adopted

34.  THOMAS JEFFERSON8 RECTOR (STEPHEN M7, JACOB T6, TEAL5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born ABT  1890, and died 1943 in Penn Yan, Yates, NY Buried Lakeview Cemetery, Penn Yan, NY.  He married ELIZABETH FRANCES GRODEN October 13, 1917 in Penn Yan, Yates, NY.

Notes for THOMAS JEFFERSON RECTOR:

Source:  Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Was a policeman in Penn Yan.

Notes for ELIZABETH FRANCES GRODEN:

Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146

Elizabeth was a school teacher in Penn Yan.

      Children of THOMAS RECTOR and ELIZABETH GRODEN are:

                   i.       JEAN9 RECTOR, m. WILLIAM LEBBON.

                  ii.       PHYLLIS RECTOR, m. WILLIAM O'BOYLE.

35.  HELEN EGERIA8 RECTOR (STEPHEN M7, JACOB T6, TEAL5, GERTIEN (GERTRUDE)4 ROCKEFELLER, SIMON3, DIELL2, ANTON1) was born ABT  1891 (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).  She married HOWARD WILSON SWARTHOUT January 8, 1913 in Milo Yates County NY (Source: Paul Bullock, 104 Heritage Dr, Monroeville, PA  15146.).

   Children of HELEN RECTOR and HOWARD SWARTHOUT are:

                   i.       DONALD9 SWARTHOUT.

                  ii.       FRANKLIN SWARTHOUT, m. NINA CLARK.

                 iii.       BARBARA SWARTHOUT, m. HARRY CRANS.

                 iv.       COURTNEY SWARTOUT, m. VERA CLARK.